18 Photos - Nov 5, 2012
Photo: Mr. Koji Sekimizu, Secretary-General of the IMO and Chancellor of WMU, with Dr. Björn Kjerfve, President of WMU.Photo: 7 May 2012 WMU Chancellor E.E. Mitropoulos, Chairman of the City of Malmö Executive Board Ilmar Reepalu, PEAB Region Manager Ola Ohlsson, IMO Secretary-General Koji Sekimizu, Architect Kim Utzon, and WMU President Dr. Björn Kjerfve at the ceremonial bricklaying for the new WMU building. Kim Utzon produced a "neutral" Swiss coin to place in the mortar as a nod to the shipbuilding tradition of placing a coin under the mast for good luck.Photo: WMU Class of 2012Photo: WMU graduates.Photo: WMU graduates from Turkey and Greece.Photo: WMU alumnus (1991), H.E. Binali Yildirim, Minister, Ministry of Transport, Maritime Affairs, and Communications, Republic of Turkey, with WMU President, Dr. Björn Kjerfve.Photo: WMU students from Chile, Spain, and Argentina at International Day, July 2012.Photo: WMU Students at International Day, July 2012. Countries represented: Azerbaijan, Turkey, and TunisiaPhoto: In the spring of 2014 WMU will move into the center of Malmö. A new addition designed by renowned architect Kim Utzon will connect to the existing, historic Tornhuset building near the train station. The new facilities will essentially double WMU's current floor space.Photo: WMU student from South Africa.Photo: WMU students in front of the current WMU building.Photo: Marine Education & Training students on a Field Study to Rostock, Germany. The Captain of MV SKANE is explaning  ship operations during the voyage from Sweden to Rostock.Photo: Class of 2013 ITF Fellows. Countries represented: Cameroon, Indonesia, Ukraine, Ghana, and FijiPhoto: December 2012. IMO Secretary-General and WMU Chancellor, Koji Sekimizu, addresses the graduates.Photo: Class of 2012Photo: Graduation 2012Photo: IMO Secretary-General and WMU Chancellor, Koji Sekimizu at the 1 December Sasakawa Fellows Reception with the Class of 2012 and Class of 2013 Sasakawa FellowsPhoto: 2012 WMU Sasakawa Fellows with WMU President Björn Kjerfve, IMO Secretary-General and WMU Chancellor Koji Sekimizu, and Mitsuyuki Unno, Executive Director of the Nippon Foundation