A gathering place for traditionally published writers - and those who wish to be.
See all
Members (64)
Stephanie Hoover's profile photo
Loyal Advices's profile photo
Adriana Harts's profile photo
Renate Penna's profile photo
Panagiota Panagiotaki (Up Life Psychology)'s profile photo
Anitra Wilson's profile photo
Jennifer Shipp's profile photo
Aurangzaib Azher's profile photo
Author Jerry Don Nicholes Sr's profile photo
Rosalind Allen's profile photo
Bikudo's profile photo
Patricia Troyer's profile photo
J.Z. Crazie's profile photo
Business Plan Writers US's profile photo
Rick Jesus's profile photo
John Mason's profile photo
Dennis Royer's profile photo
Dietrich Kalteis's profile photo
E. L. Myles's profile photo
Feon Davis's profile photo
Ilene Hoffman's profile photo
Justin Gallon's profile photo
Goethe  Johann Wolfgang von (蔡伊修)'s profile photo
Haley Melton's profile photo

Stream

Join this community to post or comment
 
Prose 'n Cons is very proud to support "Book 'Em North Carolina" - an annual event with the slogan "Buy a Book, Stop A Crook."

The mission of The Book 'Em Foundation is to raise public awareness of the correlation between high illiteracy rates and high crime rates. It happens in Lumberton, NC, on Saturday, February 28th, and headliners include Terry Irving (Emmy winner and author) and Terri Reid (author of the Mary O’Reilly Paranormal Mysteries series.) If you can't make it this year, put it on your calendar for 2016. less #ProseNConsMag #BookEmNorthCarolina
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Sad news for Canadian authors... no second year for Toronto Book Fair:
The Inspire! Toronto International Book Fair, which launched last November as a three-day consumer event, will not be held again in 2015.
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Prose 'n Cons has received a pre-release galley of megabestselling author Erik Larson's new book, "Dead Wake: The Last Voyage of the Lusitania." Look for a review and exclusive interview with Mr. Larson in the Spring 2015 issue.

In the meantime, what do you all think of the success Mr. Larson has found in the field of "creative non-fiction"? Is he breaking new ground, or are there other authors (other than Truman Capote, of course) who do the same thing, in your opinion - for better or worse?

http://www.prose-n-cons.com/
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Currently seeking news of interest to fans of the mystery, true crime and suspense genres for the Spring (April) 2015 issue of Prose 'n Cons™.

 Has your work been traditionally published? Adapted for the screen? Are you involved with a movie or television show of interest to our readers? Perhaps you've just got a news tip...?

If so, visit our "contact" page and let us know:
1
Add a comment...
 
Flowers fade. Chocolates melt. But a good BOOK...? That lasts forever. Put a new spin on Valentine's Day! Enter to win a signed copy of "A Killing in Capone's Playground" from author Chriss Lyon. Think you know all about the St. Valentine's Day Massacre? Think again - and read the book:
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/capone.html
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
In case you didn't know... PW's "job zone" is a great place to look for editorial jobs, writing assignments, and other writing-related opportunities. The page is freely accessible and the link is:
1
Add a comment...
 
I'm fairly new to the literary community. I have published 2 books and my 3rd book is at the publisher .I'm looking for the release of it late February. My books are a trilogy called The Voices in My Head. The 2nd installment is The Voices in My Head II The Bewitching Hour and the 3rd installment of the trilogy " The Voices in My Head III BLOODLINES coming soon. All of the trilogy " The Voices in My Head is available at amazon.com and jerrydonicholessr.com and Barnes and Nobles.com. please feel free to visit my website. I've made it into a one stop shop for your convenience. It has my book covers, book trailers, synopsis to each book as well as up and coming work. 
Online shopping from the earth's biggest selection of books, magazines, music, DVDs, videos, electronics, computers, software, apparel & accessories, shoes, jewelry, tools & hardware, housewares, furniture, sporting goods, beauty & personal care, broadband & dsl, gourmet food & just about anything else.
1
Stephanie Hoover's profile photoAuthor Jerry Don Nicholes Sr's profile photo
3 comments
 
Thank you very much Stephanie. 
Add a comment...
 
A Darlington father recently published his first book, after turning to writing to help him come to terms with cancer. David Huntley reports
http://bit.ly/echomission
The Best seller is a must read for any Sci-Fi fan...
A LYMPHOMA sufferer has written a science fiction novel as a means of helping him cope with the disease.
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Robert Dugoni's newest book, "My Sister's Grave," is in pre-release but it's already the #1 Amazon download in America, and #4 in the U.K. How do we know...? Because we have an EXCLUSIVE from the author himself! Visit our "Headlines" page for more...
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/headlines.html
1
Add a comment...
 
How much do you know about the towns in which your favorite mysteries are set...? Try your hand at our September contest and find out.
#prosenconsmag  
How much do you know about the mystery, true crime and suspense genres? Test your knowledge in our monthly contests.
1
Add a comment...

About this community

WRITERS is a community for book, magazine, newspaper, and other professional writers with paid bylines and traditional publishing credits. WRITERS is owned by author Stephanie Hoover.

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Where can you find Madonna and Norman Rockwell occupying the same space...? On the "Top 100 Most Searched For Out of Print Books for 2014":

http://www.abebooks.com/books/features/100-most-searched-out-of-print-books.shtml?cm_mmc=nl-_-nl-_-C150127-h00-bookfiAM-341424GP-_-01cta&abersp=1
1
Add a comment...
 
Looking for another great Google+ community...? Join our newest addition, "Fans of Mysteries, True Crime & Suspense" (curated by the editors of Prose 'n Cons™ mystery magazine.) It's a brand new community and the first 100 members receive a free digital issue of the Winter 2015 Prose 'n Cons mag.
https://plus.google.com/communities/110703040687682379594
#mysteries     #truecrime   #suspense   #ProseNConsMag  
Fans of Mysteries, True Crime & Suspense
Curated by the Editors of Prose 'n Cons Mystery Magazine
View community
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Include me on the pre-pre-pre-release notification list! How exciting:
The new book, “Go Set a Watchman,” focuses on the character of Scout as an adult, and was written in the 1950s. It will be published in July.
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Do you belong to a group or organization for writers? If so, you are eligible for a free digital copy of the Winter 2015 issue of Prose 'n Cons. To request your copy, visit:
http://goo.gl/forms/7FLiS06UpU
1
Add a comment...
 
2014 Best-Sellers - Lots of Hollywood Tie-Ins:
It was much easier to characterize the bestseller terrain in the two years before 2014.
1
Add a comment...
 
The Voices in My Head. Sean Bowers is haunted by the voices in his head. He struggles to keep a grip on reality, but the voices threaten his sanity. They also challenge the law, pressuring Sean to do terrible, evil things he can't even consider. The voices continue, and he eventually loses the ...
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
As both the owner of this G+ Writers community AND the publisher/editor of Prose 'n Cons, I'm offering free digital editions of the current issue to all of you. If interested, email us at:
ProseNConsMag@gmail.com
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Authors, publishers, producers, publicists, and others with news to share specific to the mystery, true crime and suspense genres... we are looking for fresh news for the "Headlines" sections of both our magazine and our web site. 

If you have RELEVANT news to share, please use this form: 
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/submit_news.html
1
Add a comment...
 
Enter our free contest to win a review copy of books used by Prose 'n Cons editorial staff to craft book reviews. But be forewarned - dog-ears and notes in the margins come with the territory.

http://www.prose-n-cons.com/
1
Add a comment...

Stephanie Hoover
owner

Discussion  - 
 
Love this article:
American  publishing's wunderkind, proto-hipster author, editor, publisher and philanthropist Dave Eggers believes rumours of the printed word's demise are greatly exaggerated.
1
Add a comment...