A gathering place for traditionally published writers - and those who wish to be.
See all
Members (71)
Stephanie Hoover (Prose 'n Cons)'s profile photo
adhithya vignesh's profile photo
Adriana Harts's profile photo
Alan Behr's profile photo
alex cerra's profile photo
Angie Mangino's profile photo
Anitra Wilson's profile photo
Ann Stampler's profile photo
Feon Davis's profile photo
armor bearer's profile photo
Jenney Clark's profile photo
Nick Moore's profile photo
Justin Gallon's profile photo
Bikudo's profile photo
Natalia Cristo's profile photo
Jonathan Cohen's profile photo
Business Plan Writers US's profile photo
Cate Allan's profile photo
Lena Campbell's profile photo
Dennis Royer's profile photo
jamie moore's profile photo
Jennifer Shipp's profile photo
E. L. Myles's profile photo
ePubMATIC :: ebook your book!'s profile photo

Stream

Join this community to post or comment
 
Announcing the 1st Annual Prose 'n Cons™ Short Story Contest
(click image below to enlarge)
Write a short story (up to 3,000 words) based on one of our four pieces of cover art. Winner receives $100, publication in our Winter 2016 issue, a one-year subscription to Prose 'n Cons™ Mystery Magazine, and mentions in our monthly newsletter and social media.
1
Add a comment...
 
What writers' conference(s) do you attend - and do you think you gain by the experience?
1
Add a comment...
 
Fellow mystery writers are sure to enjoy this article on British author Margery Allingham, creator of detective Albert Campion. Check out Margery's description of a mystery as “a box with four sides: a killing, a mystery, an enquiry and a conclusion with an element of satisfaction in it.” She makes it sound so simple, doesn't she...?
1
Add a comment...
 
I'm just not sure I buy this guy's excuses for tossing books out of his car window. What do you think?
When Glenn Pladsen was pulled over on U.S. 287 south of Longmont around 5:30 a.m. Thursday and ticketed for tossing books out his car window, he didn't realize that a great mystery had been solved.
1
Add a comment...
 
Sad news for Canadian authors... no second year for Toronto Book Fair:
The Inspire! Toronto International Book Fair, which launched last November as a three-day consumer event, will not be held again in 2015.
1
Add a comment...
 
Prose 'n Cons has received a pre-release galley of megabestselling author Erik Larson's new book, "Dead Wake: The Last Voyage of the Lusitania." Look for a review and exclusive interview with Mr. Larson in the Spring 2015 issue.

In the meantime, what do you all think of the success Mr. Larson has found in the field of "creative non-fiction"? Is he breaking new ground, or are there other authors (other than Truman Capote, of course) who do the same thing, in your opinion - for better or worse?

http://www.prose-n-cons.com/
1
Add a comment...
 
Currently seeking news of interest to fans of the mystery, true crime and suspense genres for the Spring (April) 2015 issue of Prose 'n Cons™.

 Has your work been traditionally published? Adapted for the screen? Are you involved with a movie or television show of interest to our readers? Perhaps you've just got a news tip...?

If so, visit our "contact" page and let us know:
1
Add a comment...
 
Flowers fade. Chocolates melt. But a good BOOK...? That lasts forever. Put a new spin on Valentine's Day! Enter to win a signed copy of "A Killing in Capone's Playground" from author Chriss Lyon. Think you know all about the St. Valentine's Day Massacre? Think again - and read the book:
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/capone.html
1
Add a comment...
 
In case you didn't know... PW's "job zone" is a great place to look for editorial jobs, writing assignments, and other writing-related opportunities. The page is freely accessible and the link is:
1
Add a comment...
 
Robert Dugoni's newest book, "My Sister's Grave," is in pre-release but it's already the #1 Amazon download in America, and #4 in the U.K. How do we know...? Because we have an EXCLUSIVE from the author himself! Visit our "Headlines" page for more...
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/headlines.html
1
Add a comment...

About this community

WRITERS is a community for book, magazine, newspaper, and other professional writers with paid bylines and traditional publishing credits. WRITERS is owned by author, researcher and publisher Stephanie Hoover.
 
GREAT article on the state of non-fiction publishing.
When it comes to high-calibre non-fiction, risk-averse trade publishing houses are producing too many copycat ‘smart thinking’ books that promise more than they deliver. But praise should be given to the university presses
1
Add a comment...
 
The Authors Guild has embarked on what it calls its "fair contract initiative." Among the issues it's fighting are inequitable e-book royalty splits, over-restrictive non-compete clauses, and publishers' outdated accounting methods. Have any of you experienced any of these...?
1
Add a comment...
 
Today is the last day to submit your book for consideration in the Anthony Awards.
1
Add a comment...
 
Prose 'n Cons is very proud to support "Book 'Em North Carolina" - an annual event with the slogan "Buy a Book, Stop A Crook."

The mission of The Book 'Em Foundation is to raise public awareness of the correlation between high illiteracy rates and high crime rates. It happens in Lumberton, NC, on Saturday, February 28th, and headliners include Terry Irving (Emmy winner and author) and Terri Reid (author of the Mary O’Reilly Paranormal Mysteries series.) If you can't make it this year, put it on your calendar for 2016. less #ProseNConsMag #BookEmNorthCarolina
1
Add a comment...
 
Where can you find Madonna and Norman Rockwell occupying the same space...? On the "Top 100 Most Searched For Out of Print Books for 2014":

http://www.abebooks.com/books/features/100-most-searched-out-of-print-books.shtml?cm_mmc=nl-_-nl-_-C150127-h00-bookfiAM-341424GP-_-01cta&abersp=1
1
Add a comment...
 
Looking for another great Google+ community...? Join our newest addition, "Fans of Mysteries, True Crime & Suspense" (curated by the editors of Prose 'n Cons™ mystery magazine.) It's a brand new community and the first 100 members receive a free digital issue of the Winter 2015 Prose 'n Cons mag.
https://plus.google.com/communities/110703040687682379594
#mysteries     #truecrime   #suspense   #ProseNConsMag  
Fans of Mysteries, True Crime & Suspense
Curated by the Editors of Prose 'n Cons Mystery Magazine
View community
1
Add a comment...
 
Include me on the pre-pre-pre-release notification list! How exciting:
The new book, “Go Set a Watchman,” focuses on the character of Scout as an adult, and was written in the 1950s. It will be published in July.
1
Add a comment...
 
Do you belong to a group or organization for writers? If so, you are eligible for a free digital copy of the Winter 2015 issue of Prose 'n Cons. To request your copy, visit:
http://goo.gl/forms/7FLiS06UpU
1
Add a comment...
 
2014 Best-Sellers - Lots of Hollywood Tie-Ins:
It was much easier to characterize the bestseller terrain in the two years before 2014.
1
Add a comment...
 
Authors, publishers, producers, publicists, and others with news to share specific to the mystery, true crime and suspense genres... we are looking for fresh news for the "Headlines" sections of both our magazine and our web site. 

If you have RELEVANT news to share, please use this form: 
http://www.prose-n-cons.com/submit_news.html
1
Add a comment...