Post is pinned.Post has attachment

IMPORTANT MESSAGE: To Join this Public Community as a member, do not just click the Ask-to-Join button - but ALSO Private Message (private G+ post, not a hangout or email) +John R. Ellis with a request for Approval, and include a link to at least one community you Own or Moderate. Thanks.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

FAQs about G+ and G+ Communities:
3.33 Billion current accounts
~ 1.0 M more accounts added daily
4.9 Million current Communities
~7400 new Communities created daily

Resulting in these:

Current G+ Community O/M Issues

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

*Reminder - be sure to check the information posted in the community About Section for answers to Frequently Asked Questions here.

TIP - To alphabetize your membership list, go to Membership Search and type in: Quote, Bang, Apostrophe - i.e.: [ "!' ]. Should alphabetizes the entire membership list! However, we need to be able to sort by New Members first too.

"New Posts" number is missing or wildly wrong. Mods no longer can see that there are posts to the community if they are in Spam filter, unless they enter the community and check. Number indicates a new post, but it can be hours later before it is actually displayed in the community.

Moderators should be able to set a default order (top posts vs chronological) for their community. Defaulting everything to Popularity "top posts" has been a fiasco.

O/M do NOT see all posts or comments by members who block them, and it is too hard to determine who blocks the Mods now.

We need the ability to Remove, report, and ban at the comment level with the option to remove ALL content from the poster. That means ALL comments and ALL posts.

Need ability to BULK approve and reject applicants for membership, and bulk remove old invitations.

Trolls and hackers still hijacking communities. TRUST NO ONE!

Notifications not working well, and disappear when you try to read them. This link might help you recover the lost ones: https://plus.google.com/notifications/all

It is too difficult to find the About Section or the Categories in the new UI.

We need the ability to move posts to correct categories on mobile, not just desktop.

Feel free to use the comment section of this post to bring up new questions or new issues, especially if you don't think it needs a full post in the community.


Updated January 26, 2017.

#Community #Problems 




Photo

Post has shared content
Written by yours truly!

An explanation of why you, as a Community Moderator, should implement Held for Review and use the Limited/Full Member structure.
Community Management Best Practices: Full vs Limited Member setting

Recently, Google made an important update to the way Google+ Communities can be moderated. This update has a direct effect on controlling the quality of content seen in the Community, and making sure only trusted users can share that content.

What is the update?

Community Moderators can now enable the new "Hold Posts for Review" option. If enabled, Moderators can then select who becomes a Limited Member - either Everyone (all current members), or just new members joining the Community.

What's a Limited Member?

Limited Members have full access to comment, +1 and reshare Community content. They can also share content to the community, but it will be placed into a special new queue until a moderator reviews them and decides whether they are appropriate for the general Community members to see. How long it takes for a Moderator to approve/reject the post depends on the Community's Moderators themselves, as they will need to manually review posts in the queue. Posts for regular members (ones who are not Limited Members) do not get held for review.

How does a Limited Member become a Full Member?

If the Community Owners and Moderators decide that a Limited Member has demonstrated that their posts are of high enough quality, the Owner or Moderator can promote the person from being a Limited Member to a Full Member. The reverse is also true, in that Owners/Moderators have the ability to demote Full Members to being Limited Members, as well.

Why the change?

Google have listened to the user feedback, requesting the ability for Community Owners and Moderators to control whether low quality content is seen in the Community.

How is this new Hold for Review queue enabled?

Community Owners and Moderators can enable the Hold for Review queue from within the ‘Edit Community’ dialog of their Community.

This post was written by Community Vanguards member +Paul Snedden
Photo

So, the "newest" trick of spammers is to block mods and then post their crap so that we can't see it.
Anyone know how to get around this? Maybe a profile that is only used for mod duties? 

Post has shared content
Could this replace G+?
Posts on Google.
Here's one more thing that will end Google+! It's called Posts on Google.

The way it works is that you can post directly to Google search. So when people search for you, they will see your posts in the search results. The posts can contain texts, videos, gifs and images. It's not only for people, but also places, bands and so on.

Currently it's only open to verified users, whatever that means. It may well be opened to everybody else too.

Check out Posts on Google here,
https://posts.withgoogle.com/us
Photo

In one of the Communities I helo Moderate , I post a friendly "notice" stating that the original post doesn't comply with the Community Guidelines, and asking the posrer to edit their post so's it does comoly with the Guidelines. The Community in question does get a lot of such posts, so my "notice" is used a lot. Anyway, todsy I got a warning from Google, telling me to stop using that notice/post. I guess they now consider it being spam, despite my using the same text in the nitice, for well ovee 12 months! Now I am not sure what to do, I thought the notice was simply helping new Members/posters.

I have a question about transferring G+ community ownership. One of our employees created a community on her own, but it needs to be transferred over to the official account that manages all our agencies' communities. I’ve been working with her to transfer ownership to the official account, but we are having issues. She promoted the account to Moderator with no problems. But now when she goes to Manage Members, the only options she sees are Ban or Remove, not Promote to Owner. It’s been 2 weeks since the official account was promoted to moderator, so I don’t think that’s the problem unless Google changed the amount of time you need to spend as a member before being able to be an owner Has anyone else encountered this issue with the current owner being unable to transfer ownership to a new account? Any ideas or advice much appreciated!

I have just promoted a new moderator but I find I am unable to send her an invitation to join our private moderators community.

I just can't tag her or bring up her name. I have added her to my circles and she has added me back but her name does not come up. A dozen or so other people by the same name who I do not even know come up, wtf? Please help!

Regarding the problem where posts and comments deleted (G+ on a browser) did not really get deleted...

UPDATE: the problem has apparently been fixed as of last night. Thanks to everyone who must have fussed at Google :)

+John R. Ellis +John Skeats

If it helps, I suggest that Facebook is analogous to newsletters, while G+ is analogous to radio stations.

Collections is like a company that owns several stations one broadcasting Jazz, one country, one rock, and one is a news station.

Communities is a bunch of shortwave ham operators who always tune to the same frequency to talk about a shared interest.

Circles are tightly beamed stations which can only be picked up by those to whom the signal has been beamed if they choose to turn their receivers on.

Public is this small planet in the midst of a vast universe beaming its signal out into space hoping that someone somewhere will tune in. 

Any one know what to do about this?
We are in the process of closing a community and transferring the posts to another community we own to consolidate, and cut down on work we are doing.

When I transfer a post I delete the original. (these are posts I created in the first place) I do this because it is handy to know what was moved and not moved.

Now we find the second post can not be shared further if anyone wants to do so because it tells us...post has been deleted.

Does this mean all the work that has been done in the past is gone forever now?
What happens to transferred information once the old community is closed? Someone said all the transferred items will disappear. Is this correct? How can we save things like this?

I sent feedback on the situation, but one never knows if one will hear back from them. 
Wait while more posts are being loaded