Sun Prairie Apartments
5901 Vista Dr
West Des Moines, IA 50266
36 Google user reviews
Steven Bonney
a week ago
I have lived in Sun Parire Apartments over the last 8 years. These apartments are cheaply made,but at the time the rent was very reasonable in the West Des Moines/Waukee area. The Management staff have decline. I have stated my concerns with the property manager "Patty" who does not care... if it's a concern or issue. Children run up and down the stairs and hallways.. like is a jungle gym/playground. The hallways smell really bad... not to mention it looks like an India Village. 75% of the tenants are on government assistance/low income program. I have came across bed bugs,centipedes,ants and wolf spiders... for other tenants. I would highly advise you to spend the extra money on newer developments around the Jordan Creek Area and save yourself the embarrassment and headache.
David Parrott
3 weeks ago
I've lived at sun prairie for the last 8 months and found you get what you pay for. It is fairly cheaply constructed, but still a good place to live for a starting family, recent grad, or college student. A few things I dislike, 1) The rooms can be cold at times during the winter, and there is a bit of a draft when it gets really cold and windy out side. 2) When I first moved in to my apartment, there were a few things which were broken. The microwave didn't work, and the mail box didn't open. BUT.. A few of the good things include, 1) The maintenance! It is very fast, they generally follow through with requests within the first day. 2) Snow removal is very fast, generally within 12-24 hours, everything is clear. 3) The office staff is very nice, and they always answer the phone right away when you call. They are very patient, and helpful. 4) Parking! There is a lot of it, there are probably 4 spaces for every tenant. The lot is never full. To sum it up, generally everything is in good working order, there is hot water, cold A/C in the summer, good heat in the winter. There are no bugs, and it is a pretty nice living environment. No crazy parties, or people who are obnoxiously loud at unreasonable hours. I would give the apartment complex as a whole a 3.6 as a whole, but figured I would round up to 4, just for kicks. Hope you found this review helpful, David
Jasanna Czellar
2 months ago
I've lived here a couple years. Overall, the apartments are pretty good. However, rent has raised EVERY year. This year, $30 increase. Which is crazy to me. I was told property taxes increased as well as utility costs. Which is silly to me, because I only sometimes get hot water for a shower. Very regularly, it switches from hot to freezing cold and back and forth. No matter what time of day I shower. I do love that I don't live next to the pool/playground, because there are always children screaming over there. We have had really loud upstairs neighbors who clomp about and sound like they'll fall through but that's probably standard anywhere. I don't hear everything that people say next door. It's no-smoking, but our hallway always reeks of smoke (esp during the winter and rainy times because the smokers I'm sure smoke inside...I don't see them outside). Someone in the apt gave bedbugs in the first year or so but I set traps and haven't seen any since. No other bugs to speak of. Overall ok, but the rent increases for a 1 BR is just silly. Despite never asking for any fixes, or complaining to the office.
Breanna Hopson
4 months ago
Terrible place to live. The walls are VERY thin, I can hear the kids in the morning getting on the school bus when I'm sleeping. I can hear kids that play in the hallway. I can hear every footstep from the people living above me. The pipes are also very bad, there is a high pitched screeching noise that goes off if the faucet isn't running. A pipe actually did burst in the hallway(luckily it wasn't in our room).If you give a noise complaint, they don't do anything about it. We had an ant problem. There parking lot is terrible, there are no yellow lines so you can imagine how messy the parking lot is. Very disappointed with choosing to live here. I will give a bad review to anybody thinking of this place.
rich Jennings
6 months ago
I gave 2 stars for location, the day I moved in they lied to my face saying "we hardly ever raise the rent", in fact they raise it every chance they get. Also the maintenance sucks. Their favorite thing to say is that heat and water are free, we'll their reason they gave me for jacking my rent was that the cost for water and heating went up for them so they raised rent across the complex. The do not enforce the rules in the laundry rooms and while we are on that there is 3 washers and 3 dryers for the building, correction 2 washers since one has been broken for 4 months despite several complaints. The buildings are cheaply constructed and the apartments are mediocre at best. Trust me look elsewhere, I do however agree with the statement the lady at the front desk is the best employee they have.
Bob Person
a week ago
I had a huge spider come in my room on the first floor , I also had 2-3 mice that came into my room too the window shades are garbage everytime you wanna open the shades or close it the side of it rips .... Don't live here everyone is rude at the office
Aaron Strong
3 weeks ago
Great place to get your packages stolen and a wonderful place to hear the interstate 24/7! Want to get ripped off? Live here!
Austin Jorgensen
7 months ago
Only problem was a stipulation where they were going to charge us for a late key fee, but that was waved. Most of their amenities are free and the management is of good standard. I recommend living here with the good reputation, pond senery, and quick access to interstate.
28 more reviews