Sun Prairie Apartments
5901 Vista Dr
West Des Moines, IA 50266
28 Google user reviews
Austin Jorgensen
3 months ago
Only problem was a stipulation where they were going to charge us for a late key drop off fee, but that was waved. Most of their amenities are free and the management is of good standard. I recommend living here with the good reputation and pond senery.
Dona Das
a month ago
Oh, I just loved staying here. The apartment was lovely and the maintenance is also quite good. It was my first apartment in US and it had the view of the swimming pool. I would suggest this place for anyone who wants to live in a good place in an affordable price.
Cay W
6 months ago
My two roommates and myself moved out over a year ago. When we moved out we left behind a couple random things that we couldn't take with us, knowing there'd be a $25 an hour trash haul out fee as specified. Well we got notice in the mail about a week or so later saying it was $150 for trash haul out expenses (after our deposit and cleaning fees, we are told we owed a little over $100 overall). How could it have taken them 6 hours to haul out a tv, boxspring, and a couple random trash bags? Well they had on the note if we had a dispute to contact them, so I wrote them a letter, sent it off, and never heard anything since. Well a few days ago, all 3 of us got a letter in the mail saying we needed to pay what was owed or contact them within a certain amount of days or we'd get sent to collections and yada yada yada. What happened that it took them 3 years to get back in touch after our dispute we sent them? We go to the office today to talk with them about why it took them so long to rebuttle our dispute, and how it could've taken them 6 hours to haul out those few things. They tell us that it's a 'per person' charge. "It took 2 people 3 hours total to haul that stuff out". Where does it say it's a per person charge? We double checked the lease and anywhere we had signed, and no where does it state it's a per person charge. It just says it's an hourly fee overall of $25. Anything we said went in one ear and out the other it seemed. Also the maintenance manager was being very rude and unprofessional, making rude comments that were entirely unnecessary. We are going to have a meeting with the vice president to clear up why we're having to pay extra for something that isn't stated anywhere in writing that we had signed, about their 'per person' fee. Needless to say, the majority of the staff there is very rude, and disrespectful. Even when we lived there they acted very similar. I would not recommend this place to anyone, and if you're living there now, I feel bad for what you're dealing with at that complex. Get out while you can.
David Parrott
a year ago
I've lived at sun prairie for the last 8 months and found you get what you pay for. It is fairly cheap (as compared to apt. complexes of equal quality in DSM), but still a good place to live for a starting family, recent grad, or college student. A few things I dislike, 1) The rooms can be cold at times during the winter, and there is a bit of a draft when it gets really cold and windy out side (when it gets below negative 15 or so). 2) When I first moved in to my apartment, there were a few things which were broken. The microwave didn't work, and the mail box didn't open. BUT.. A few of the good things include, 1) The maintenance! It is very fast, they generally follow through with requests within the first day. 2) Snow removal is very fast, generally within 12-24 hours, everything is clear. 3) The office staff is very nice, and they always answer the phone right away when you call. They are very patient, and helpful. 4) Parking! There is a lot of it, there are probably 4 spaces for every tenant. The lot is never full. To sum it up, generally everything is in good working order, there is hot water, cold A/C in the summer, good heat in the winter. There are no bugs, and it is a pretty nice living environment. No crazy parties, or people who are obnoxiously loud at unreasonable hours. I would give the apartment complex as a whole a 3.6 as a whole, but figured I would round up to 4, just for kicks. Hope you found this review helpful, David
Cassie Harbaugh
2 years ago
I think the main concern is the kids. People with children that live here let them run around and maintain no control. The kids litter garbage all over the halls, smear food and color on the hallway walls and constantly run up and down the halls at all hours. I even caught some having a water balloon fight inside and when I reported it and maintenance confronted the kids (still in the hallway with the water balloons) the kids told them water leaked from a wash machine and he belived them and didn't do anything about it. The college apartment building I lived in was much cleaner than these buildings. Community laundry is bad enough, but the outdated dryers constantly break down and there's always something wrong with the card reader machine. It's supposed to be a no smoking property, but anyone with a nose can tell it's very obvious that rule is not enforced. We also had problems with our smoke alarms going off randomly, even in the middle of the night. When we called maintenance about it they just kept replacing the batteries, which did not resolve the issue because the smoke detectors were brand new. If you do not have an all or 4-wheel drive vehicle be prepared for problems getting in and out of the drives in the winter. In an apartment down the hall it was very obvious there was drugs being done in there. Someone must have reported them because management came with the police. They were not able to do anything since there was not a 24 hour notice to enter the place. I realize this is not Sun Prairie's fault, but it's the type of environment you don't want to live in. It would be nice to have secured entrances so random people and kids weren't constantly running in and out. I believe in "you get what you pay for", but rent has gone up over $100/month since I've lived here and they won't update or replace anything in the unit. There's no central air, only a window unit. A couple positives is the location is great and safe. When we do submit a maintenance request they have always responded very quickly. The management is friendly and attentive, but not very effective about improving things. Overall I would not recommend this, don't walk away (unless you have children and don't like to watch them).
A Google User
4 years ago
I love Sun Prarie. Despite what others say its quiet and nicely kept. There are no bed bugs as previously stated. Management has been beyond helpful especially with the recent fire which they gave people gift cards and food and the management and staff worked over time to help the people involved. Keeping in mind that most nasty comments are probably problems the tenants themselves have created because i have had nothing but a great experience there. Apartments are nice and the staff has always been helpful to me and the price for everything you get is unbelievable. I would highly recommend this apartment to my family and friends.
Teddy Graham
3 years ago
My mantra regarding Sun Prairie used to be, "you get what you pay for"... unfortunately, anymore, even that appears to be a stretch. In the last 6 months, our rent has increased by $100/mo- leading me to believe that in fact, we are now getting far less than we pay for. What used to make Sun Prairie bearable was the very large amount of space we were getting for a very reasonable price. With the continuous rent hikes, however, a nicer, newer apartment in WDM is looking much more attractive. To be fair, Sun Prairie is not a terrible place to live, and the location cannot be beat. If, however, you like to be warned before your water is shut off, or if you like maintenance to respond to a request within a month, or if you enjoy having considerate, respectful neighbors, then you may just want to look elsewhere. In all honesty, I think Sun Prairie is so big that apathy is seen as the best policy- and that applies to both staff and tenants. Their only true saving grace is the wonderful lady working at the front desk. I know her friendly demeanor regularly quells my rage, and I can only imagine how many other tenants would say the same!
Darren Elings
2 years ago
Extremely annoyed how they bring people into your home to show with a 5 min phone call for a warning. I have a 2 year old and it would be nice to at least get a 24 hr notice. Apparently they are able to do this once you tell them you are not renewing your lease. The couple who was viewing the apartment wouldn't even enter into our bedrooms because of how awkward it was. This was rude and extremely uncomfortable.
20 more reviews