Sun Prairie Apartments
5901 Vista Dr
West Des Moines, IA 50266
41 Google user reviews
Jacob S.
a month ago
Never felt like they appreciated I lived here. Moved in 3 years ago, and had issues signing a new lease. My work schedule was same as their office hours. Requested to stay open for 5-10 extra minutes, they said no and told me to make it work. I took off work early one day and got there as their office close and was told to come back the next day. When I did finally get enough time to come in, they turned away 3 different couples who requested to see an apartment due to they were closing in 5 minutes and they needed at least 15. Other issues: Children running hallways, geese EVERYWHERE, poor maintenance, poor lighting in parking lot (relies on lighting from interstate), poor communication with any outages, always several washers and dryers out of order Perks: low rent, close to things in West Des Moines, large decks, mature trees throughout property
Thea Briggs
a month ago
This is my last month here & i am trying to move out and I have bed bugs. I told the office and they took my name and number and i didn't hear anything back for 2 days, until today they had a guy come look and he said he didn't see any but saw evidence that they had been here... well yes, Im not going to wait around for you people to fix it. I took my own action to try and make it a little better. They then scheduled a heat treatment which is greatly appreciated but it wont be done till the 25th...What am I suppose to do in the mean time? Continue getting bitten every night. And im suppose to start moving my stuff to my new place but I will not be doing that until I KNOW all the bugs are gone and I now have to get a new mattress with money out of my pocket. I have only lived here six months until they waited till almost the 30th to take out the previous months rent check. Who waits that long? I am sick of this place and especially the BED BUGS. They also will show up within 5 minutes to show people your apartment after you tell them you're not renewing your lease. When you tell them it is not in a condition to be seen or you are busy they get very rude with you. Super hot in the bedrooms, air conditioner only cools the living room. Kids running around all the time with out parental supervision. You can hear everyone who walks down the hall way, open and closes the door or anything. They will also raise rent is you renew your lease Do NOT move here.
Steven Bonney
2 months ago
I have lived in Sun Parire Apartments over the last 8 years. These apartments are cheaply made,but at the time the rent was very reasonable in the West Des Moines/Waukee area. The Management staff have decline. I have stated my concerns with the property manager "Patty" who does not care... if it's a concern or issue. Children run up and down the stairs and hallways.. like is a jungle gym/playground. The hallways smell really bad... not to mention it looks like an India Village. 75% of the tenants are on government assistance/low income program. I have came across bed bugs,centipedes,ants and wolf spiders... for other tenants. I would highly advise you to spend the extra money on newer developments around the Jordan Creek Area and save yourself the embarrassment and headache.
David Parrott
3 months ago
I've lived at sun prairie for the last 8 months and found you get what you pay for. It is fairly cheaply constructed, but still a good place to live for a starting family, recent grad, or college student. A few things I dislike, 1) The rooms can be cold at times during the winter, and there is a bit of a draft when it gets really cold and windy out side. 2) When I first moved in to my apartment, there were a few things which were broken. The microwave didn't work, and the mail box didn't open. BUT.. A few of the good things include, 1) The maintenance! It is very fast, they generally follow through with requests within the first day. 2) Snow removal is very fast, generally within 12-24 hours, everything is clear. 3) The office staff is very nice, and they always answer the phone right away when you call. They are very patient, and helpful. 4) Parking! There is a lot of it, there are probably 4 spaces for every tenant. The lot is never full. To sum it up, generally everything is in good working order, there is hot water, cold A/C in the summer, good heat in the winter. There are no bugs, and it is a pretty nice living environment. No crazy parties, or people who are obnoxiously loud at unreasonable hours. I would give the apartment complex as a whole a 3.6 as a whole, but figured I would round up to 4, just for kicks. Hope you found this review helpful, David
Jasanna Czellar
4 months ago
I've lived here a couple years. Overall, the apartments are pretty good. However, rent has raised EVERY year. This year, $30 increase. Which is crazy to me. I was told property taxes increased as well as utility costs. Which is silly to me, because I only sometimes get hot water for a shower. Very regularly, it switches from hot to freezing cold and back and forth. No matter what time of day I shower. I do love that I don't live next to the pool/playground, because there are always children screaming over there. We have had really loud upstairs neighbors who clomp about and sound like they'll fall through but that's probably standard anywhere. I don't hear everything that people say next door. It's no-smoking, but our hallway always reeks of smoke (esp during the winter and rainy times because the smokers I'm sure smoke inside...I don't see them outside). Someone in the apt gave bedbugs in the first year or so but I set traps and haven't seen any since. No other bugs to speak of. Overall ok, but the rent increases for a 1 BR is just silly. Despite never asking for any fixes, or complaining to the office.
Adem Yildirim
2 weeks ago
Well i still live this apartment.would i recommend? Of course NO, i have been here since 2012 and management increased my rent 4 times last 4 years cuz i am not US citizen and i paid all my rent in time.my first rent was around $720 and now i am paying $905+$35 month to month.btw even if you have excellent credit score,you have to have co-signer to lease.beware of sun prairie...
Breanna Hopson
6 months ago
Terrible place to live. The walls are VERY thin, I can hear the kids in the morning getting on the school bus when I'm sleeping. I can hear kids that play in the hallway. I can hear every footstep from the people living above me. The pipes are also very bad, there is a high pitched screeching noise that goes off if the faucet isn't running. A pipe actually did burst in the hallway(luckily it wasn't in our room).If you give a noise complaint, they don't do anything about it. We had an ant problem. There parking lot is terrible, there are no yellow lines so you can imagine how messy the parking lot is. Very disappointed with choosing to live here. I will give a bad review to anybody thinking of this place.
rich Jennings
8 months ago
I gave 2 stars for location, the day I moved in they lied to my face saying "we hardly ever raise the rent", in fact they raise it every chance they get. Also the maintenance sucks. Their favorite thing to say is that heat and water are free, we'll their reason they gave me for jacking my rent was that the cost for water and heating went up for them so they raised rent across the complex. The do not enforce the rules in the laundry rooms and while we are on that there is 3 washers and 3 dryers for the building, correction 2 washers since one has been broken for 4 months despite several complaints. The buildings are cheaply constructed and the apartments are mediocre at best. Trust me look elsewhere, I do however agree with the statement the lady at the front desk is the best employee they have.
33 more reviews