Sun Prairie Apartments
5901 Vista Dr
West Des Moines, IA 50266
36 Google user reviews
Jasanna Czellar
a month ago
I've lived here a couple years. Overall, the apartments are pretty good. However, rent has raised EVERY year. This year, $30 increase. Which is crazy to me. I was told property taxes increased as well as utility costs. Which is silly to me, because I only sometimes get hot water for a shower. Very regularly, it switches from hot to freezing cold and back and forth. No matter what time of day I shower. I do love that I don't live next to the pool/playground, because there are always children screaming over there. We have had really loud upstairs neighbors who clomp about and sound like they'll fall through but that's probably standard anywhere. I don't hear everything that people say next door. It's no-smoking, but our hallway always reeks of smoke (esp during the winter and rainy times because the smokers I'm sure smoke inside...I don't see them outside). Someone in the apt gave bedbugs in the first year or so but I set traps and haven't seen any since. No other bugs to speak of. Overall ok, but the rent increases for a 1 BR is just silly. Despite never asking for any fixes, or complaining to the office.
Breanna Hopson
3 months ago
Terrible place to live. The walls are VERY thin, I can hear the kids in the morning getting on the school bus when I'm sleeping. I can hear kids that play in the hallway. I can hear every footstep from the people living above me. The pipes are also very bad, there is a high pitched screeching noise that goes off if the faucet isn't running. A pipe actually did burst in the hallway(luckily it wasn't in our room).If you give a noise complaint, they don't do anything about it. We had an ant problem. There parking lot is terrible, there are no yellow lines so you can imagine how messy the parking lot is. Very disappointed with choosing to live here. I will give a bad review to anybody thinking of this place.
rich Jennings
5 months ago
I gave 2 stars for location, the day I moved in they lied to my face saying "we hardly ever raise the rent", in fact they raise it every chance they get. Also the maintenance sucks. Their favorite thing to say is that heat and water are free, we'll their reason they gave me for jacking my rent was that the cost for water and heating went up for them so they raised rent across the complex. The do not enforce the rules in the laundry rooms and while we are on that there is 3 washers and 3 dryers for the building, correction 2 washers since one has been broken for 4 months despite several complaints. The buildings are cheaply constructed and the apartments are mediocre at best. Trust me look elsewhere, I do however agree with the statement the lady at the front desk is the best employee they have.
Aaron Strong
in the last week
Great place to get your packages stolen and a wonderful place to hear the interstate 24/7! Want to get ripped off? Live here!
Austin Jorgensen
6 months ago
Only problem was a stipulation where they were going to charge us for a late key fee, but that was waved. Most of their amenities are free and the management is of good standard. I recommend living here with the good reputation, pond senery, and quick access to interstate.
Dona Das
9 months ago
Oh, I just loved staying here. The apartment was lovely and the maintenance is also quite good. It was my first apartment in US and it had the view of the swimming pool. I would suggest this place for anyone who wants to live in a good place in an affordable price.
Michelley Bohmke
3 months ago
My cousin was recently pickpocketed while helping someone out in the parking lot. Not dropping by after dark.
Cay W
a year ago
My two roommates and myself moved out over a year ago. When we moved out we left behind a couple random things that we couldn't take with us, knowing there'd be a $25 an hour trash haul out fee as specified. Well we got notice in the mail about a week or so later saying it was $150 for trash haul out expenses (after our deposit and cleaning fees, we are told we owed a little over $100 overall). How could it have taken them 6 hours to haul out a tv, boxspring, and a couple random trash bags? Well they had on the note if we had a dispute to contact them, so I wrote them a letter, sent it off, and never heard anything since. Well a few days ago, all 3 of us got a letter in the mail saying we needed to pay what was owed or contact them within a certain amount of days or we'd get sent to collections and yada yada yada. What happened that it took them 3 years to get back in touch after our dispute we sent them? We go to the office today to talk with them about why it took them so long to rebuttle our dispute, and how it could've taken them 6 hours to haul out those few things. They tell us that it's a 'per person' charge. "It took 2 people 3 hours total to haul that stuff out". Where does it say it's a per person charge? We double checked the lease and anywhere we had signed, and no where does it state it's a per person charge. It just says it's an hourly fee overall of $25. Anything we said went in one ear and out the other it seemed. Also the maintenance manager was being very rude and unprofessional, making rude comments that were entirely unnecessary. We are going to have a meeting with the vice president to clear up why we're having to pay extra for something that isn't stated anywhere in writing that we had signed, about their 'per person' fee. Needless to say, the majority of the staff there is very rude, and disrespectful. Even when we lived there they acted very similar. I would not recommend this place to anyone, and if you're living there now, I feel bad for what you're dealing with at that complex. Get out while you can.
28 more reviews