Walnut Trail Apartments
601 Alfa Ct
Portage, MI 49002
27 Google user reviews
Sarah Derucki
a week ago
Leasing office is either amazing or terrible there is NO in between. They aren't great at fixing problems the first time. I gave up calling to fix any problems that happened. I am better suited to fix them correctly and not have to have them redone. There is a good chance I am stuck here for another year because I didn't receive notice early enough (less than a month and a half) to know that rent was going up. I have to give them a month notice to move out our go month to month for quite a bit more. I don't see why the rent should go up for tenants that already live here. It's less work and money to keep residents than to find new!
Wendy Bourbeau
2 months ago
Although I believe that it is getting better with newer staff, it has been extremely intimidating to voice any issues with my apartment. Mildew smell and bugs were a problem from the beginning and I tried to communicate with kindness and respect I was not given the same communication back. The staff speak loudly and in a condescending manner in front of the whole office with at least 5 other people listening which include all other staff and other residents at times. I can honestly say the person I spoke to on more than 1 occasion was mean and bordering on abusive. I do not like to complain and believe in treating others with kindness, I would think others could at the very least be professional. I moved in to this apartment with the understanding that as soon as the style I preferred was available I would be notified, that has never happened. I am now not even comfortable discussing this with office staff. I could go on and on but I don't want to rant further. Like I said the staff seems to be changing for the better and really hope that that continues.
Marie Maria
5 months ago
I've been living in Walnut Trail Apartments for a few years now and, for the most part, I am comfortable living there. I've only had minor maintenance issues (plugged drain, etc.), and the guys have always been sent out right away to fix whatever was wrong. The leasing office staff are GREAT. I've never had a bad experience with them at all. The maintenance staff do a wonderful job keeping the grounds mowed and looking nice. My only complaint is the smoking. Smokers live above me, and next door, so the warmer months are frustrating. People smoke on their patios, so if I keep my windows open, my curtains and blanket, etc. reek of cigarette smoke. Even with my windows closed, the clean clothes hanging in my closet end up smelling lightly of smoke. The last time I complained about it, I was told it was an issue with air flow. My new neighbors smoke in the hallway which means my living room stinks of smoke some mornings. I've been told they have no intention of going smoke free, so if you have asthma, you may want to rethink Walnut Trail. Otherwise, it's a great place to live.
jj quick
3 months ago
Terrible experience! Might as well be back at the dorms in college. No privacy. Constantly letting themselves into your apartment. Writing violations. Told me I was in violation of my lease by having a window air conditioner in my bedroom. When in the one bedrooms the wall unit is at the furthest location possible from your bedroom. You will need a swamp boat fan if you want to attempt to get cold air into your bedroom. Might as well plan on changing out your sweat soaked sheets often! Also attempted to kick me out due to having a service animal (which is illegal). Was forced to get rid of him. Pay a little extra or shop around. You may think your saving a couple bucks by choosing this apartment community but they only allow you to use there internet, which is terrible and outrageously priced. Dont make the mistake of choosing Walnut Trails!
Emily Byers
3 months ago
I can honestly admit that this is the best apartment complex I've ever stayed in. I've been here for 2 years and am considering signing on for a 3rd. I was desperate for an affordable one bedroom when I got accepted to graduate school and after reading reviews and visiting, Walnut Trail was my top choice. Even after filling out an application 3 months in advance, they were limited on available units. One of the guys in the office, Brian, really pulled strings to make sure I was able to get in. The apartment and the complex is very clean. It's very quiet here, apart from the occasional mowing/weed-whacking in the early morning and the geese (although these are only seasonal). The maintenance is fantastic. Only had to call them twice and they were very prompt and friendly. My only complaints are 1) the noise in the morning. If you have an apartment facing the parking lot, the amount of car alarms and doors being slammed is ridiculous. The car alarms especially seem to be a problem... 2) there are NEVER any parking spots available even remotely close to your building. Fortunately, I don't mind parking a little farther away to avoid door dings. Is frustrating if you have a lot of groceries to carry in, though. 3) The pool is always full of kids. This isn't necessarily a bad thing...just a personal preference. It's hard to go for a swim and relax when kids are canon balling and brushing up against you in the deep end. Overall, I don't really have any founded complaints here. I'll be attempting to move in my parrot at the end of my 2 year lease to see how the complex handles him. If I get the green-light, I'll be signing on for another year. I hope it works out, because I love it here!
Julie Boyer
5 months ago
I really enjoy my apartment here. I'm on the second floor, and I really haven't had to deal with much noise other than the occasional TV turned up a little loud and the creaky front door. I have only had a few maintenance issues since I've lived here (about 9 months), and each time I called someone was sent out within the hour. I only have 2 issues here. For some reason, the box elder bugs are attracted to my window, and my window only. Not my slider, not ANY of the windows around, JUST mine. I had to tape my window shut, because I was killing around 10 bugs a day, on average. It sucks because the weather is just now starting to get nice, but I can't open my bedroom window. Orkin has been here, so the bugs die, but they die AFTER getting inside, so I'm still not comfortable opening my window. They should really look into searching for nests and cutting down all box elder trees, it's awful. My only other grievance is the cost. Units do not have dishwashers, they're quite small, and there's no washer/dryer in unit, so you have to pay $3 a load on top of your rent. My rent plus Internet costs me around $650 a month, which is WAAAY more than it's worth. Besides the bugs and rent, I will be sad to leave when my lease is up.
Shayna Henderson
7 months ago
This place is horrible everything about it sucks i've had to deal with alot of bs and have not even been here for a year. First they moved me into a mold infested apartment, it was so humid. The carpet was soaked and had mold under it, the walls, bath room and even got on my belongings, and it was black mold at that. And they had the nerve to tell me to get a dehumidifier which is $300 or more and they weren't going to take $300 off of my rent which already was $700. I continued to complain and they finally transfered me only because I told them I was pregnant and refused to have my daugther in that environment and they knew I could sue if my daugther got sick. Second apartment that they transfered me too was infested with roaches coming from another tenant in the building. That building was terrible they had about 20 in both apartments above me and under me, so I constantly heard kids running, screaming, fighting, etc. You can smell everything your neighbors cooked so the halls stunk terriably, also those nasty duck birds whatever they are poops everywhere and even on the stairs coming into your building. I constantly called the office for the manager and even constantly called corpprate for them to inspect people apartments but I still had the problem after complain enough I finally got them to break my lease and I will be gone by the end of this month. Oh and also I had someone come into my apartmentor to do a transfer inspection, he was the assistant Manger I believe his name is "JAKE". I had a package in my daugther room that was not open before I left in the morning to go to work and after I returned and seen the slip on the table that he left stating that he came in to do an inspection. I noticed my package was open, which I didn't open because I was going to return it. And of course he denied it. But long story short, they suck all the way around and can't be trusted. Also the laundry room sucks only 4 washers and dryers and you have to pay for use upon your rent. They have alot of spiders and other bugs. There completely out dated. Everything owned by edwarfs and rose sucks I know people who lived in there other properties who say they suck.
Abbz
6 months ago
Walnut Trails isn't that bad. I've lived here for I think 1 1/2 years and honestly it was the cheapest one bedroom I could find in the area. The only complaints I have is it took me constantly calling and coming in the office before I could finally get a apartment. (They claimed after I came in one late afternoon that they were going to call me, even though they had plenty of time and people to have a 5min conversation with me on the phone.) Also I've never used the garbage disposal and it didn't work after I turned it on once. Eventually I called the office to repair it and afterwords the same thing happened. They said it was clogged and after running it a few times it stopped working again. That and always a few days before the rent is due I occasionally get a letter in the mail saying I am close to going over on my internet usage (although I don't spend abnormal amounts on it) Plus during the summer and warmer months my apartment has had a few stick bugs and box elder bugs. But on the plus side last winter my furnace stopped working shortly after I moved in. As soon as I called maintenance (it was almost 9pm so the office was closed) they came right out and fixed it. Since then they installed a new furnace that works awesomely in my apartment complex. I've been a day or two late with rent and nothing bad happened and they are also going to check my plumbing today after leaving a note saying my water usage has been high. My neighbors are mostly quiet, my apartment gets a lot of lighting and plenty of room and the office workers seem pretty friendly. All in all not a bad place to live and one of the more affordable places.
19 more reviews