Country Lake Apartments
335 E 4050 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84107
41 Google user reviews
Eric Haskell
a month ago
Just finished a 1 year lease and couldn't get out fast enough. We needed a place to live and hastily signed a lease here, been regretting it the whole time. Just a couple days before we moved in I got a phone call saying they had to change our apartment. I had already set up all the utilities, mail etc. for the apartment they originally told me; too bad for me I had to change it all again. When we moved in our air conditioner would run all the time or not at all. It took over a week to get a new thermostat installed to fix the problem. The "gated community" sounded great, I liked the idea of having a gate to get in and out of the complex. Problem was it seemed the gate was broken almost as often as it worked. After our first six months in the apartment when I went to pay rent I was told there was an added hundred dollars because we were beyond our lease and had to pay an additional month to month fee. I had to explain several times we signed a 1 year lease (even though I would have been glad to leave after 6 months) before they finally quit asking for the extra hundred. Fees were popping up everywhere for things I didn't want or didn't care to use. Charges for "trash pickup" from my doorstep that I couldn't opt in or out of, common area utilities for common areas I didn't use etc. It seemed the police were in and out several times a week and there was even a fatal officer involved shooting in our building. When we finally got into our new home and out of this complex we felt free, right up until I got the final move out bill. We moved out before our lease ended, but the keys to the apartment accidentally got packed up with everything else. I called and told the management we had moved out but had to find the keys that got boxed up and I would bring them in as soon as I could, she said okay and had gave no indication it was about to cost me more money. I found the keys two days after the lease officially ended and turned them in. Then on my final bill I got charged a hundred dollars for moving out two days after my lease ended. I called and reminded them of the circumstance and was told I had to pay it because until I returned the keys I had "possession of the apartment;" so I had to pay a hundred dollars for two days I didn't live there. Also, what I understood was a hundred dollar deposit when I moved in wasn't applied to anything on the final bill. When I asked about it I was told that wasn't actually a deposit, but an administrative fee and I never paid any deposit. Bottom line, if you are thinking about living here, my opinion is take a hard pass and find somewhere else.
Tiffany Smith
2 months ago
We lived here 5 years ago. It was somewhat normal then, but the new tenants they were letting in were not the sort of people you want anywhere near your kids, home, car, self. They let anyone rent, but never check to see if the nice single person renting a 2 bedroom is the only one living there. There was a whole gang that moved in that way. Just after we moved out a woman was beaten in the back lot by the 2 secluded buildings to the south east. She ran to my friend's apartment and they let her in and called the police. Over the next week they received constant threats from her attackers and they were forced to move for safety. The two buildings that are secluded attract a lot of theft and break-ins. My friend surprised a burglar in the middle of the day and had a fight with him. Management did nothing. Wouldn't even let them out of their contract.
D Chan
2 months ago
MUST READ!!!!! This apartment complex has the shadiest people working for them. I wouldn't recommend living here even to my worst enemy. There's so many things wrong with this place I don't even know where to begin. I guess I'll start with the most absurd and outrageous thing. Upon moving out I received a bill for nearly $300 in "cleaning costs" for moving out. After months of back and fourth phone calls for trying to get the receipts and proof of payment for all these "services" turns out they upped my bill to over $500. $500 to move out?!?! I have never heard of such an outrageous out fee in my life! I left this place cleaner than when I moved in. This bill consisted of the following: $120 for partial paint.. and by partial they mean they repainted the whole apartment even though there was absolutely no need. $65 unit cleaning fee, I called a professional cleaning service and said they would charge around $30 for a job like that. $35 carpet shampoo. $280 for turf/patio damage. Now here's the thing, the patio was damaged before I moved in and also there is normal wear and tear from the weather. Basically they are going to rip you off anyway they can and redo the whole apartment at your cost. Also it being a "gated" community you think you would feel safe right? Wrong. The gates were broken about 90% of the time and also the police basically lived there. Yes there was even a resident shot and killed in one of the buildings. The laundry facility is a joke. Half of the machines are broken while the other half that are working are so dirty and disgusting your clothes will probably come out even more dirty than they are going in. Their duck pond looks like a swamp the water is so thick and dirty you can't even see anything in it, a couple of times I've seen dead ducks floating in there which I am not surprised since it's so dirty. The dog park is more like a few patches of grass and poop everywhere you try and step, not only is there crap all over in the dog park but all over the property anyway. The pool is always filled with duck feather and duck feces as well as it is never heated so it is freezing cold even in the summer time. The walls and floors are so thin you can hear everything that is being said around you. They charge you an extra $25 a month for "valet waste" where they come pick up your trash outside of your door, which half the time they didn't even come. There are dumpsters located very closely to each building, I would much rather take my own garbage out but there is no way of getting around that cost. They also charge an extra fee for your parking spot which in every other apartment I have asked, it is no extra fee. Dogs barking all the time people yelling or blasting music, there is never any peace and quiet. The maintenance consists of basically one guy who never even finishes the job. Also for the "emergency maintenance" the guy lives on the property yet it took him 3 hours to get back to me when I have my toilet flooding because there was a malfunction in the shut off valve. You would think the people who work here actually have a heart and would like to try and help their residents out and try and do whats best for them, but they are just shady and will do anything to rip you off. Oh another thing, after receiving the recipes of all these services they had done, I called those businesses and asked them about the charges and they responded with they are not allowed to talk to me about them, because the apartment management forbid them to. Obviously they are trying to hide something. On one of the receipts they sent me it showed the cleaning costs for other units that had been done that week which was a total of TWELVE move outs in one week! That's a big red flag right there. I filed a complaint against them with the BBB (better business Bureau) and of course they didn't respond. EVERYONE READING THIS SHOULD FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST THEM WITH THE BBB!! let's give them the bad rep they deserve. Oh and their 'attorney' they have is just as shady and dirty as they are. Stay away!
Shaun Tait
2 months ago
This place is a disaster... there was a guy and a lady fighting and breaking stuff in the apartment around 2 am . sounds of glass breaking and throwing stuff all over . and the fight got bigger and louder .. and later tons of their people showed up and the fight got bigger ..there was women screaming and stuff ..their fight lasted for like 4 hours and and the cop didn't even show up until the end ..the people left the area right before the cop came and got away with it easy... they are dark men and women.. they seem like from Nigeria or Jamaica , im not sure where they are from ... if you want to feel unsafe and terrified .. then move to country lake apartments.. right before this incident .. last week there was a stabbing incident in this apartment and it was on the news too ...
Alycia Luna
2 months ago
I was not very impressed at first but now with being here a few months I can see that management is working on getting rid of the bad tenants and working on getting new better ones in. When we have a problem with something Maintenance has been good about getting things fixed. We love the HUGE master bedroom and sinks on the outsides of the bathrooms. Our Puppy loves the dog park.
Jimmy Hansen
2 months ago
I hate this complex, they charge a rate that seems good but when you see how crappy it is you will regret being here. I just went out side and leaned on the railing, guess what? It broke and I almost fell. I was told that it would be fixed when I moved in but nope, all lies to SELL you. Don't believe me then rent it and see what happens lol. I was a fool, are you too?
Candy lynn
4 months ago
We are taking this place to court due to their hidden and erroneous fees. They will do everything possible to keep your deposit, and charge you on top of that. We have pics showing the place immaculate when we moved out. Then when you call they "attorney" the receptionist says you can have papers served there. You can't. They will tell the constable no. Then he has to find the representing agency. They don't want to answer for their actions. Rude staff, duck pond is actually a duck swamp. Absolutely the most horrible, shady, manipulative, scandalous management company that I have ever dealt with. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The only people who give good reviews either just moved in or worked there (look at the review for CJ Oetinger) she was the front person in the office until last year. She noted herself as being awesome not knowing it records your google name for these reviews, lololololololol. Truth.
Taetum Koncar
6 months ago
My boyfriend and I lived there for 3 years and honestly don't know why we stayed as long as we did. The management that was there when we first moved in was absolutely awful. The managers were fired/quit twice while we lived there. We placed multiple maintenance requests that were never done. We asked to be sprayed for spiders and ants on multiple occasions and it was never done. During our first summer, our air conditioner broke, we paid a horrendous power bill, but were promised that it was completely replaced with a new model. The following summer, it broke again. When I asked about it, they told me that it must be me "overusing it", but that they would send someone to check it out. 2 days passed, nothing. Called again and was told that I had never called in. I then had my dad call in the following day, just to have them tell him that I had never called in to explain my issue. The parking is horrible, I would get off work and have to park across the complex. We were forced to pay monthly for "Valet Waste", which is essentially an excuse to be lazy and leave your garbage outside of your door for someone to pick up. When I asked if I could opt out of that, they told me it was mandatory. What kind of complimentary service (that isn't free) is mandatory? Police are constantly there arresting people for drug use, trespassing, etc. You are charged for "Common Area" gas/electric/water, essentially paying for the lights to be on in the laundry room/mail room as well as their rental office. Such a joke! You will be charged a horrendous bill when you leave for things that you shouldn't have been charged for. My advice, do not live here if you want a pleasant place to live.
33 more reviews