University Crossing
2215 College Ave
Manhattan, KS 66502
12 Google user reviews
Daniel Hawk
reviewed in the last week
Nice place, a little too expensive, but good for someone who doesn't have furniture. Not too far from campus, about 20 minutes to walk there. It's not the best place, but it's not the worst.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
This is one of the most reasonably priced apartments in Manhattan. If you get one of the apts towards the back it isn't too noisy. The carpet is crappy and get a foam thing for the bed but you get what you pay for. Good for college students and young unattached people. The staff alway helped me out with no problems.
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
I moved in straight from the dorms thinking that it would be a good choice b/c of the supplied furniture & location near the stadium. After living there for a year, I now know how poorly it is managed. Routine maintenance is terribly slow & usually poorly done. The after-hours answering service is so terrible that it's not even worth calling. The UC will over charge you on everything they can, and frequently impose unnecessary costly fines. The frequent parties around the complex never really bothered me, but I can't even count the number of times I saw fist fights break out in the parking lot areas just as I was standing on my balcony. It was a total zoo at night. I understand that there are a lot of college students living there & some of it is inevitable, but the UC should really hire some type of security personnel on duty. Even when I take a look at the "good" reviews, it seems like it's just the management under fake names trying to bring up the rating. The management staff is completely nice and friendly, but when you bring a real concern to them or have any type of issue, they really don't address your issue, or even try. The front desk girls are not trained well, you can tell are at a loss for words & answers when you ask a question that isn't frequently asked. The internet connection is slow, & even the cable goes out frequently. During every finals week I was forced to go to the library to study b/c the internet connection (that is included in rent) is overloaded & crashed often. During the winter months, every parking lot in Manhattan would have the snow shoveled & cleared, salt on the ice...ect., except for the UC! My car had to be towed out of snow drifts twice, just being parked at the UC, because they didn't bother clearing anything. Overall, this is a terrible place to rent from, I definitely would not recommend it.
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
I lived here for 3 years. I'm not going to say it was out of this world extremely awesome, but I did like it alot. I mean for Manhattan I really enjoyed living here. I read a review that Scott, the manager, was lying to people. I actually think he did a wonderful job. I do understand the common thread that the office staff was flippant about most issues, but I think Scott had it pretty well under control. I would definately recommend this apartment to anyone there. I liked that it was by the rec and stadium and that I didn't have to move in any furniture. I also think they did a great job with roommate placement. I found WONDERFUL friends from my three years there and they even held my spot when I moved out for a study abroad semester. Yes it did get loud at night sometimes, but hey it's a college town and that's what happens. If you go straight to management then they'll get the job done, just don't mess around with the front office staff. But yea overall I had a great experience there.
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
UC is what UC is. A pretty basic, hands off kind of place geared towards young college students. These are the kind of students that understand that they aren't going to get the nicest furniture, because they will probably destroy it anyway, and don't really care all that much about staff service(we never had much of a problem) other than the fact that all the girls are hot(good eye Scott) And hell yes, there are parties. That's what happens when you pack 700 college kids together, most of whom are experiencing their first time living somewhere other than mom and dad's house or the dorm. It's the college experience dudes, come on. If you are finding it a bit too loud for you most nights, chances are you probably should have picked an apartment complex other than the one with 700 kids, big pool, and a reputation for partying. Hell, there are quieter complex's just down the road if that is what you are looking for. Me and my roommates knew what we were getting into and had some of the best times of our college years. I met a ton of people that I am still friends with today. We even managed to do just fine in our classes. And guess what, after a couple years there we were ready to move out to a quieter place with nicer furniture and cleaner toilets. But we still tell stories about the good ol' UC days. So, if you are a grad student with four hours of homework every night, or someone with a full-time job to wake up to every morning, chances are you should look elsewhere, instead of moving in and then writing angry reviews on the internet after you realize that young college kids are gonna have some parties and forget to clean up all their beer cans. Tell you what, go ahead and review yourself, and give yourself one star for being the numbnuts that chose to live there in the first place. -Ben K
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
I lived here for 1 year and i hated it. the apt staff is so totally rude and fake until u sign a lease then than so you they dont give a crap. the maintance staff is so slow and take days to respond if they respond. the after-hours answering service is a complete joke and cant even relay a message. there are constantly parties all over the complex and the cops have to show up and end up just writing tickets for MIC and then as soon as they leave the partying and loud music just starts back. the pool is always packed full of drunk rude people that come from all over manhattan to get drunk and be jerks at the uc pool. if you are not getting an apt with friends then they just throw completely random people in your place no notice when they are coming or going or who they are. the roommate matching system they have is a complete joke. the only right thing about this place was the price. ~~~~~~~~~BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I must say that livin here is the worst descion i have ever made!! it is loud allll the time and when you ask your neighbors to turn their music down they will not do it, and if you tell managment about it nothin happens either! pluss if you live on the lower levels you can hear every single step ppl above you take and when they take showers and flush the toilet. Not to mention the parties every night and the ppl in the parkin lots screamin and crankin up their music and revin up their cars. Now i like to party like everyone else but there is never a single night when i can go to sleep and not be woken up by all this noise! Plus the furniture is very cheap! and some of my appliances do not work very good like the dish washer and it took a ver long time for my leaky sink to be fixed!!
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I've lived at the UC for 2 years now and the working standards and customer service are above and beyond any other place you could desire to live! Thank you for the great experience!
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I dont think anyone that works at the office of the University Crossings or anyone in Manhattan I have come across is a racist, I think the UC is a good place to live a bit pricey though, but the office staff is very helpful, and willing to work with you if need be. Sorry for any misunderstanding...
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
University Crossing hides fees under the category of security deposit. They believe that they have a right to charge 180 for an application fee and an administration fee. They also allowed a cleaning company in to my apartment who stole about $100 worth of belongings. They also forced me and my three roommates to move during the end of the semester a week before my architecture final project was due. I would not ever rent from them because of their unprofessional behavior.
2 more reviews