University Crossing
2215 College Ave
Manhattan, KS 66502
14 Google user reviews
Brianna Chatmon
reviewed a month ago
The only thing I loved about living here is that you could always meet someone new. Other than that the UC'S is a scam every year they raise rent but dont add new features. When I first moved into my apartment it was dirty and smelled like cig smoke and there were cig buds all over the floor and paint stains. My room hadnt been cleaned the previous person left trash behind and condoms. Which caused the most embarrassing conversation with my mother, because she couldn't believe that the UC'S had not checked the apartment and went through to clean each room. The most frustrating part is that they promised several times that the rooms would be clean (my former roommate called several times before moving in and requested that this be done,because of previous stories we heard from other students). Pass moving in everything literally broke within our home in about 3 months. Maintenance were slow moving and only showed up when you went to the office to yell at them. My first red flag about how horrible this place was.. is when our stove wouldn't turn on and they didn't come fix it for about a week, because they didn't feel it was a life or death emergency. The office staff was nice in person but over the phone they could get down right mean and nasty and have attitudes. Another issue that was a complete turn off was the rent and utilities. I lived in an upgraded apartment and the UC'S promoted that they would pay $30 each on our utility bill every month. When you looked closer at the contracts they only did it for the first month and left the rest to you. Not only were expenses high they charged you to pay your rent and also to pay for utilities. We had to pay an extra service fee every month which was a hassle. ANOTHER problem was paying full rent when we first moved in ( Moved in August 14th). Our rent was NEVER pro-rated that first month of August. The Apartment Director claimed that they charged full rent,because if they prorated the rent it would throw off the balance causing us to pay more money. 1. that doesnt MAKE any sense at all 2. They scammed us BIG TIME. There favorite line to us is "read the contracts" , but when your a college student you do not have the time to read very long boring wordy and complicated contracts. You want a safe place to live and be comfortable in. The staff and office put on a big show NEVER TRUST THEM. The apartments they show you are clean and in tip top shape. Ask to view a home from real residents and you will see how poor of quality everything is made out of. Noise level? HOT MESS if you are looking for somewhere quiet and comfortable to live forget about it. The police was a frequent sight and people got drunk EVERYDAY and were loud and obnoxious. I seen several physical fights occur outside and there were always screaming matches between residents and their company. The rodent issues is very REAL in the UC'S I've never in my life seen so many wild animals and BUGS( in apartments) roaming freely at night on the property. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE ATA BUS. The UC'S are so scandalous they never paid for the red route for the ATA bus services. Meaning there was one tiny bus that went back and forth to campus on very inconvenient hours that everyone would try and cram on too. Which is crazy, because they were charging so much for rent and didn't approve any of their services or apartments. I HIGHLY recommend not living here and dealing with the drama. There are closer , affordable, and more cleaner options near campus. I wish I could give this place a ZERO.
Blaine Smith
reviewed a month ago
Absolutely despise places like this. Lucky to have never lived there from what I am reading. Called to check on their short-term lease (<6 months) options that they advertise online at a given price. When I called to check they said they didn't have any 4 month units but they did have 6 month units available (what a crock) then told me any of these units would have to be an extra $75/month from the advertised price even though the online price is supposedly for the short-term lease units. Obviously a business based on the, "Just get them in the door and we'll take it from there" philosophy.
Daniel Hawk
reviewed 2 months ago
Nice place, a little too expensive, but good for someone who doesn't have furniture. Not too far from campus, about 20 minutes to walk there. It's not the best place, but it's not the worst.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
This is one of the most reasonably priced apartments in Manhattan. If you get one of the apts towards the back it isn't too noisy. The carpet is crappy and get a foam thing for the bed but you get what you pay for. Good for college students and young unattached people. The staff alway helped me out with no problems.
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
I lived here for 3 years. I'm not going to say it was out of this world extremely awesome, but I did like it alot. I mean for Manhattan I really enjoyed living here. I read a review that Scott, the manager, was lying to people. I actually think he did a wonderful job. I do understand the common thread that the office staff was flippant about most issues, but I think Scott had it pretty well under control. I would definately recommend this apartment to anyone there. I liked that it was by the rec and stadium and that I didn't have to move in any furniture. I also think they did a great job with roommate placement. I found WONDERFUL friends from my three years there and they even held my spot when I moved out for a study abroad semester. Yes it did get loud at night sometimes, but hey it's a college town and that's what happens. If you go straight to management then they'll get the job done, just don't mess around with the front office staff. But yea overall I had a great experience there.
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
UC is what UC is. A pretty basic, hands off kind of place geared towards young college students. These are the kind of students that understand that they aren't going to get the nicest furniture, because they will probably destroy it anyway, and don't really care all that much about staff service(we never had much of a problem) other than the fact that all the girls are hot(good eye Scott) And hell yes, there are parties. That's what happens when you pack 700 college kids together, most of whom are experiencing their first time living somewhere other than mom and dad's house or the dorm. It's the college experience dudes, come on. If you are finding it a bit too loud for you most nights, chances are you probably should have picked an apartment complex other than the one with 700 kids, big pool, and a reputation for partying. Hell, there are quieter complex's just down the road if that is what you are looking for. Me and my roommates knew what we were getting into and had some of the best times of our college years. I met a ton of people that I am still friends with today. We even managed to do just fine in our classes. And guess what, after a couple years there we were ready to move out to a quieter place with nicer furniture and cleaner toilets. But we still tell stories about the good ol' UC days. So, if you are a grad student with four hours of homework every night, or someone with a full-time job to wake up to every morning, chances are you should look elsewhere, instead of moving in and then writing angry reviews on the internet after you realize that young college kids are gonna have some parties and forget to clean up all their beer cans. Tell you what, go ahead and review yourself, and give yourself one star for being the numbnuts that chose to live there in the first place. -Ben K
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I lived here for 1 year and i hated it. the apt staff is so totally rude and fake until u sign a lease then than so you they dont give a crap. the maintance staff is so slow and take days to respond if they respond. the after-hours answering service is a complete joke and cant even relay a message. there are constantly parties all over the complex and the cops have to show up and end up just writing tickets for MIC and then as soon as they leave the partying and loud music just starts back. the pool is always packed full of drunk rude people that come from all over manhattan to get drunk and be jerks at the uc pool. if you are not getting an apt with friends then they just throw completely random people in your place no notice when they are coming or going or who they are. the roommate matching system they have is a complete joke. the only right thing about this place was the price. ~~~~~~~~~BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A Google User
reviewed 3 years ago
I moved in straight from the dorms thinking that it would be a good choice b/c of the supplied furniture & location near the stadium. After living there for a year, I now know how poorly it is managed. Routine maintenance is terribly slow & usually poorly done. The after-hours answering service is so terrible that it's not even worth calling. The UC will over charge you on everything they can, and frequently impose unnecessary costly fines. The frequent parties around the complex never really bothered me, but I can't even count the number of times I saw fist fights break out in the parking lot areas just as I was standing on my balcony. It was a total zoo at night. I understand that there are a lot of college students living there & some of it is inevitable, but the UC should really hire some type of security personnel on duty. Even when I take a look at the "good" reviews, it seems like it's just the management under fake names trying to bring up the rating. The management staff is completely nice and friendly, but when you bring a real concern to them or have any type of issue, they really don't address your issue, or even try. The front desk girls are not trained well, you can tell are at a loss for words & answers when you ask a question that isn't frequently asked. The internet connection is slow, & even the cable goes out frequently. During every finals week I was forced to go to the library to study b/c the internet connection (that is included in rent) is overloaded & crashed often. During the winter months, every parking lot in Manhattan would have the snow shoveled & cleared, salt on the ice...ect., except for the UC! My car had to be towed out of snow drifts twice, just being parked at the UC, because they didn't bother clearing anything. Overall, this is a terrible place to rent from, I definitely would not recommend it.
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I must say that livin here is the worst descion i have ever made!! it is loud allll the time and when you ask your neighbors to turn their music down they will not do it, and if you tell managment about it nothin happens either! pluss if you live on the lower levels you can hear every single step ppl above you take and when they take showers and flush the toilet. Not to mention the parties every night and the ppl in the parkin lots screamin and crankin up their music and revin up their cars. Now i like to party like everyone else but there is never a single night when i can go to sleep and not be woken up by all this noise! Plus the furniture is very cheap! and some of my appliances do not work very good like the dish washer and it took a ver long time for my leaky sink to be fixed!!
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
I've lived at the UC for 2 years now and the working standards and customer service are above and beyond any other place you could desire to live! Thank you for the great experience!
4 more reviews