Summit View Village
17600 W 14th Ave
Golden, CO 80401
23 Google user reviews
Riley Moses
3 months ago
Lived here for a year and a half, ending in October 2015. I don't really have any significant complaints about the place. It wasn't the cheapest but I don't think it was terrible. I never had any noise or maintenance issues. They do allow smoking which can be unfortunate depending on your neighbors. The paint used in our apartment seemed to like to stick to things if they sat on a shelf or leaned on a wall for too long. The unit would stay warm in the winter if you cranked the heat up, but the thermostat was by no means accurate (pretty old). I hated the wall AC. Never had any problems with management, and there was almost always someone there to give us our packages even late at night. They repainted/refinished the outsides of all the buildings while I was here, which was nice to see. The interiors are a bit dated though. I just moved out last week so I haven't heard anything about my deposit, we'll see how that turns out.
Emily G
6 months ago
I lived in Summit View for one year. It was terrible. First off, my roommates and I were extremely overcharged for the apartment we got (seeing as it was one of the only properties left to rent in Golden, we were pretty much forced into it). The website advertised beautiful apartments that looked nothing like what we had, and extremely misleading pictures of their facilities (the club house, for the employees, was beautiful. The gym, however, is a non-air conditioned closet with equipment from the 80s and the pool was never as clean as in the pictures). The pool at the club house was usually covered in dead bugs and other nasties. The laundry room had enough washers and dryers, but the washers ALL smelled like mildew and the dryers would sometimes not even dry your clothes even though you payed! Our apartment was poorly maintained, extremely dirty when we moved in (the carpet turned my white socks brown, not exaggerating), and not worth the money (AND THE RENT KEEPS GOING UP!). It didn't look anything like the pictures on the inside, the kitchen was dirty and the wall paint actually had hair stuck in it all over the place. The AC was pathetic and the heat didn't work at all.The walls were so thin or the vents were connected or something, but I could hear my neighbors shower, talk, playing music, etc. There was always a draft, our AC unit was not properly insulated and their solution was legitimately grocery store bags and pipe insulator. Also for some reason you could feel the wind blowing out from under the bathroom sink?? It was miserably hot in the summer, and freezing cold in the winter. The most frustrating of all, the internet was absolutely terrible. We had Comcast, and even with an alternate router (rather than the one from Comcast) the connection was so slow you had to be in the same room as the router for pages to load, and forget trying to do homework if someone else is watching Netflix. I have also heard from Century Link customers that their experience was no different. If you need a useful connection, plug into the Ethernet or try again at 3am. The management at the Leasing Office was frustrating to deal with, even quite rude sometimes, they often "lost" our mail/packages (obviously didn't look hard enough in the back room), and were not at all helpful when there were billing issues. Upkeep was awful, they snowplowed the parking lots (loudly) at all hours of the night and there was constantly construction going on taking up parking spots. Finally, to add insult to injury, when we moved out as soon as the lease ended, we didn't get back ANY of our security deposit due to "outstanding fees", I still have no idea where they came from.
Rachel E
10 months ago
I lived here for about a year and it was decent for the money. I loved Golden. I am huge into hiking so the property was perfectly located for me. The apartment wasn't great, but its not brand new so you should know that going in and I'm ok with that. The parking here sucks, I could never find a parking spot I always had to park several buildings away. Since I was always out hiking or walking I would say that the grounds of the apartments could use help, there is always so much dog poop all over its gross. No one picks up after there dogs and the the maintenance doesn't really either, at least not on a regular basis. The inside staff was very nice, the really young girl in the office always looked like she just crawled out of bed. She never could really answer my questions so she always had to go to the asst manager for help, and she always had the answer. The asst. manager always seemed like she was working alone. Whenever I put in a work order it got done pretty quickly. The maintenance here was pretty good for the most part. It seemed like they got a couple new guys that were doing a good job and then I left but they seemed to do much better then the old maintenance guys they had. Over all the I had a good experience. The price is great compared to the other paces in Golden.
Dayna Lucas
10 months ago
I hate this place! Maintenence sucks. Last night it snowed 1 inch and they decided to snow plow at 1am. It was so loud it woke everyone up. The grounds look like shit cuz the staff won't clean it. The office staff is lazy and pretends like they don't give a shit about u. DO NOT LIVE HERE. There are so many cracks and stuff in every wall that cold air leaks through in the winter. And it's way to expensive for how small and shitty this place is. DO NOT LIVE HERE!
Ryan Tyndall
10 months ago
Before I start criticizing the organization, I would like to start by saying a few good things about them. First, the manager of the complex, Lisa, is very nice. Although at first Heidi was extremely rude, she eventually warmed up and was easier to work with. Overall, the neighbors are good and the location is great. Now on to the bad..... First, there was mold growing in my apartment at time of move in. They resolved the issue by spraying bleach water on it without performing proper remediation. Eventually they had an inspector come in to test for mold but still no remediation. At time of move out, when I moved my bed away from the wall, there was mold growing through the drywall from the outside wall. They seem to have very little concern for your health, even after I complained multiple times. Second, the shower was disgusting and the shower head did not spray very well. There was mold growing in the reservoir of our toilet at time of move in and it took them FOUR attempts to properly install a replacement toilet. The toilet was leaking due to their faulty installs yet at one point they accused us of throwing water on the ground by the toilet to try to get out of the lease. That being said, the maintenance crew is very unprofessional and incompetent. The piping in their buildings is EXTREMELY old. When we were moving out, the kitchen sink outflow pipe burst due to its deterioration (inside had a rust like color) when a plastic spray bottle knocked into it. The water tasted very weird and I am concerned about contaminants from the piping. The closet doors constantly came off the tracks and they would put a bandaid on it instead of actually fixing the issue. The dish washer didn't actually clean the dishes, we had to revert to hand washing everything. The shared laundry machines were DISGUSTING and I really do believe my cloths would come out dirtier then they would go in. I would find white stains (who knows what from, maybe soap or scum buildup) on my cloths from the washing machines. I could not regulate the heat in my apartment due to the busted thermostat. When I told the office about it, maintenance gave us a space heater as a fix. Well, space heaters use a lot of energy (which i had to pay for) and that only works when the apartment is too cold. The leasing process was predatory. They make you put a deposit on an apartment without showing you the establishment within two hours of contacting you. I understand there's a supply and demand mismatch but it does not mean that your organization has to take advantage of people because of it. I never once swam in the pool because it was poorly maintained and very dirty. They claim their prices are cheap but I am still living in golden and I am paying the same amount as their one bedroom for a two bedroom of MUCH higher quality. I sincerely recommend that you only live here only as a last resort and take the absolute shortest lease possible so you can move into a different establishment as soon as one opens up.
Taylor Blaha
11 months ago
These apartments aren't even close to being worth the money. The rent keeps rising and the property value is decreasing. The pool is mildewy all summer, the hot tub is lukewarm, there is dog crap everywhere and the staff makes excuses for everything with a fake smile. Especially the red head. Maintenance "sometimes" gets to your maintenance requests and usually it's mediocre work. The views are the only good thing. Oh and they have a tow company tow cars randomly whenever they need to make a buck. Home sweet home, yeah right it's a joke.
Ian Holdeman
a year ago
Summit View Village is definitely just ok. I'll start with the good things. 1) Cool, recently remodeled community center with pool, pool table, tons of washers/dryers, and a small library filled with old textbooks (useful if you're a Mines student). 2) Great views of the mountains if you can manage to find the right apartments. 3) Great location within Golden (easy access to Golden proper to the north and Lakewood to the south). 4) There's a storage facility built in to the apartment complex, so thats nice and close if you need it. And now for the bad. 1) The management is incredibly disorganized. Watch out for odd charges On the plus side, if you really try and reason with them, they'll likely drop the charge. Another circumstance that sort of alleviates this issue is that a skyline corporate office is next door. 2) The apartments are incredibly dark. I lived in a basement apartment as well as a top floor, vaulted ceilings one and both were very dark. 3) The outdoor staircases are all really old, the stairs aren't even, and they are also really dark. The outdoor lighting doesn't get replaced as often as it should, so there's often a creepy-flashing-fluorescent-light-horror-movie vibe to the place. The concrete outdoor hallways don't drain properly, so when it rains or when snow melts, you have to go puddle jumping to get to your apartment. 4) The plumbing often has issues in the buildings that are at the bottom of the hill. 5) The air conditioning doesn't keep up in the summer and the heat doesn't keep up in the winter. 6) They've made attempts at controlling the parking availability there, but their efforts don't actually work very well. The towing service they use seems to never be there, so if you work late/study on campus late/or go out and party, expect to park at Subway/Pizza Hut. 7) Whether you are using Centurylink or Comcast, expect your internet and TV to be finicky. There always seems to be problems getting signal from the ISP into the apartment. In summary, this place kinda sucks. However, by far the best for the money (Fox Hill, Golden Ridge, Golden Arms, etc. are all worse). If you want better, you're going to spend a lot more or live in Lakewood or Applewood or farther).
Julie Pepe
a year ago
I've lived at Summit View Village for two years and it has been fine. The apartment is totally sterile and generic but the location is great. The office staff have always been helpful and though I've only had a couple of minor maintenance requests they attended to them within 2 days (usually next day). The rent is a bit high for what you get in terms of the apartment itself. It is clear they expect a quick turnover of residents and therefore, the appliances and carpet/tiling are cheap and easily replaced. The kitchen countertops are just painted over and not actual countertops and everything is the most glaring white that it hurts to look at it. I live on a top floor end unit and only rarely hear my neighbors. I do now have a smoker living below me and that is annoying as the smell of smoke does drift in. I haven't bothered to complain as I'm moving in just a couple of weeks. The AC unit will only really cool the main room and due to a lack of cross breeze the rest of the apartment stays pretty warm. My place has always been nice and warm in winter with low heating costs but I also get sun for a good part of the day. The only other issue is pet rent. It is pretty pricy and they have a non-refundable pet deposit which is also annoying (I have a very well behaved non-desctructive dog and it sucks knowing I won't get that part of my deposit back). Though it is not going to win any awards for nicest complex in Golden, I've had a good experience here.
15 more reviews