Monte Verde Apartments
3601 E McDowell Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85008
37 Google user reviews
Christina Vanderslice
a week ago
I've lived here for a year. As a resident of this HORRIBLE place I urge you to RUN. DO NOT LIVE HERE. My apartment was infested with roaches and my neighbor told me of the horrors that happened in this unit. The infestation was horrible and when I moved in dried roach poop covered the walls. There are specks of poop everywhere you look and when you think you got it all clean you find more. They didn't bother to paint my unit at all, thankfully I did have new carpet. I spent the first 6 months killing what was left in the unit. I finally got the problem under control with no help from the office. FIRE ALARMS WEEKLY. There are building alarms that sound very loudly for fire. I'm so used to them at this point that I don't take them seriously at all. The first time one went off I rushed and grabbed my children and loaded them in the stroller, got a bag of clothes and was in a complete panic. I stood outside in the heat of the summer for an hour waiting for the fire trucks. The firefighters came and said it was a false alarm and that the alarm would be turned off. I waited for over an hour with ear piercing alarms going off inside the unit and outside the building. This happened again a second time, this time I just waited outside with my kids no bags packed. False alarm again. Third time this happens and another false alarm. I then cover the alarm speaker in my unit with a thick towel and duct tape to muffle the sound, its still very loud but no longer ear piercing and allows us to stay in the apartment while the alarm is sounding. There have been days this alarm will sound 2-3 times. One day they did maintenance on them and it would go on and off for 30min. No notice was provided that we could expect this annoyance. At this point when they sound I wait by my window to see the fire department come and run out to see if they think I need to evacuate. Even the fire department is annoyed by the weekly multiple trips to this complex. If there really was a fire I would not know it because the alarms sound so often. After a large windy storm we get a notice on our door that trash was found near our building at that if it continues a fine will be given. The dumpster is right next to the building and the storm caused the trash to blow. They sent a notice that cigarette butts have been collecting near the building and that if it should continue ALL RESIDENTS in the building would be EVICTED! We promptly went to the office and found out this was there way of finding the person who was responsible because non smokers would be angry and complain that they don't smoke and the smokers would be the silent ones. So, if you are innocent make sure you make noise about a notice on your door or it will make you look guilty. Maintenance is needed on a monthly bases to fix problems with cheap parts on faucets and doors. They just keep repairing a part that really should be completely replaced. Expect just one knock on your door and the maintenance guy will use his key and walk right in. I've made it clear when calling for a repair that if I don't answer I don't give permission to enter if I'm not there. One day I came home to find a maintenance guy working when I was told he would be there the next day. Imagine being alone, female and walk into your apartment to find a man who shouldn't be there. I promptly told him to leave. No matter how many times we say NO PERMISSION TO ENTER they help themselves to enter. We have asked for a fire extinguisher twice now. They come to inspect them and we've told them we don't have one. They say one will be given but that hasn't happened. We are missing a smoke detector and that hasn't been replaced either. One closet has NO DOORS! They have been missing since move in. The Master Closet door is cheap and hung off the hinge and didn't stay closed. DO NOT LIVE HERE! Worst place I've ever lived in my life.
Chanel Smith
a month ago
I don't understand what is up with the bad reviews. People hate it but live here for 4 years? I have lived here for 2 years and will be renewing. the apartments are upgraded and so cheap. Also location is central and close to everything! Office and maintenance have always been nice and helpful!
Claudia Ramirez
a week ago
I actually visited this establishment and saw sewer roaches by the mail boxes.. also Chanel ( the only person that gave this place 5 stars) don't you work here ? That's unprofessional but by all means go on about how you live here and love it, i'm enthused.
Ferria Sultani
a month ago
I have lived here for almost a year and have had nothing but trouble here. The day I moved in, it was 112 degrees outside, and the A/C was not working. It was 107 inside my apartment. There was cockroach everywhere!! This place is the worst place to every live i would never recommend it to anyone. The management is HORRIBLE. the maintenance guys are AWESOME!! Everyone in the office is horrible. I am glad i am moving. I would never come back! it's suppose to be a gated community but the gates have been broken for almost 6 months now.
Brad Lewis
a year ago
**WARNING** DO NOT MOVE HERE! I have lived here for 4 months now and have had nothing but trouble here. The day I moved in, it was 112 degrees outside, and the A/C was not working. It was 107 inside my apartment. It had not been cleaned AT ALL. There was dried cockroach poop all over EVERY wall inside the unit. Both bathroom faucets were leaking gallons of water a day, and were covered in grime and filth. There were termite tunnels popping out of the master bathroom walls on ALL sides. The window screens were all torn up, and did not provide the function they were supposed to. The exhaust fan under the microwave was so full of roach crap, it sprayed it out towards you when you turned it on. Multiple closet doors in the bedrooms were either damaged, or missing altogether. So, you might say that is what maintenance is for, right? WRONG, not at Monte Verde. Maintenance here is just for playing speed-racer on their golf carts, and parking them in your assigned space. Instead of fixing the problems courteously and promptly, the snotty girls would rather argue with you, belittle you, and threaten you. I guess I am just lucky they allowed me to live in their apartment community, and I should just deal with noise, filth, and incompetence. To add to your expected experience if you are dumb enough to rent here, you get to smell cigarettes and pot everywhere you walk, step in giant piles of dog crap, and have to listen to loud leaf blowers almost every morning at 7am. I really don't get the leaf blowers, since the property has so few trees. I almost think they do that just to torture their residents so they are too tired to realize what a disgusting place they live in. I just had my garbage disposal (which was filthy the day I moved in) go out, leaving bits of food and standing water in my sink. I complained about it yesterday to the assistant manager Yavira and was promised it would be fixed then. No call and no show. I then call today and get another snotty girl to tell me that they didn't have a maintenance guy today, and would have to wait 2 more days. My place now smells like a sewer, and I can't use my kitchen. In closing, you would be better off living in a rent-by-the-week motel, than living in this hellhole. Rent here at your own risk.
Shantay Overstreet
8 months ago
I constantly got conflicting information from different people. I never had to pay it, but the late fee is $75.00, which I wasn't told until I signed the lease. I had unresolved maintenance issues. It was quiet, but became way to loud before I moved. I had to jump around like I was playing hop-scotch many times because people don't clean up after their dogs. There was constantly trash in my hallway. But, it's easy to get in and the cabinetry and appliances are really nice.
Jaren Foote
a year ago
DO NOT MOVE HERE! Everyone is loud as hell and has no common sense. First week here, gun shots were fired at 3am, a group of thugs were yelling at each other and having a fist fight from 1am-4am, and thugs were playing music loud as crap at the pool (which is in the middle of everyones places) while smoking weed and yelling. Smells like weed or cigarettes everywhere you go and everyone has loud, untrained dogs that just leave crap everywhere. Oh and not to mention the gates they have here, 90% of us do not even have a gate opener to get into our own place. Do not even try to get anything fixed by the repair men either. They will just say everything is fine. Everything that could go wrong, went wrong. STAY AWAY!
Micah Steiner
a year ago
I am still currently living here and I can easily say that i will not be renewing my lease. First off, when i took a tour of the place, they showed me what my floor plan will look like. After i signed the lease, they ended up putting me in a totally different floor plan that was significantly smaller than the one they had showed me and excused it as "the name of the floor plan is the same, but the sizes vary"... 100+ sqft is a huge vary. The parking here is horrid and people will park in YOUR covered parking spot... getting it towed is a pain in the ass and usually never works. My friend left the trash out front of the door for 30 minutes (till i got home) and they were going to fine us, Yet they look the other way when the neighbors are smoking weed and hotbox the hallway every night... Not a safe environment (but i knew that going in). Kids run wild around here, dog crap everywhere. You also get a different rent due every month. I payed the rent they posted on my online portal and then got a late notice saying that i owed differently.... I went in to pay the difference and management apologized for "having retards that dont know how to add up rent properly)... I cant wait to move, but i have till the end of December :(
29 more reviews