The Element
6730 4th Ave
Sacramento, CA 95817
University/65th Street Station (EB)
23 Google user reviews
anoill youkhaneh
reviewed 3 months ago
This apartment housing offers great amenities suitable for students. This place is always clean and well maintained and the staff of very friendly. its very close to Sacramento State and target is right across the street. having a computer room and a gym and also a shuttle to campus is definitely a plus in my book. Anoill
Kelsey Wadsworth
reviewed 8 months ago
This Place is the biggest joke ever. You pay way to much to live here, not counting all the little fees they always try to get you on. Everything you have wrong with your apartment its a big deal to fix. I would not recommend this place to ANYONE, unless you like bing treated like children and getting screwed over.
Charissa Guynes
reviewed a year ago
I've lived here for two years and haven't had a problem. Target is right across the street and Sac State is a fifteen minute walk if you decided to not take their shuttle. I personally like living here and will continue to do so until I graduate.The grounds are nice and well maintained and the staff is nice and helpful. It is expensive but you get what you pay for, fully furnished, kitchen appliances included, internet, cable, etc.
Vanessa Enriquez
reviewed a year ago
DO NOT LIVE HERE. YOU WILL GET SCREWED. First of all, $595 a month (not including smud and PG&E) is way too much for the room you get (I live in a 4x2). The gym is awful, the computer lab always seems to be out of ink. The staff never really seems to be doing much, but apparently they're too busy to change the ink frequently and too busy to really care about your apartment issues (They'll always tell you to write a stupid statement or something). Angela seems like she'll charge you for everything. Mind you the staff are a bunch of college students, so there you go. When my roommates and I went to sign the lease, nobody clarified that dogs were not allowed in the 3 or 4 bedroom units. (This was the only reason why I wanted to live here). Their website says Pet Friendly - breed restrictions, 40lbs and under, pet fee applies- but says nothing about the 1 or 2 bedroom units only. In the lease agreement you sign, it says NOTHING about pets at all. If you call and tell them you were told pets were allowed, they'll tell you that oral agreements do not count towards your lease agreement, followed by "It's in our company policy." They're company policy states NO DOGS ARE ALLOWED ON THE PREMISES. No dogs are allowed on the premises, yet there is a field with a nice little poop station in the middle of the complex. So who are they to pick and choose who gets to have pets? I asked the manager this and she stated that The Element is owned by some other company and that the policy applies to other structures.. or some stupid story she gave me. I snuck my dog in and one of my roommates told the management that I had a "large dog" (she was only 24lbs), hence I needed to get rid of her. Funny thing is, my roommate also had a dog at the time, but management said that she was keeping it in someone else's apartment. My question: Who is paying for the pet deposit? Whoever's dog it is should be paying it, no? And she can't be paying for it under someone else's room, because that would mean that two people are occupying that space (violating the lease agreement). And if the person under the lease is paying for the dog, they know it's my roommate's because my roommate TOLD them it was hers. Interesting... Needless to say, I received a piece of paper saying I needed to get rid of the dog and that I was in violation of my lease agreement (Paragraph 16 to be exact). Go look at the lease agreement: It's a paragraph about maintenance, not pets. The staff here really feels like they're above the law. Did I mention that maintenance came into our apartment without notice? Management said it was for a work order, but the work order was taken care of a week prior. I brought all of this to the manager's attention, and her response, "I don't know what point you're trying to make." Management is completely stupid. They'll take advantage if you don't read the contract carefully and ask questions. Have someone there with you who knows a thing or two about contracts. Don't make the same mistake I did.
Emmett Moore
reviewed a year ago
worst place in Sacremento , Staff rude, Ask a question, they say you must write a letter, ask about charges, write a letter, They never return a deposit, and will not give an accounting oF reason for charges. Claimed 300 dollars to clean one room of carpet. Corprate office in Dallas Texas, never return calls. ONE BIG RIPOFF
A Google User
reviewed a year ago
I lived in the element and had many problems. First, the carpet hadn't been changed for more than 4 years and was dirty and messy since I was moving in with people who were already living there. They tried to charge me and my roommates who had also arrived there at around the same time to pay for a new carpet. One of my roommates smoked pot the all the time in the house even when we asked him not to since we hated the smell. The manager Angela told us we had to clean our apartment or else she'd evict us and still make us pay the rest of our contract. The washing machine broke, and when they replaced it, they replaced it with another broken washing machine that wouldn't work and told us if "we" broke the washing machine again we had to pay a fee for it. We got cockroaches in the apartment from the hole in the wall they made while removing the washing machine, which eventually led to a mouse problem which she told us was our fault for having a messy home. During the summer, there's a foul smell whenever you get near the buildings. If you talk in the office to anyone they'll talk down to you. International students beware, they are in cahoots with one of the Sac state professors and they pay him a commission of 200 dollars to help them fill up their rooms, which is why there are many Korean exchange students blindly moving into the element (on an even more enraging note, one of my friends who lived there was recommended by another person but the element assumed because she was Korean that the professor recommend her and gave him the money that she wanted to give to her friend for recommending her). One of my roommates tried to break the lease, but they told him he wasn't allowed to and even if he left he had to pay the rest of the lease right away, around 3k. Finally, no matter how spotless you leave your apartment when you leave, they will take at least 70 dollars from the deposit to pay for the cleaning from every person living in the house.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
Great place and very affordable. Even though when I first moved the carpet was disgusting. They finally changed everything with a new carpet.Now the apartment looks amazing. Now location is horrible in my opinion. Just advising people that aren't from CA and thinking about moving to Sacramento. Please please dont it. Eps international students. You need a car here , the light rail is gross and only homeless people take it and cabs are expensive for no reason. Sacramento just sucks really. I REPEAT! international students or non drivers , do not move here you will regret it. speaking from experience.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
This place was a complete joke. They try to charge you for any and everything. As far as their "security" guards, my car got broken into and they refused to check the security cameras, and my bike got stolen. Also you can find the guards on the street behind the element smoking pot with students. Real classy. You can't talk to any of the workers because frankly you can't get ahold of them. They tried to charge my roommate 500 bucks for having a pet. A "pet" fish.... That should tell you enough right there.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
Do not rent here. The Element may look nice and well maintaied from the outside, but that's a different case from what it actually is. When I first leased, the apartment was dirty and they didn't even bother cleaning it. Maintenance takes forver to complete requests, and they don't even repair it correctly. I asked them to repair the lighting fixture in the kitchen and they didn't even do it correctly, because the bulb still doesn't come on. I chose this place mainly for location and because of the shuttles. Half the time the shuttles don't even come on time. The staff told me that the shuttle comes every 15 minutes on all days, but they lied because they come every 30 minutes on some days. Not only are the staff students, they do not know what they are doing. When signing my lease they took forever to complete it because they wanted to do it online instead in writing. They even told me they didn't know how the online lease signing works and had me waiting in their office for more than an hour. They finally signed the lease in paper, which I originally wanted and we could have skipped the wait. Thier 'gym' and 'computer lab' are jokes. The anemities suck. The gym is only like a couple of treadmills in a small room. My own apartment is not that great. The walls are extremely thin, and the people above me are loud. In my roomate's bathroom, the vents would leak out this orange water and my roomate made a workorder which took more than a week to complete. The staff even said that it is normal for the orange water to come out from the ceiling, which is absolutely disgusting. There is always a fight in the parking lot, and security does not seem to care. The place is also very expensive compared to other apartments in the area. I would rent an apartment in a different area because the rent is way cheaper.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
I lived in the element and had many problems. First, the carpet hadn't been changed for more than 4 years and was dirty and messy since I was moving in with people who were already living there. They tried to charge me and my roommates who had also arrived there at around the same time to pay for a new carpet. One of my roommates smoked pot the all the time in the house even when we asked him not to since we hated the smell. The manager Angela told us we had to clean our apartment or else she'd evict us and still make us pay the rest of our contract. The washing machine broke, and when they replaced it, they replaced it with another broken washing machine that wouldn't work and told us if "we" broke the washing machine again we had to pay a fee for it. We got cockroaches in the apartment from the hole in the wall they made while removing the washing machine, which eventually led to a mouse problem which she told us was our fault for having a messy home. During the summer, there's a foul smell whenever you get near the buildings. If you talk in the office to anyone they'll talk down to you. International students beware, they are in cahoots with one of the Sac state professors and they pay him a commission of 200 dollars to help them fill up their rooms, which is why there are many Korean exchange students blindly moving into the element (on an even more enraging note, one of my friends who lived there was recommended by another person but the element assumed because she was Korean that the professor recommend her and gave him the money that she wanted to give to her friend for recommending her). One of my roommates tried to break the lease, but they told him he wasn't allowed to and even if he left he had to pay the rest of the lease right away, around 3k. Finally, no matter how spotless you leave your apartment when you leave, they will take at least 70 dollars from the deposit to pay for the cleaning from every person living in the house.
13 more reviews