Provenza at Southwood Apartments
3550 Esplanade Way
Tallahassee, FL 32311
23 Google user reviews
5 months ago
I recently moved to a house from here after staying for a year. This place has highly responsive and nice managers and maintenance staff. Overall, the place kept up extremely well and the apartments are in great condition. The residents tend to be rather friendly and interesting too. My 2 bedroom apartment was a good deal pricewise compared to other apartments that are similar in quality or less. My two suggestions to corporate would be this: (1) some of the units are priced higher than top quality houses in the area and (2) the company should consider promoting some more flexible contract terms for customers after their first year to distinguish them from the competition. I would discuss this last point if corporate contacted me.
R. J.
6 months ago
I've lived here for a few years now. The management change last year was rocky, and the office staff has all been replaced. But the grounds are well kept, and the apartments themselves are pretty new. it's by far the nicest place I've stayed in tallahassee. If you can afford the price tag, I would recommend it.
jane jackson
4 months ago
We were living here before the "takeover" and since. We can honestly attest to the accuracy of all the 1 star reviews (the 5 stars are obviously biased or delusional). We only have one message to pass along "SECTION 8!!!" If you think that because you're living in Southwood and paying high rent, in what "appears" to be safe and luxurious...BEWARE and be certain to ask, "Does Provenza rent to Section 8?" The answer is YES! Section 8 is a government program that allows private landlords to rent apartments and homes at fair market rates to qualified low income tenants, with a rental subsidy administered by Home Forward. “Section 8” is a common name for the Housing Choice Voucher Program, funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Mj B
5 months ago
I have been living here for one year (since June 2015) and am shocked at the negative reviews. I moved here after the Greystar takeover, so I don't know what the previous staff was like. However, I have had nothing but a positive experience with the current staff. They are always friendly and address any questions/issues. I called when the A/C wasn't working and maintenance was sent immediately. As far as the renovations go, the pool was completed during the winter so it was too cold to swim anyway. The pool, by the way, is awesome. It's a zero entry pool, which is great for kids. And somehow, it's hardly every crowded. I've spent a lot of time there and in the past year, I've only seen it crowded once. My apartment is on the 3rd floor so I can't speak for noise above, but I have never had noise issues with my neighbors on either side. There is plenty of parking and the grounds are kept clean. I love it here and have 0 complaints. This is one of the nicest places in Tallahassee and well worth the money. The staff, amenities, grounds, and my apartment are all great!
V Wigham
8 months ago
Please know this is the first review I've ever written about anything. That is how strongly I feel about the following.. I lived at Delaney Park from 2009 to 2013. It was the nicest place in town and I loved it. Upon getting married and moving back to Tallahassee, I had no doubt I would return to Delaney. A few weeks ago, I stopped in to find the name had changed to something strange. I wandered past some trash in the parking lot (which was different) and then gasped at the changes when I walked in the front door. Praying to still find some of the old staff, I wandered into the leasing office. No one was in there, so I wandered the clubhouse to look at the new 'Provenza". It was cold and sad really. It was as if the life was sucked right out of it. I write this review not to be mean, but because the changes and the decline of quality was so severe that I was literally shocked. It was dirty and in disarray. Trash cans were overflowing, all of the glass doors were filthy. I was the only one there, only car in the parking lot and I wasn't even addressed. Well, the leasing guy did holler "can I help you" from his chair as I left. The place may still be great, but I wouldn't know due to the poor impression I received. Do any of you know where Dennis, Christina, Deeanna or Ann went?
K Fowler
8 months ago
My partner lived here happily until a new company took over. She wanted to move out as her lease was up last month but wasn't sure job wise if she would be staying in Tallahassee. They gave us her new month to month rate and it was going to be like $1560 per month on a 60 to 60 day bases and her real rent was going to be $980 per month if she resigned her lease. I mentioned that she should stay because she could afford it and that's when she told me that she didn't really feel safe at night. This property looks nice on the outside but you'll have to spend a few nights here to find out what's really going on. The office staff and maintenance are non existent and unresponsive. Where is the Zero star rating?
Corinthia Blair
9 months ago
WARNING: THIS PROPERTY IS NOW MANAGED BY GREYSTAR. Visit Greystar Ripoffs online before paying a visit. The upshot: avoid Provenza (formerly Delaney Park) altogether, along with the Alexan and Capital Place. They are all now managed by a sleazy company called Greystar. Their regional manager, Alexis, is a contemptuous misanthrope who hates tenants. When Greystar assumed control eight months ago, Alexis was overheard making negative comments while observing tenants (actually!) sitting on sofas and chairs in the clubhouse. "Don't they have anywhere to go? Don't they have apartments," she asked out loud. In the early days of their takeover the new Greystar staff smiled cheerfully at unsuspecting tenants, but Alexis’ comments foreshadowed Greystar's impending plan to prevent tenants from using amenities (clubhouse, computers, conference room, basketball court, theater room, bathrooms, and kitchen). Although once the heart of the now moribund Delaney community, the facilities are just for show -- although you pay dearly for the right not to use them. Just as Greystar keeps cutting access to facilities, they simultaneously keep adding trumped up services (that you don't want, don't need, and have not asked for.) New charges just show up on your bill without prior notification. Each month's bill grows larger while your amenities are slowly eliminated. To make matters worse, the clubhouse has been under renovation for nine months -- WITH NO APOLOGY, REFUND, or SUITABLE EXPLANATION from management. Staff dodges the issue with lies. We are told that the painting and new furniture will take only "two more weeks." Or, "it's the project manager's fault. Or, "it's the interior designer's fault." Puhleeze. (Ask yourself if you would be able to keep your job if a project you managed was delivered seven months late.) It just gets better. Provenza/Greystar has closed access to the clubhouse altogether and renamed it the "business center." Tenants have access to only a "gym" the size of a living room and a hallway with posters and two chairs. The basketball court has been closed for eight months while it is used as storage for the (better quality) old furniture that is slowly being replaced by the amateurish renovation. The theater has been shut down. Pool access (the size of a teacup) has been denied for two months (for another botched renovation project.) Tenants are now charged a fee to use the conference room. If you use the gym, you must now go outside to use gas station-like bathroom. When the clubhouse reopens (don't hold your breath) access will be limited from 9am-6pm M-F to prohibit families with children from using it. Greystar has not limited their cuts to amenities. They cut other programs as well: 1) no more movies on weekends; 2) no more food trucks; 3) no more holiday parties or seasonal events; 4) no more televised football parties in the theatre; 5) no more Barnie's coffee all day long; 6) heck, even the holiday decorations were shabby like a student-apartment complex. Even the grounds are now amateurishly maintained, although only eight months ago, the landscaping was pristine and park-like. Trash and dog feces are not picked up for days. Sidewalks are coated with mold and mildew. Shrubs are overgrown. Weeds stand where grass once grew. Although Greystar calls itself a professional management company, their every step has been amateurish. They don't do anything right the first time--unlike the former managers. Since taking over, Greystar has managed to screw up billing, botch the clubhouse renovation, mess up the pool renovation, tell countless lies, eliminate all clubhouse events, and destroy the first-rate community that the former managers (Dee and Dennis) spent years building. Even though the entrance sign calls Provenza “apartment homes,” in reality, it's now just a trailer park run by trailer trash. Sadly, Provenza has become just another tax shelter for a corporation whose objective is to run the property down. Avoid the lies, deception, and price gouging --stay away from Provenza.
C Simmons
11 months ago
The club house has been closed for 7 months. No gym, basketball court, pool table, computers, no big screen tv, no coffee or lounging, no theater for parties, now pool is closed. The gate was broken for months so no security. It is stupid to pay all this money for nothing. Please don't rent here so Greystar (new management) will be forced to fix their mess they have created. Will be moving out in May (2016) when lease is up, would rather live in the country in a mobile home than pay $1552.00 for nothing special.
15 more reviews