Cover photo
Verified local business
South Street Barbers
Barber Shop
Today 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
1 follower|639,218 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1302 South St Philadelphia, PA 19147
1302 South StreetUSPennsylvaniaPhiladelphia19147
Barber Shop, Hair SalonToday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Wednesday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMThursday 10:00 AM – 8:00 PMFriday 10:00 AM – 8:00 PMSaturday 10:00 AM – 8:00 PMSunday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMMonday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PMTuesday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
24 reviews
5 star
14 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
"Truly recommend it to anyone who wants a haircut with great style and precision."
"I tryed south street barbers."
"If your looking for a good haircut for a great price go here."
Upload public photo
Have them in circles
1 person
Brian Dukes's profile photo
All reviews
James Choi
a month ago
I came in here to get a men's haircut, since my usual go to place was closed. I walked in and I was greeted by two very polite barbers. Even though I was a walk in, I was able to be seated with a barber in under five minutes. I usually go with short hair, so it should be a simple scissors and clippers cut. This is where things started to go downhill... After telling the barber what I wanted, he began to shave the sides of my head in a very rough and abrasive method. He kept on pushing the clipper very hard against my head and did so the entire cut. He was very inattentive and seemed like he'd rather be doing something else. Afterwards, when he was touching up the edges with a straight razor, he spent about 15 minutes on one side of my forehead constantly cutting more and more hair to the point where my scalp was very irritated (it's still very red and swollen now). Even now, six hours later, the areas where he used a straight razor is irritated and has numerous bumps. Initially, after finishing the hair cut, I was shocked to see how irregular and awful it looked. It looked as if someone shaved the sides and top of my head, leaving my hair looking like a box. He tried fixing it again, but at this point the hair was so short that not much else could be done. I still ended up paying $23 for the cut, even though the barber didn't understand my clear instructions. Save yourself the hassle and go to a better barbershop. Chopshop down the street (5th and South) does a much better job with men's hair. I don't know about the other barbers, but the barber I had today made sure that I will not come back again and I will be telling my friends to avoid getting their hair cut here.
• • •
Ryde Chen's profile photo
Ryde Chen
a month ago
A great place to get a haircut. Price is great for what you get. Truly recommend it to anyone who wants a haircut with great style and precision.
Robert Berger
7 months ago
I recently had a dinner date and I needed a good haircut, SSB is close to my new apartment. So I went in as a "walk-in" and they had a nice lady cut my hair. My demands where simple low blow out, shape up all around and don't touch my top curls. Well, my blow out was mediocre, Shape up was chalky and worst of all they charged me $33 for the cut. I still paid Cuz I was really in a rush but sheesh SSB this is how you do business??? Smh
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Hello Robert, We apologize for the terrible experience you had with SSB. We take pride in our work and would like an opportunity to correct this. Please call and ask for Will. Thanks
Lincoln Lagasi's profile photo
Lincoln Lagasi
a year ago
I have had two bad haircuts out of the three times I've been, all with different barbers. The first time was a good cut and was worth the average city price of $20 (now $23). The next two times were both bad cuts and uncomfortable experiences. Joe is a nice, but is his cut. He was rushing his cuts and still took an hour. I don't get anything crazy, just short on the sides and an inch on top or short with scissors. He somehow managed to cut my top with scissors almost as short as my sides with buzzers. On top of this, the chair was broken and crooked, and my barber asking me questions rapid fire the entire time. I wouldn't doubt that there are some good barbers here, but two bad haircuts in a row is enough for me and the increased price of $23 is too much. Unfortunately there are no decent barbers in university city and will have to drive further out to find a good place.
• • •
Ruby Stevenson's profile photo
Ruby Stevenson
a month ago
Will cut my boyfriend's hair, and he did an amazing job! My boyfriend had long, wavy blonde hair, and the way he cut it was so very flattering. I've never seen him with short hair before, so this was the best look he could've gotten as a first impression. Thanks .
nadim keval
4 months ago
Terrible fade. Low quality equipment. Place was dirty and dusty. They do that 20 dollar min on the card game with you. Also, cash only tips. Not Impressed at all.
Jack R
3 months ago
My favorite spot in Philly. Ask for Dre, he's real good and takes his time. Only in on Fridays.
Badal Patel's profile photo
Badal Patel
7 months ago
I thought I had a good cut until I got home and saw that there were still patches of hair around the sides of my head that weren't cut to the same length. Also, the clippers that the guy used hurt like hell because they cut my skin.
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Hello Badel, We are sorry to hear of your bad experience and would like the opportunity to correct your haircut. Please contact us. Thank you


Have them in circles
1 person
Brian Dukes's profile photo

South Street Barbers hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.