Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Animal Care and Medical Center
Animal Hospital
Today 7:30AM–6PM
27 followers|87,807 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
We know some of you cat owners can relate to this!
1
Add a comment...
 
This mascot is stealing our hearts!
The Savannah Bananas baseball team has added an adorable star to their roster: man’s best friend.
1
Add a comment...
 
Let us know if you’re traveling with your pet this summer for more preparedness tips!
June marks the official start of summertime, and while it may be a season when “the livin’ is easy,” June has also been deemed the month for dog devotees to ready their four-legged loved ones for the possibility of days when living is rough due to a natural disaster. Pet parents can defend the members …
1
Add a comment...
 
Which cat suits your mood today?
1
Add a comment...
 
Is it time for a snack yet? Ask us which foods are safe for you and your pets to share!
1
Add a comment...
 
Plants inside and out can harm your pets. Learn which ones to keep away from your furry friends this spring!
1
Add a comment...
 
100 ways to show your precious pets that you care
Learn ways to make your cat or dog happy and enjoy with your pets. Read our 100 tips on how to make your cat or dog happy, content and love you.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
27 people
Kyrle K's profile photo
VOV Srilanka's profile photo
Holly&Hugo's profile photo
Bovie Medical's profile photo
Vet Supplies Direct's profile photo
Default Name's profile photo
Lucky D's profile photo
Global Assist - Social Media Marketing's profile photo
Ross Anthony's profile photo
 
Flea problems start before you can even see them. Ask us how to protect your pets from these pests!
1
Add a comment...
 
Dairy and chocolate can be dangerous for pets - call us if they get into any!
1
Add a comment...
 
Look at these zany felines! Which one suits your mood today?
For the love of animals. Pass it on.
1
Add a comment...
 
Wonder how these pups say "woof" in French!
1
Add a comment...
 
Having a bad day? Check out some cute pups that will definitely make you smile!
National Puppy Day is almost here! These adorable little pups are ready to celebrate! Get ready for cuteness overload!
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
438 Peterson Rd Libertyville, IL 60048
438 Peterson RoadUSIllinoisLibertyville60048
Animal Hospital, VeterinarianToday 7:30AM–6PM
Friday 7:30AM–6PMSaturday 9AM–12PMSunday ClosedMonday 7:30AM–6PMTuesday 7:30AM–6PMWednesday 9AM–4PMThursday 7:30AM–6PM
We are a full service veterinary hospital that serve dogs and cats as well as birds and exotics. Emergencies are accepted anytime our clinic is open. Early morning drop off and urgent care services
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
27 people
Kyrle K's profile photo
VOV Srilanka's profile photo
Holly&Hugo's profile photo
Bovie Medical's profile photo
Vet Supplies Direct's profile photo
Default Name's profile photo
Lucky D's profile photo
Global Assist - Social Media Marketing's profile photo
Ross Anthony's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
3.6
8 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
1 review
1 star
3 reviews
"I felt I had no choice and understood that our puppy needed the necessary shots."
"Looking for new reptile vet."
"No feces test, no blood work, nothing."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
katherine stegman's profile photo
katherine stegman
3 months ago
My family and I have been going to this vet office for over 10 years, and everything has been great until recently. Dr. Harris was our vet until he retired and sold the practice just under a year ago. Ever since then, this place has gone extremely down hill. We have three dogs who we just adore. Our newest edition to our family, a little 4 month old golden retriever puppy. At our last appointment our puppy had to have shots done. We simply asked if they could do the shots in front of us, but they refused for no reason. I felt I had no choice and understood that our puppy needed the necessary shots. After 10 minutes they came out without our puppy. They said, and I quote, "Your puppy will be out in just a few minutes, we all love him and just want to get a few more pictures with him." I was furious and demanded them to bring him out. I mean really was that the whole reason that you "couldn't do it in front of us" because you wanted a picture for your Facebook? And it doesn't end there. Apparently the practice that is there now was the same practice that we use to go to until they burned our last golden retriever during the spay procedure. Lastly, the vets who work here are very nice, but one of whom we see is extremely young and not very experienced. I would ask simple questions that any puppy owner would ask and they couldn't answer a single one except by saying "don't worry, it's usual." And of course, what happened, our puppy ended up having bowel issues which should've been diagnosed in the first place with the symptoms we gave. So trust me when I say to stay clear of this vet.
• • •
Elizabeth Medina's profile photo
Elizabeth Medina
11 months ago
Dr. Harris has been my avian vet for 5 years and I've never had one bad experience or felt they were too costly. In fact, cost wise, they're pretty on par with other avian veterinarians I could go to. I'm not only impressed with the services and quality of care, but I've never had to wait too long to seen and have always felt like they've gone above and beyond to make me a satisfied client.
Kevin Allen's profile photo
Kevin Allen
a year ago
This was the worst experience I've ever had at a vet. Please be sure to ask the cost for every service and WHY it needs to be performed. Most of the doctors are kind, however Dr. Harris is as unprofessional as one can be. After questioning the bill and why $500 of tests were ran because my cat wasn't using the litter box, he called my wife incompetent and threatened to send our bill to collections. We are currently on a payment plan and have never missed a payment. I will never go back to this vet.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Mr. Allen, We are sorry that you recently had a bad experience with us. When your wife came in for your cat, the doctor recommended a course of diagnostics to get to the root of the problem. As you know from your previous experiences with us, we are happy to provide estimates for treatment, as we have done for your dog. However, your wife did not ask for an estimate and authorized the diagnostics. Cats who do not use the litter box appropriately can do it for a number of medical reasons, which requires diagnostic testing to determine. When your wife checked out, she saw the bill and did not have any questions about it. When you called later to question the bill, you made a statement that you would not be paying the bill. Only after that statement was made did we tell you that your account could be sent to collections- if, and only if, you did not pay your bill. We make every effort to accommodate our clients by allowing them to make payments; however, if they do not pay their bill and do not respond to our attempts to contact them, sometimes we do have to utilize a collection agency. We did not call your wife incompetent- we just pointed out that your wife had authorized the testing and did not have a problem with the bill. Additionally, after you called with concerns, we removed the tests that you did not want run (that had not already been performed). If your wife had asked for an estimate, we would have been happy to provide one. If she felt the reasoning behind running the testing was not clear, we would have been happy to explain it further, just as we would have been happy to explain to you. We are also happy to offer alternatives if clients are unable to do the recommend course of diagnosis and treatment. However, when we suggest a course of diagnostics and the owner of the animal that is present in the room authorizes it, we have no reason to not go forward with the testing. We hope that this makes sense and would be happy to further discuss this with you.
A Google User
5 years ago
I have mixed feelings about this place. We saw Tim Harris for our turtles and he is excellent, so my husband starting bringing our cats here too. I think it's Dr. Soman who sees the cats. She's very nice but she does not give very much information - she's far more focused on the animals than the owners. My big complaint is the reception person. My cat had an emergency, so we took her to the local emergency hospital for treatment. They did a good job and, sadly, diagnosed her with a fatal heart defect. When I brought her in for palliative follow-up treatment at ACMC, the receptionist told me that they were a terrible clinic and that I should spend another $400-800 to have her re-diagnosed by a cardiac specialist. When I told her I was not able to spend that kind of money just for a second opinion, she implied I was a bad pet owner. I would gladly spend the money if there was a chance it would help my kitty, but the diagnosis was firm. I also really dislike it when one clinic bad-mouths another, especially without any concrete details to back up the opinion.
• • •
Valery Eddy's profile photo
Valery Eddy
3 months ago
My normal vet was on vacation when my baby got sick. I have a red footed tortoise. It was quite a challenge trying to find an exotic pet veterinarian at the last minute. I was overwhelmed by outstanding care my pet received at this clinic. Everyone made me feel very confident in their ability and knowledge to care for my baby. From now on this will be the only place I take my tortoise. Thank you so very much !!!! Valery (Monty&Scout🐢🐢)
Natalia Podunavac's profile photo
Natalia Podunavac
a year ago
Brought a parakeet here, said she had impacted eggs and gave me an oral antibiotic. Explained bird was hand shy and they said no problem-will be fine. Stress of impaction and daily antibiotics killed her within days of visit. Charged over $300. Brought mate to them. Never did anything other than visual exam. No feces test, no blood work, nothing. Also gave antibiotics. Said he had fat liver then fluid in lungs. Gave him antibiotics for 2 weeks nothing. My fault for believing in the vet. Even after a week of care at their clinic overnight bird died day I brought him home after they said he was doing much better. $1300 bill! For the sake of your animal do not go to the Animal Care and Medical Center. They don't care about your pet, just the $$$$. I also took turtle there for beak trims which is how I became aware of their avian clinic-unfortunate for my two birds who died. Looking for new reptile vet. Will not bring him back there. Now I go out of my way to Niles Animal Hospital. Had another sick parakeet and he got fecal, blood work and x-ray for $125!!! He is still alive. Birds were under the weather when molting. they gave us a probiotic and our birds only go there if they need their talons clipped.
• • •
Mike Main's profile photo
Mike Main
3 years ago
Over priced pompous jerks. Tried to use then several times as they are convenient, but they are useless. When my dog was in pain and it was time to put her down (an emotional time to say the last) I was told that I would have to wait till Monday (fri afternoon) because I had not been there for over a year and the office manager had to approve an appointment. Wait, what?!? The office manager, not a doctor, wth?!? Good For You. Never. Ever. Again.
A Google User
5 years ago
This office has awesome availability and friendly, educated staff. The prices seem average, and as a military family we get a great discount. They even have discounted vaccines for everyone on Tuesdays, along with no office fee for shots only. I havent had to go for anything major (thank goodness!) however I feel like if I did, that my babies would be in great hands! I love this place :)