Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Baltimore Science Fiction Society
Baltimore Science Fiction Fantasy Fandom
Baltimore Science Fiction Fantasy Fandom

Baltimore Science Fiction Society's posts

Post has attachment
Congratulations to the winners of the 4th annual BSFS Amateur Writing Contest!

First place - "Witch Ball" by Irette Y. Patterson
Second place - "A Day in the Life of the Man Who Murdered 100 Billion People" by J.D. Gordon
Third place - "Piledriver" by S. L. Carney

Congratulations to BSFS member +Sarah Pinsker for winning a Nebula award for her novelette ‘"Our Lady of the Open Road" originally published in the June 2015 issue of Asimov’s Science Fiction!

Post has attachment
The Baltimore Science Fiction Society's Fourth Annual Amateur Writing Contest opens today! For MD residents/college students who are 18 and over, submit your story of between 1,000 and 5,500 words by June 17th, for NO FEE, for a chance to win $250, recognition at Capclave and Balticon, and other perks.

Kim Stanley Robinson Wins Heinlein Award 2016 with Presentation at Balticon 50!

Kim Stanley Robinson, science fiction author, is the 2016 winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award is bestowed for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. This award is in recognition of Mr. Robinson's body of work including 19 novels, including his groundbreaking Mars novels, and over 40 short stories.

The award will be presented on Friday, May 27, 2016 at opening ceremonies during Balticon 50, the 50th Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention. Yes, in addition to the huge number of grand masters of SF we already had on the schedule, we have added another one for your programming pleasure!   Balticon and the Robert A. Heinlein Award are both managed and sponsored by The Baltimore Science Fiction Society. A grant from the Heinlein Society funds a third of the costs associated with the award. 

More information on the Robert A. Heinlein Award, including past winners, can be found at Kim Stanley Robinson does not maintain an official web page, but more information on his work can be found at with his unofficial blessing.

Congratulations to BSFS member Sarah Pinsker, who has been announced as the 2016 Chessiecon author Guest of Honor for November 25 to 27, 2016.

Read the winning story from the 2015 BSFS Amateur Writing Contest "A Thousand Solomon's" by Christopher Mark Rose:

Post has attachment
The Baltimore Science Fiction Society is pleased to announce that the 2018 World Fantasy Convention will be held at the Renaissance Baltimore from Thursday, Nov 1, 2018 through Sunday, Nov 4, 2018.  The convention will be run through the joint efforts of BSFS and the Washington Science Fiction Association.

Stay tuned here for more information.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Baltimore Science Fiction Society Amateur Writing Contest!

First place - "A Thousand Solomons" by Christopher M. Rose 
Second place - "Hunted" by T. Eric Bakutis 
Third place - "To Each, A Place" by Michael B. Tager

The awards were publicly announced at Capclave 2015.  First place winner Christopher M. Rose's story "A Thousand Solomon's" will be available to read on our website in the coming month.  He will also read his story at Balticon 50 during Memorial Day weekend 2016.

Post has attachment
Join us this weekend at the Baltimore Book Festival:

We'll have a tent where we will be selling used SF and fantasy novels and giving away vintage short story magazines.

We will also be hosting events with the Science Fiction Writers of America at their tent.  Our Dangerous Voices Variety Hour, a fast-paced quiz show in the vein of Wait Wait Don't Tell Me!, will be held
Saturday, September 26, at noon.  Win free books and learn things you never knew about your favorite authors.  Panelists will include Tobias S. Buckell, Sarah Pinsker, Michael R. Underwood, and Diana Peterfreund. 

Our book discussion group will meet on Sunday, September 27, at 6 p.m. to talk about "Ancillary Sword" by Anne Leckie.  Ann Chatham, Elektra Hammond, Sarah Pinsker, and Karlo Yaeger will serve as panelists for the discussion.

Winners of the 2015 BSFS Amateur Writing Contest have been notified.  They will be publicly announced at Capclave 2015 in October.  Thank you to everyone who entered.
Wait while more posts are being loaded