Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Acapulco Joe's Mexican Foods
Latin American Restaurant$$
Today 7:00 am – 10:00 pm
3 followers|339,413 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
365 N Illinois St Indianapolis, IN 46204
365 North Illinois StreetUSIndianaIndianapolis46204
(317) 637-5160
$$Latin American Restaurant, Mexican Restaurant
Latin American Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Family Restaurant
Vegetarian Restaurant
Breakfast Restaurant
Today 7:00 am – 10:00 pm
Monday 7:00 am – 9:00 pmTuesday 7:00 am – 9:00 pmWednesday 7:00 am – 9:00 pmThursday 7:00 am – 9:00 pmFriday 7:00 am – 10:00 pmSaturday 7:00 am – 10:00 pmSunday 8:00 am – 8:00 pm
Menu
Acapulco Joe's is Indianapolis' first Mexican restaurant, with over 50 years of serving flavorful traditional Mexican favorites. 
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
3 people
Deb F's profile photo
Jennie Barger's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
2.5
74 reviews
5 star
10 reviews
4 star
9 reviews
3 star
14 reviews
2 star
16 reviews
1 star
25 reviews
Unfussy fixture for Mexican-American fare breakfast through dinner, plus full bar & spacious patio.- Google
"The tortillas were cold and had an unusual taste."
"Downtown Indy deserves a better Mexican restaurant."
9 reviewers
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Kristen Wise-Johnson's profile photo
Kristen Wise-Johnson
a month ago
WORST RESTAURANT IVE EVER BEEN TO! first i got a water glass that had scum in it, my friend went and complained about it for me and the manager said "well she was out side and things get in peoples cups". even though i was in side. then i asked them if they could make a simple just cheese burrito and the waiter came back out and said " NO we cant make that". so i asked to talk to the manager again and he said "we only make been and cheese or beef and cheese, sorry". and they refused to do it. so when i got it the food was cold and not good at all! then i asked if i could have ice cream and they said there ice cream machine was broken and for a 4 star restaurant they didnt even change there bath rooms lights when they burned out. THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN!
• • •
Barbara noonan
4 months ago
I have been going there for several years...The New owner said everything would stay the same...Wrong...this place use to be so good now its way to high in prices for what you get...We order the grilled chicken salad the sauce tasted like a bunch of ketchup on it...My Mother order no sauce the shell an lettuce had sauce all over it where they put it on an changed it by scrapping the grilled chicken back off an put new on it with out the sauce.this is such poor service plus there was only 5 or 6 small pieces on each salad I don't mind paying a little more for good food.Plus the bottle sauce was so hot I could not eat it where they left way to many pepper seeds in it...35.00 not counting tip for two people to eat lunch for salads is just way wrong...for both orders to be messed up an so nasty...So sad...sever said they have lost so many of the reg customers because of all the problems...
• • •
Mireya Luna's profile photo
Mireya Luna
3 weeks ago
If you want Mexican food this is not the place for you, the food was horrible! ! It was fake mexican food with no real flavor. The chips were stale and the Sala had a horrible after taste. The tortillas were cold and had an unusual taste. We couldn't eat the food, the only thing decent was the water. We had to go to another restaurant. I don't recommend it!
Jay Davis
9 months ago
The breakfast is pretty good, but be careful how you order it. Sunday morning, the day of the Brick Yard Race, myself and three others went there to have breakfast. Three of us ordered the biscuits and gravy and asked for two eggs over easy to go with it. Like I said the food was good but when we got our bill, they charged each of us $5.19 for two eggs. Now I think that is very over priced for two eggs. We questioned our server about it and her response was " that's they way it rang up". Another thing; there was only one server on the floor, poor thing was trying but it wasn't fair to her, this was managements problem. She also was the greeter, took you in and sat you down and also the cashier. I don't care how good the food may be, if the service is always bad and you charge customers $5.19 for two eggs, you wont last long....What a shame!
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
I apologize my regular waiter was off for military reserve duty. Your waitress did not use the ala cart menu to ring in your eggs. The correct price is $2.49. I will be happy to refund the difference. Please contact us with your information. I also worked that morning and helped her with the tables. She had a party of 20 on the patio and because of that her other tables suffered. She waited to long to ask me to help her. I waited on tables after that and helped prep food for the day. I will always jump in and help the staff. I normally work every Sunday and help whoever is waiting tables. The next time my regular waiter is off I will make sure I have the morning manager who also waits tables work in his place. We always want you to feel like you're paying the fair price, Jay, and we also want you to feel like you're being taken care of quickly and in a friendly way. I am sorry I was not aware of the problem on the day you were here. I'm glad you enjoyed the food, but we would love for the opportunity to show you our best all around. - Grant, Owner
Sara Mcmillan
a month ago
Gavin thank you when I cooked hamburgers I had certain spices I cooked it with. I was one of few cooks there at Joe's before Mark and Marcia sold to grant would go back to work there but was told grant isn't hiring back old employees. Ive heard some great things about the new owner and not so great things. Just hope Joe's can hold up to what it use to be 20 years ago
Kayla Carlock
4 weeks ago
best biscuits and gravy ever! love there sweet tea as well <3
Ryan Waller's profile photo
Ryan Waller
2 months ago
One of the best salsa's I have ever had! Really good Mex-American food!
Mary BS
9 months ago
I was actually looking forward to going to lunch at Acapulco Joe's. The last time there we met the new owner and he told us that they also bought the rights to all the recipes so that NOTHING would change. I wish it was true, but no so. Yes, they cleaned the place up and it looks real nice. That is about the only thing I can say good. I did talk to my waitress about my food concerns.. but she just stood there agreeing with everything I said and never once asked If I wanted to speak to a manager. Don't get me wrong... she was very nice and a good waitress. My all time favorite of Joe's is the Chili Con Queso. Needless to say that it is not the same. Heartbroken to say the least. I read a review the someone wrote a few months ago about the rice and it still is the same. No taste what so ever. It is so sad that so many complaints and nothing is being done about it. Now I understand when I was there at lunchtime and there were so many open seats. I really hate this.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Mary, we really want for you to continue to enjoy the Acapulco Joe's you've come to know and love. I want to confirm that we are preparing our dishes in the same way, but I'm disappointed that you were unhappy with your meal. What you experienced with the chili con queso is not the norm, and I'll address this with my staff so that we stay on top of keeping things consistent. Also, please know that we're always happy to help you out in the moment. I'll encourage my staff to be more proactive about informing us of these types of issues, and you're welcome to request to speak with management at any time. I know we'd jump at the chance to show you our best. - Grant, Owner

Stream

Have them in circles
3 people
Deb F's profile photo
Jennie Barger's profile photo

Acapulco Joe's Mexican Foods hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.