Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Zoar Outdoor
Canoe & Kayak Rental Service$$
Today 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
5 followers|488,122 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
7 Main St Charlemont, MA 01339
7 Main StreetUSMassachusettsCharlemont01339
(800) 532-7483zoaroutdoor.com
$$Canoe & Kayak Rental Service, Canoe & Kayak Tour Agency
Canoe & Kayak Rental Service
Canoe & Kayak Tour Agency
Raft Trip Outfitter
Restaurant or Cafe
Canoe & Kayak Store
Today 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmTuesday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmWednesday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmThursday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmFriday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmSaturday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmSunday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
New England's Outdoor Adventure Resort, offering whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, biking and rock climbing on the Deerfield River in western Mass. Onsite lodging and camping.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
5 people
Scott Diedrich's profile photo
Liz Cobb's profile photo
Edward Murphy's profile photo
Fang Victor's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
4.7
26 reviews
5 star
23 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
No reviews
1 star
1 review
"My kids bought me a whitewater raft trip for my birthday."
5 reviewers
"Staff was fantastic views on zip line were Awesome."
"I loved the Canopy Tour. Matt and Becky were the best."
Photos
Upload first public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Levi Walrath's profile photo
Levi Walrath
a month ago
I went for white-water rafting and ziplining while staying two nights in the lodge for an early mother's day present. The package was a great deal and the trips were a terrific time. The employees were very helpful, funny, informative, and professional where safety was never a concern. If you made it this far where you are reading reviews, just do it! You will have a great time.
judy walrath
a month ago
Zoar Outdoor exceeded my expectations. The guides were all knowledgeable and professional as well as fun. Safety was always their main concern. My sons and I spent 2 nights at Hawks Lodge and did a package trip with Zipping and Whitewater Rafting as an early Mother's Day Trip. The Lodge manager was also helpful and friendly.I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your zipping and rafting vacation. Hope to see you again this season!
Michael Bourgoin's profile photo
Michael Bourgoin
3 months ago
Pretty good white water trip. They took us out even though there was an impending storm. I know they don't want to turn people away (we drove from NY), but they ended up taking us out in pretty dangerous conditions and we were forced to park the rafts to try to wait out the storm. Unfortunately the storm got worse and they ended up cutting the trip in half. They did refund half our money and they were pretty nice about things, but they still should have exercised better judgment. They also didn't have the BBQ dinner ready for us when we got back due to the bus taking too long to get us. All the food was gone and we were offered cookies, small sandwiches and drinks. For me who has to eat gluten free that basically left me with eating lettuce and potato salad.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
We monitor the weather each day, but since rafting is an outdoor activity, we sometimes encounter storms on the river, most of which are short-lived. The day Mr. Bourgoin rafted with us we experienced a very unusual thunder storm that came into our area and stayed for several hours. In fact it made the local papers because of its abnormal pattern. Normally, these sorts of storms blow over quickly and we are able to continue on our trip, but this day the storm stayed in our valley, so we had to evacuate our trips. We realized we had not planned the food back at our base for this contingency and that some folks did not get the lunch they were supposed to receive, so we did offer 50% refunds to them. We appreciate this feedback and are constantly looking for ways we can improve our programs.
Jonathan Hiller's profile photo
Jonathan Hiller
7 months ago
We did ziplining with Zoar Outdoor and we couldn't have been happier with the experience. The two guides who took us out could not have been more personable, organized and professional. We felt completely safe and completely taken care of every step along the way. Any initial apprehension we had was long gone by the end of our first zip. We could not recommend this company enough if you're in the area.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks for the great review. We work hard to find and train guides who love being with people and who enjoy the work they do. I'm glad to hear your trip was a success!
Lea Foti
a month ago
Outstanding experience from the guides to the white water rafting to the zip lining. You will regret it if you don't take the time to go. They will accomodate all your needs and they are so thoughful. If they feel you won't be comfortable in your attire, they supply all that is needed for the rafting so you do not get cold or too warm. The Zip lining folks and rafting team are amazing, knowledgeable and patient.
Joe Theroux's profile photo
Joe Theroux
5 months ago
In my top ten best experiences of a lifetime! Never have I had a job where there are so many great people around me at all times. The community surrounding Zoar is enormous. Its literally in the hundreds of employees since 89' and many of whom still stay in touch for they are the life-blood that keeps Zoar alive. The owner has done a fantastic job of preserving an environment of powering your own adventure. Bruce Lessels and his wife have been owners since the beginning, but I didn't see him as much of a boss. He was more along the lines of a friend, facilitator and overseer of his creation born. There are other rafting companies in the area, but if you are looking for the "memories factory" experience then I say look no farther then Zoar Outdoor.
• • •
Parris George
9 months ago
My family and I went to Zoar for the zip line tour and had a fantastic time! In short here's what we liked. The location is stunningly beautiful and I can only believe that later in the year once the leaves change it will be even better. The staff know their jobs cold. There was no feeling of someone just stumbling through what they "should" know. Everyone is very competent. One of the really nice things is that unlike some places the staff also obviously like what they're doing and that level of enthusiasm comes through which is infectious. They also know how to talk to people and not AT people which was really cool. There are 11 zip lines with the longest one being 660 ft long. The layout of the course was a progression from shorter, slower zips on up to the long and fast runs. The gear is all well maintained and CLEAN. The instruction was very complete and any correction when needed was handled with grace. Finally the gear and the way it's used made for a very safe and fun experience. They use a 2 cable and pulley system that is crazy strong and safe. Highly recommended!!!
• • •
Teresa Smith
10 months ago
This was a wonderful experience for my family! We did the Gap white water rafting. There were four of us, and only one had any experience. We were afraid we wouldn't be able to do it, but our guide, Noah, was great! He was patient and instructive, with quite a bit of fun added in, even joining in singing or starting a song himself. Truly a great family memory made.

Stream

Have them in circles
5 people
Scott Diedrich's profile photo
Liz Cobb's profile photo
Edward Murphy's profile photo
Fang Victor's profile photo

Zoar Outdoor hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.