Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Hawkins & Walker, PC
Hawkins & Walker, PC's posts

Post has attachment
Cost of Not Having Car Insurance In Texas

Car insurance is one of the most important things to carry while driving a vehicle. Unfortunately, things can happen and there might come a time when you might not have it on you. So what happens when you get pulled over for not having car insurance in Texas? Here are the costs of not having your car insurance in Texas.

Cost of Not Having Car Insurance In Texas
Driving Without Car Insurance Can Lead To Unwanted Fines and Penalties.
First Time Offender

The first time you are caught driving without car insurance will cost you between $175-$350. While this seems like a hefty fine for a fist time offender, it doesn't stop there. In addition to the fine, you will be expected to pay $250 a year for your driver's license.

Second Time Offender

The first fine was pretty expensive, but it gets even more expensive the second time around. If you get caught without car insurance for the second time, the fine you will pay is between $350-$1,000. You still have to pay the $250 a year charge, but in addition to that, you are at risk of having your car impounded and your driver's license revoked.

Uninsured Car Accidents

So while not having insurance seemed bad during a typical traffic stop, if you happen to get into a car accident without insurance, it can be really bad. In the state of Texas, if you are driving without insurance and get into a car accident, you will be liable for all physical injuries and property damage. This could cost thousands and thousands of dollars.

If you acquired a traffic ticket due to not having car insurance, please call Hawkins & Walker, P.C. today at [nw_data field=phone] for legal representation.

Post has attachment
While driving laws vary from state to state, there are some laws that can be found in all states. When it comes to having your license suspended, there are a few ways that every state agrees will result in license suspension. Here are four ways you can get your license suspended.

Ways to Get Your License Suspended.

Multiple DUI's

Wherever you live, your license suspension will occur if you are convicted of having a number of DUI's. The best way to prevent DUI's and having your license suspended is not drinking while you are driving. Call a taxi or have a friend drive you.

Accumulating Too Many Points

This varies from state to state, but after so many points, you can have your license suspended.

Refusing A Blood or Breath Test

If you are pulled over while intoxicated and you refuse to take a blood or breath test, it can result in license suspension. The suspension varies and will be discussed when you are in court.

Failing to Pay Child Support

While this isn't a driving offense, you can still have license suspension when you fail to pay child support. This goes for every single state and should be taken very seriously.

Not Paying A Fine

This is in regards to driving related fines, but if you fail to pay a fine, after a certain point you will be caught and have your license suspended.

If you need services pertaining to your suspended license in Fort Worth, TX, please call Hawkins & Walker, PC at [nw_data field=phone] today!

Post has attachment
Although you reserve the right to represent yourself in court for traffic tickets in Fort Worth, TX, you may find it beneficial to hire a lawyer. Especially if you are guilty of your charge, it may seem redundant to hire an attorney for traffic tickets.…

Post has attachment
Divorce is a hard thing to undertake and considerably harder when a child is involved. Many parents find themselves on unsure footing and with many questions about the system and previous conceptions on how custody proceedings work. To help, we have…

Post has attachment
No one expects to get into an automobile accident. But one of the keys to responding well when the unexpected occurs is to think ahead and have a plan. If you’re involved in a car accident, regardless of fault or circumstance, there are some critical…

Post has attachment
Many of us have a vague understanding of “points” when it comes to driving behavior, knowing that only so many are permissible. Diving into a better understanding of what the point system for Texas drivers–known as the Driver Responsibility Program–covers…

Post has attachment
If you have several violations on your driving record, take note: getting your license suspended or revoked in Texas is a tedious process that can land you in big trouble if you keep driving. Here are some facts you need to know before you drive with a…

Post has attachment
There are several reasons why you might want to adopt an adult in the state of Texas. Perhaps you have a grown stepchild, and want to adopt them as a loving gesture. Or maybe you want to ensure that your stepchild is entitled to your inheritance. Whatever…

Post has attachment
When family circumstances turn to the law for negotiation, the situation can quickly turn stressful. Legal representation will help alleviate the situation and allow you to get your life back on track sooner. For assistance with consultation and…

Post has attachment
Public intoxication, as a Class C Misdemeanor, can leave you with a fine not exceeding $500. As with DWIs, police can subject anyone over the 0.08 BAC limit out in public to a public intoxication charge. Instances of people quietly walking home from a bar…
Wait while more posts are being loaded