Cover photo
Verified local business
Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Transmission Shop
Today 8:00 am – 5:00 pm


Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care         
Cottman To Launch Car Care Blog           
Add a comment...
Cottman Man Offers Tips For Safe Driving On Thanksgiving Weekend
Long holiday weekend is among most dangerous times on nation's roads November 25, 2014 Thanksgiving weekend, best known for family gatherings over…
Add a comment...
Cottman Supports National Teens Driver Safety Week
October 17, 2014 Getting a driver's license has become a rite of passage for teens, but it also begins what could be…
Add a comment...
Auto Service Chain Puts New Focus On It's Local People
July 16, 2014 A new campaign, beginning in July, will put the iconic Cottman Man front and center as the chain unveils…
Add a comment...
Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care Honors Outstanding Franchisees and Employees
June 23, 2014 Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care, the transmission and complete auto repair company with franchised service centers nationwide, recently…
Add a comment...
Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care         
Keep Your Car Running Safely During Tough Winter Weather    
Add a comment...
Service of Veterans is Important to Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
November 11, 2014  Veterans Day is an annual reminder to give thanks to the men and women who have protected the American…
Add a comment...
The Cottman Man Offers Back-To-School Safety Tips
September 8, 2014 School bells are ringing throughout the country, as an estimated 55 million children begin another school year.  About 13…
Add a comment...
Keep Your Car Running Smoothly and Safely This Summer
July 1, 2014 During the summer season, most of us spend more time in our cars, vacationing or taking weekend or day…
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
12445 North Cave Creek Road Phoenix, AZ 85022, United States
12445 North Cave Creek RoadUSArizonaPhoenix85022
Transmission Shop, Brake Shop
Transmission Shop
Brake Shop
Diesel Engine Repair Service
Muffler Shop
Today 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Monday 8:00 am – 5:00 pmTuesday 8:00 am – 5:00 pmWednesday 8:00 am – 5:00 pmThursday 8:00 am – 5:00 pmFriday 8:00 am – 5:00 pmSaturday 8:00 am – 4:00 pmSunday Closed
When you need a quality auto repair shop, trust in the name of Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care for all your car repair needs.
Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
21 reviews
5 star
12 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
1 review
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
"It's nice to find a mechanic shop with a family atmosphere."
2 reviewers
"I took my motorhome to these guys because it was not shifting into 2nd gear."
"All around one of the best mechanic experiences I have ever had."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
All reviews
J Suhr
4 months ago
I took my motorhome to these guys because it was not shifting into 2nd gear. They had my motorhome sitting at their shop for over 2 weeks before they even got it in to look at it. After they got it in, they called and told me it needed a new tranny. 3 weeks later it was done (this was over a month from when I dropped it off). I go to pick it up and paid them $2000 cash. I should have used a credit card so I could dispute it. When I went to drive it home it was doing the same thing as when I dropped it off. I went back and had a tech ride with me so he could see what it was doing. He said it wasn't the tranny, it was probably something electrical. I told the owner I wasn't happy and didn't want to pay for a rebuilt tranny that wasn't needed. He argued with me and said it was needed anyway. They are very dishonest. He wanted me to leave it with him to fix. 2 more weeks later he calls and said it's done, come and get it. It was the speedometer bouncing around confusing the tranny when to shift. When I went to pick it up I asked what are we gonna do about this bill. He told me don't worry about it, he would take care of the speedometer bill. I told him I didn't think it was cool that they misdiagnosed the problem and I have to pay for a complete rebuild. He got mad and started arguing with me again, saying that it needed to be rebuilt. When I got in it to go home this time the radio/cd player was broken; they broke it taking the dash apart to fix the speedometer. I showed it to him and he said he would get me a new radio and that he would call me when he got the radio. Of course, he never called and I had to fix it myself. This is the first review I've ever written. I'm not a review type of guy, but I think people need to know how crappy and dishonest of a shop this is. I would not recommend anybody to go there. Their corporate office is no better; I have called,and emailed several times to file a complaint, and nobody has called back. Justin Suhr, pissed off former customer.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Suhr, We're very sorry that you left us feeling as disappointed as you do. We want you to know that we are listening to your concerns and we would like to learn more from you. Please reach out to so that we can discuss this further. We understand that our response on Google is a bit delayed, so please accept our sincerest apologies.
Christopher Curtis's profile photo
Christopher Curtis
a year ago
All around one of the best mechanic experiences I have ever had. These guys do a great job and stand by their work! If there is work that needs to get done that they don't do (I was looking at a possible suspension lift for my jeep) they will give you the feedback you need and recommend someone who specializes in that work. You wont get the "I don't care" attitude here.
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us positive feedback! We love to hear from our customers. We are glad to know that we were able to help you solve your car troubles. Anytime Cottman works on your car, we strive to bring you the best customer service available. We are happy to know that we achieved satisfaction. Thank you again for your patronage, and we hope we get the opportunity to work with you again!
Odysseus Ithaca's profile photo
Odysseus Ithaca
a year ago
Did fast and excellent work on rebuilding my truck transmission, and also gave me the best price in town. Had in done in a few days, and runs great now. They walked me through every step of the process.
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
We are glad that our committed staff was able to help with your automotive needs! We know that transmissions need to be handled just right to get the job done quickly and correctly. Our technicians are happy to hear that they are doing a great job and promise to keep up the good work. At Cottman, we will always work hard to go above and beyond your expectations so that your vehicle is always running at its best. Thank you for your continued patronage and for the wonderful feedback. Have a great day!
Michael Holm's profile photo
Michael Holm
5 years ago
This place has gone above and beyond what the typical auto shop will do for customers. They are very knowledgeable and personable. I've had some work done in the past but when I went to them for a busted heater core they offered to fix the problem by bypassing the heater core. This saved me a lot of money and I really don't need a heater core living here in Phoenix. The owner, Bard, even had his mechanic go to the auto parts store and purchase the hose and cuppling on their dollar. He told me I was a good customer and they took care of everything free of charge. Thanks for helping a needy father of five. I'll definitely be refering this business to friends and family.
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Hi Michael, and thank you. At Cottman, your feedback is very important to us. Without our customers telling us what we are doing right, we would be unable to give you the top-notch customer service that you expect. Thank you for taking the time to help our business learn and grow from our experiences. We look forward to handling your car maintenance needs long into the future.
Jalicia Stur
3 months ago
The staff is very unprofessional. They do not consult with you about the status of your car and they also do not communicate with their customers about their job before they perform the work. I do not know if they are prejudice against women or they are unprofessional toward everyone, but please do not take your business here.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dear Ms. Stur, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry to learn that you didn't feel respected and fully informed during your visit. Providing clear communication of needed repairs, and helping our customers in a courteous, respectful way, is of the utmost importance to us here at Cottman. If you would like to speak with us some more about your experience, please email
Sue Woerner's profile photo
Sue Woerner
2 years ago
I went to Cottman because of the reviews on this page. I had a leak and wasn't sure if it was the transmission or something else. Being female getting screwed at mechanic shops is a very probable thing. Especially thinking I had tranny issues. I was very happy to find that after their FREE inspection that all it was was a plugged line. they filled the fluid, checked it to be sure it wasn't leaking and sent me on my way AT NO CHARGE. Wow, they have total car care and transmission service so i believe I have found my new repair shop. It's a good feeling to know that you're not going to be screwed when you take your vehicle in. Word of mouth is important in this day and age so when good service is given i feel compelled to review it. Thanks Cottman!
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Our entire staff would like to thank you for your kind words. We do our best to stand out from other businesses in the area by providing a clean garage staffed with knowledgeable technicians. We understand that customer service is the key to any successful business and when we saw your feedback, we felt reassured that our company is providing constant and attentive customer care that we can be proud of. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know!
sharon brown's profile photo
sharon brown
a year ago
have not had any work done yet, but as another post on here said that he was put on hold everytime he called.I spoke to a fellow named ray and he put me on hold three times and cut me short when was trying to get info about work I was wanting estimate on and info on , pretty much hung up on me and I don't think from that experience on the phone that I want to give them a shot.
Response from the owner - a year ago
I regret your experience but appreciate your feedback. I will review with my staff new steps they will take to prevent this from occurring. Bard Estabrook, owner
Bob Brett
a year ago
Basically they charged my friends 20 year old daughter $52 to change a cabin filter that takes literally 5 minutes. Seems pretty pricey to me.
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
We are sorry to hear about the issue with the price. All of our technicians are highly trained and would be happy to discuss this repair personally. We want to ensure that you have the best experience possible and please contact me directly. Bard Estabrook, owner. Thank you.