Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Village in the Park
Apartment Building
Today 9:00 am – 6:00 am
2 followers|356,035 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1417 Valley Lake Dr Schaumburg, IL 60195
1417 Valley Lake DriveUSIllinoisSchaumburg60195
(847) 882-4220villageinthepark.com
Apartment BuildingToday 9:00 am – 6:00 am
Monday 9:00 am – 6:00 amTuesday 9:00 am – 6:00 pmWednesday 9:00 am – 6:00 amThursday 9:00 am – 6:00 pmFriday 9:00 am – 6:00 pmSaturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pmSunday 12:00 – 5:00 pm
Schaumburg's exquisite residences where quaint courtyards meet trees and flowers...where spectacular floor plans and first-class service meet country club style amenities.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.2
27 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
12 reviews
"Constant furniture and crap on the hallways."
"First month when we just moved in, we found out that our fridge was leaking."
"Cons: -Beware: they have an infestation of insects happening every summer/fall."
Photos
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
2 people
Tiffany Gilpin's profile photo
Ajeesh Kumar's profile photo
All reviews
anon ymous
2 months ago
Little India!!!!!!!!!!! Community:------ Something they will not mention when you move in. It is 99% Indian Population. Which has its pros and cons. Pros: -never smelled typical american smoking weed. -never heard or saw a party. -it always smell like delicious food -everyone is very likely an engineer. -Typically people are respectful. Do not confuse respectful with nice. Cons: -t smells like delicious food until 3 am. -Constant furniture and crap on the hallways. -Everyone wears flip-flops , it smells like feet, everyone hangs out on the lobby and start rubbing their feet. -tons of kids screaming like demons when they come back from school Premises and management--- Decent place to live for the price. Facilities are mostly clean and it is a calm environment. Area is fantastic. Grocery stores close by and very centric to entertainment. You definitely need a car to move around. Only a couple of minutes away from the highway. Cons: -Beware: they have an infestation of insects happening every summer/fall. Boxelder bugs come out and will get into your room, they have trees close-by and they climb all the way up till the 12th floor. No matter if you close your window, that they reseal your window screens, that you tape all around the windows. They will 12 floors if they need to and they will infest your room. The only thing that management tells you is: we don’t have to report them since we are not in control of them and its only once a year. Good luck to you if you dislike bugs. -Geese. I loved the geese. They are nice and sound very natural in the afternoon. I feel in connection with nature. But it became a nuisance once you here them 1 am , 2am , 4 am, 5 am, fighting and reproducing. -A maintenance request “fix” can take 2 weeks to get attended. -Never choose “view to the lake” you will get the geese singing and the light of the car dealerships nearby going through the windows all night. -They use archaic washing and drying machines that will shrink all your clothes to a baby size. There is only one temperature. -Kitchen is super old. Things tend to fall apart. They should renovate the refrigerators and microwaves. -Don’t think of going to the gym. Indian sweat smell will erode your lungs. If you are not used to it this is a fair warning. I got used to it and it doesn’t bother me anymore. Management abuse. Management was decent with me because I am white. Usually incompetent though. But I witnessed abuse to indians. They are nice until you sign the lease. -Paying the lease is stupid. Only checks accepted. -People randomly park in handicapped spots. I am not handicapped but I thought it should be illegal and it is completely disrespectful to people in need. Pros: They keep it clean and plowed when its snowing. They clean the lobby every morning. Community events. The area is accessible to the DART system for buses. 7/11 at the corner.
• • •
ZhuSheng Liu
2 months ago
The manager is really nice person and her name is Tracy? She is always helpful when I go to her for asking questions. Swimming pool is good and I use it often.
neo dorac's profile photo
neo dorac
9 months ago
I am a current resident, I read all the negative reviews prior to moving, and still chose this place because location is very convenient for my situation, but: Yes, there has been water leakage in my apartment, at the first rainstorm. Yes, the staff was nice and familiar, until I signed the lease, but broke some of their promises to waive move in fees (as an incentive to move in) right after my moving. I would not recommend this place to nobody that I care about, and mostly because of the attitude of the staff. Bad, very bad people...
• • •
Donald Ziems's profile photo
Donald Ziems
a year ago
I lived in building 1310 for 12 months, and chose not to renew my lease. Overall, this apartment complex is not bad, but I would not use them again, nor would I recommend anyone live there. The building itself was nothing special. I had a 1st floor apartment, with concrete walls and ceiling. I never heard noise from my neighbors, but hallway noise passed through the door as if it wasn't there, and outside noise came in through the windows without any trouble. The 1st floor has a roach problem, that the office staff fully knows about. All 12 months that I lived at that complex, I witnessed at least one roach within my unit, or in the hallway. VitP did make a good-faith effort to come and exterminate every time I reported a roach, but it was extremely tiring to empty out my kitchen every other week so the exterminators could inspect/exterminate. By the time I left, the roach problem was greatly reduced (no doubt owing to 4 of the 5 other tenants in my hallway moving away during that time), but still not gone. Many will say the office staff is rude/inconsiderate. I find this to be a stretch, usually they're alright to work with, though none seem to be happy with their job. In my unit, there was a heater pipe in the bedroom that fed the upper floors, such that whenever someone above me wanted heat, the pipe would make noise. Eventually, you get used to it, but it was unpleasant at first, especially considering it was outside of my control. The building has security doors, but there is always foot traffic in and out, so people without keys regularly are able to enter. UPS seems to think it is generally fine to leave packages by the door of your apartment, here. Once, I had another tenant open such a box left by my door; thankfully said tenant did not want the contents, and simply replaced the box.
• • •
Kamal mesh
3 months ago
Normally I don't write reviews about anything, but the incident for poor service by Village in the Park staff forced me to write one. On Thursday I called them about the water clogging problem in my Toilet of first bathroom. No response for the entire day, on Friday I called them again and requested them that I have guests in my house and managing with one Toilet is difficult, they mentioned that its not a serious issue and they have 2 day timeline for generic maintenance requests. Entire Friday, they didn't bothered to call me. On Saturday, I called them and told that I am complaining to Village in the Park authorities that there is a water clogging at my home for last 2 days and harmful bacteria may be in there and if there is any epidemic situation I will hold Village in the park responsible for it. Had some heated discussion with them and I told them that you will regret for your negligence and unprofessional behavior. As soon as I dropped the phone. Within 5 mins some maintenance guy knocked the door and took care of the situation in 5 mins :) So this is how you could deal with VIP, there is no easy way.. Waiting for my lease to be over and I will leave this place.
• • •
Oksana Sakhniuk's profile photo
Oksana Sakhniuk
8 months ago
I am current resident of this building. Decided not to prolong lease next year. First month when we just moved in, we found out that our fridge was leaking. We made numerous maintenance requests to fix it. It was repaired only on the 3rd time. Then garbage disposal got broken on the third month of our rent. Due to lower temperature outside, boxelder bugs started occupying the place around our window and started getting into the apartment. We called management and let them know that this situation makes our apartment inhabitable. They said that somebody will stop by today to check it out, nobody came. So tired of this irresponsibility from management's side. Cant wait when our rent is up to get out from this place.
• • •
Vivek Venugopal's profile photo
Vivek Venugopal
a year ago
I am a current resident. I wouldn't recommend this apartment to any one ! I am staying on the 5th floor in a 6 story apartment complex. I have been suffering from a very bad roof leakage for more than 4 months. Water leaks at multiple places ( Kitchen and different places in the hall ). At first I thought some pipe might have broken in the upstairs and that is causing the issue. I had called up their office and reported the issue ( this happened before Nov 2013 ). It stopped for couple of days after that, so thought somebody might have fixed it already. But couple of days after that, it became worse and my carpet used to get wet in multiple locations. I complained again.. This time a maintenance guy came and told me they will look at it. The lady in the office told me that the guy who repairs the roof is out on vacation and hopefully they will fix it up in two weeks. It went on and on for few more weeks like that..By then, the condition was such that I had to keep some plastic cans to collect the leaking water from the top. In Jan 1st week, I met their manager and they did some investigation and later told me that, the ice on the roof is causing the issue and I will have wait till the snow completely melts ! and of course they cannot tell me how long that's going to take. They offered me a "solution" - take a new apartment. They will do a 'transfer' - but I will have to pay the rent based on the current rate ( which is at least $100 more ) AND I will have to sign a new 1 YEAR contract !! I did tried my level best explain them that I don't wish to change the apartment since I will have to shift all my stuff all alone and I don't wish to extend the lease for another year. So it is just because of them, I will have to re-locate. Why should I suffer for their in efficiency to maintain the apartments. They didn't offer me any other options, I would have settled down for transfer on the same rental agreements ( same rent and same lease period ). The most disappointing thing is that, I felt really bad after talking to one of their staff. She talks very rude and never showed any interest to resolve the issue. She was like " this is what we can do.. take it or not". My lease is going to expire in May and I don't want to continue the lease after that. It has been a while since it is snowed and the temp is really going up. I am not seeing any snow in the balcony or roof. So I went and spoke to the office staff today. They just don't seem that the snow has melted enough!! No idea when will they fix this up. I am sure, once the snow melts, there will not be any more leakage s and I doubt they will check the roof issue after that. They can put some paint on the stains on the roof and walls.. and hand it over to the next 'lucky' guy.. until next winter, it is safe !! -
• • •
Edwin Garza's profile photo
Edwin Garza
a year ago
So far so good I just moved in and it seems like a really good place. Clean apartments excellent location. The rooms are quiet and a one time maintenance call got a kitchen faucet replaced in no time. One small/big problem is there are many people of Indian race so the hallways do smell of food but the rooms themselves are ok. You pay water and electric. Free heat. The bathroom sink water gets hot very fast and its a race against the clock to wash your hands ie. if you want cold water you're only gonna get a little bit of it. I find myself going to the kitchen sink to get cold water/wash hands. The shower handle is also very sensitive where just the slightest nudge takes the water from hot to cold. Laundry room is on the second floor and I have never found myself waiting to wash cloths on the weekend. These things are daily annoyances but you get used to it. First floor towards the front of the building sucks since you constantly hear people outside talking and doing dumb things at night.
• • •

Stream

Have them in circles
2 people
Tiffany Gilpin's profile photo
Ajeesh Kumar's profile photo

Village in the Park hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.