Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
717 South
Italian Restaurant
Today 5–9PM
1 follower|1,059,328 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
717 S Howard Ave Tampa, FL 33606
717 South Howard AvenueUSFloridaTampa33606
(813) 250-1661717south.com
Italian Restaurant, Pacific Rim Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Pacific Rim Restaurant
American Restaurant
Bar
Today 5–9PM
Sunday 5–9PMMonday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMTuesday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMWednesday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMThursday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMFriday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–11PMSaturday 5–11PM
Menu
717 South is proud to bring you fresh and local ingredients. The highest quality hormone free chicken and when possible seafood that is harvested in a sustainable fashion. We wood fire all of our in-house hand cut steaks. 

We have an extensive wine list (over 300 wine bottles) and martini's and specialty drinks from all parts of the world. 

Set within 1920's art deco paintings, wood trim, high ceilings, and an open kitchen, welcomes each patron. 717 South was recently voted TOP 20 Best New Restaurants in Florida, Best Place for Dinner, Best Wines by the Glass, TOP 400 Places to dine in Florida, Best Happy Hour among many others.
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
47 reviews
5 star
21 reviews
4 star
11 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
Hot spot dispatching Italian & Pacific Rim fare in an elegant dining room with a lively bar scene.- Google
"Trendy environment and elegant presentation, but that's all."
"I went to this restaurant for a group birthday dinner of 24 people."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
TravelHost Tampa Bay's profile photo
All reviews
Tiffany Rivers
2 weeks ago
I went to this restaurant for a group birthday dinner of 24 people. We placed a reservation for 8:30 pm and when we arrived at 8:15 we stood up for 37 minutes. Went we got to the table eventually, we were never offered anything. We eventually asked for the complimentary bread and I was advised that it is not given unless every person of the party orders an entrée. Mind you now that this a party of more than 8 and we are about to spend a great amount of money between food and drinks. I really did not like my two waitresses we had and they ruined the evening for me and the birthday guest. Please do not waste your time. I will say the food is good but the service is below average. Will never go back.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
This is hard for us to read, Tiffany. We value our guests greatly, and we didn't show you that when you and your party came in. We apologize for the lack of communication regarding your reservation -- it sounds like we dropped the ball on that one. It's disappointing that you weren't blown away by the service, either. We hope you'll give us another shot to show you this wasn't representative of what we're all about as a restaurant. Take care. -717 Management Team
Alyssa Clement's profile photo
Alyssa Clement
2 months ago
This place is awesome! I highly recommend going here for the lunch :)
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
We're glad to hear you're a big fan of our lunch, Alyssa! Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon! -717 Management Team
Craig Fox's profile photo
Craig Fox
2 months ago
Good food and service. Awesome fish tacos.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
We're so glad to hear this, Craig! Nothing's better than a good fish taco, except maybe great service to go along with it. Hope to see you again soon. -717 Management Team
Barbara Curley
a year ago
Wow, we were so happy to find 717 South! We were in Tampa for the weekend (from Palm Beach County), which included our Anniversary, and I used my phone to find a local restaurant that wasn't one of the high-end chains. We had a wonderful experience, a booth toward the back, quiet and almost private, our server, Michael, was terrific, and our meals were perfect. This restaurant offers great value for the meals, drinks and service. Both thumbs up! They do accept reservations even though we didn't have one (we went fairly early) and there's even parking.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
It sounds like your night with us was truly wonderful, Barbara, and we are so glad we could help make your anniversary special. Although this was quite some time ago, we wanted to follow up with you. We're delighted Michael's service and the dishes you ordered were both great. We hope that if you're ever back in Tampa, you'll stop by again! All the best. -717 Management Team
Ken Goodwin
5 months ago
Reservations were for 6 people at 7:15PM Friday Aug 21st. We arrived promptly at 7:15Pm and were quickly seated. Drink service was slow but not terrible. Appetizers arrived in the appropriate time. We then waited well over an hour for our entrees which did not arrive until 9:15PM. Duck breast was ordered medium well, arrived rare. Pork Delmonico arrived so overdone it was like shoe leather. The excuse was they were working on a new menu. Not sure what that had to do with over/undercooking the food. Very disappointed. Noisy. Stay away.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thanks for reaching out, Ken. I can imagine how frustrating the time lapse and mix-up in temperature of your dishes was. It is true that we are working on a new menu, but that is no excuse for not properly executing your requests. If you order a dish medium well, it should be cooked that way. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we can indeed serve up a mean duck breast, in addition to other great dishes I'm sure you would enjoy as well. Hope to see you back. -Donald, General Manager
Tom From Tulsa
a year ago
Sat at the bar on a Thursday night. A trendy noisy but pleasant atmosphere. The bartender, Christie, was excellent & did not treat me like a tourist. The Pork Lollipop is awesome, although a little pricey, & is worth every cent.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Glad you enjoyed both Christie's attentiveness and the pork you had, Tom. The trek from Tulsa to Tampa isn't a short one, so it's great to know we were able to make you feel at home while you were here. If you're ever in town, we'd love you to come back and dine with us again. -717 Management Team
Mike Pacitti
a year ago
Trendy environment and elegant presentation, but that's all. This place is a paper tiger. Overpriced food made with mediocre ingredients. You can find a much better meal for the price.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
We're sorry that you weren't impressed by your experience with us, Mike. Although your review is a bit old, we still would love to have you back to give us another shot and prove to you that we do have quality ingredients and creative dishes. Hoping to see you again soon. -717 Management Team
Jodie Hawley's profile photo
Jodie Hawley
a year ago
We had dinner here early on Saturday night. The food and service was impeccable. Our server picked my dinner for the night and I'm certain I couldn't done better myself.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Although this review was a while ago, Jodie, we just want to thank you for dining with us and leaving your feedback. We're delighted that you entrusted your meal-making decisions in the hands of your server and that you were so happy with the outcome! We'd love you to come by again and try some of our other staff favorites. -717 Management Team

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
TravelHost Tampa Bay's profile photo

717 South hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.