Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
717 South
Italian Restaurant
Today 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PM
1 follower|1,261,598 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
717 S Howard Ave Tampa, FL 33606
717 South Howard AvenueUSFloridaTampa33606
(813) 250-1661717south.com
Italian Restaurant, Pacific Rim Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Pacific Rim Restaurant
American Restaurant
Bar
Today 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PM
Wednesday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMThursday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMFriday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–11PMSaturday 5–11PMSunday 5–9PMMonday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PMTuesday 11:30AM–2:30PM, 5–10PM
Menu
717 South is proud to bring you fresh and local ingredients. The highest quality hormone free chicken and when possible seafood that is harvested in a sustainable fashion. We wood fire all of our in-house hand cut steaks. 

We have an extensive wine list (over 300 wine bottles) and martini's and specialty drinks from all parts of the world. 

Set within 1920's art deco paintings, wood trim, high ceilings, and an open kitchen, welcomes each patron. 717 South was recently voted TOP 20 Best New Restaurants in Florida, Best Place for Dinner, Best Wines by the Glass, TOP 400 Places to dine in Florida, Best Happy Hour among many others.
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
53 reviews
5 star
25 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
Hot spot dispatching Italian & Pacific Rim fare in an elegant dining room with a lively bar scene.- Google
"Trendy environment and elegant presentation, but that's all."
"I went to this restaurant for a group birthday dinner of 24 people."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
TravelHost Tampa Bay's profile photo
All reviews
Brooks Darnell's profile photo
Brooks Darnell
2 weeks ago
Recently attended my friends birthday and would have to say the service was fantastic and they really went out of there way to accommodate us. The food was really delicious! Would definitely go back.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Brooks, when it comes to birthday parties, we're always so honored to host. On such a special day, your friend deserves star treatment, so we'll give them the food equivalent. Thanks for the awesome shoutout, and we're looking forward to seeing you guys again soon. -717 Management Team
Adiana A's profile photo
Adiana A
2 months ago
EVERYTHING we had was absolutely delightful! Our server Alex was quite charming! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends!
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Adiana, that's exactly what we love to hear! We'll be sending our compliments over to Alex -- seems like he really brightened up your visit. Can't wait to see you and your friends again soon. -717 Management Team
Ken Goodwin's profile photo
Ken Goodwin
9 months ago
Reservations were for 6 people at 7:15PM Friday Aug 21st. We arrived promptly at 7:15Pm and were quickly seated. Drink service was slow but not terrible. Appetizers arrived in the appropriate time. We then waited well over an hour for our entrees which did not arrive until 9:15PM. Duck breast was ordered medium well, arrived rare. Pork Delmonico arrived so overdone it was like shoe leather. The excuse was they were working on a new menu. Not sure what that had to do with over/undercooking the food. Very disappointed. Noisy. Stay away.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Thanks for reaching out, Ken. I can imagine how frustrating the time lapse and mix-up in temperature of your dishes was. It is true that we are working on a new menu, but that is no excuse for not properly executing your requests. If you order a dish medium well, it should be cooked that way. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we can indeed serve up a mean duck breast, in addition to other great dishes I'm sure you would enjoy as well. Hope to see you back. -Donald, General Manager
Tony Brower's profile photo
Tony Brower
3 months ago
While dining a mistake was made with my order. I got a genuine apology and they were quick to fix the situation . Food was good. I'll be back.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
We're really glad we could get that fixed up, Tony! Sorry it happened in the first place, though. We really appreciate that you were so gracious about it, and we hope you'll make it back to see us soon! -717 Management Team
Jonathan Fuhrman's profile photo
Jonathan Fuhrman
3 months ago
Decent meal. Not bad not amazing. Wouldn't consider this place to be Italian. Bar area made the rest of the restaurant noisy.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
We wish that our food really stood out as spectacular to you, Jonathan. Along with that, the noise level should never affect your experience at our restaurant -- we want everyone to enjoy their conversations. Next time, we'd be glad to seat you further away from the bar area. That said, we'd love another chance to give you the delicious meal that you should expect from us. -717 Management Team
Tiffany Rivers's profile photo
Tiffany Rivers
4 months ago
I went to this restaurant for a group birthday dinner of 24 people. We placed a reservation for 8:30 pm and when we arrived at 8:15 we stood up for 37 minutes. Went we got to the table eventually, we were never offered anything. We eventually asked for the complimentary bread and I was advised that it is not given unless every person of the party orders an entrée. Mind you now that this a party of more than 8 and we are about to spend a great amount of money between food and drinks. I really did not like my two waitresses we had and they ruined the evening for me and the birthday guest. Please do not waste your time. I will say the food is good but the service is below average. Will never go back.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
This is hard for us to read, Tiffany. We value our guests greatly, and we didn't show you that when you and your party came in. We apologize for the lack of communication regarding your reservation -- it sounds like we dropped the ball on that one. It's disappointing that you weren't blown away by the service, either. We hope you'll give us another shot to show you this wasn't representative of what we're all about as a restaurant. Take care. -717 Management Team
Brent Cary's profile photo
Brent Cary
3 weeks ago
Phenomenal food, great wine, and the service was unbelievable. Definitely coming back when I'm in town again.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Brent, this is an incredibly kind thing to read -- thank you! It's our pleasure to share great wine and food with you, and we always believe that our service should match that. We can't wait to see you again when you're back in town. -717 Management Team
Alyssa Clement's profile photo
Alyssa Clement
6 months ago
This place is awesome! I highly recommend going here for the lunch :)
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
We're glad to hear you're a big fan of our lunch, Alyssa! Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon! -717 Management Team

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
TravelHost Tampa Bay's profile photo

717 South hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.