Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa, Golf Course and Convention Center
Hotel
67 followers|4,954,181 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Pinned
 
Have you seen our video? Check it out below!
1
Add a comment...
 
It's a beautiful day at Moody Gardens!
1
Add a comment...
 
Be sure to come out to Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks this summer!
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Reginald! He has worked in the hotel for 2 months as a Kitchen Food Runner. He oversees that what you order at Cafe in the Park is correct. He also might be the one bringing you your food. When he's not at work, Reginald loves spending time at church. He is a proud member of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church here in Galveston. He also enjoys cooking, but says he is the most passionate about helping people spread the word of God. Reginald is a great employee and we are lucky to have him. Thank you Reginald for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Olesea! She works as a server at Cafe in the Park. Next time you're in the hotel eating breakfast, lunch or dinner, be sure to look for her. She has worked at the hotel for 3 years. On her days off, Olesea can be found spending time with her husband and 4-year-old daughter. Olesea also likes going to the gym and reading. Olesea is an awesome employee and we are so glad to have her. Thank you Olesea for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
 
Queen-Queen guest room at Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa and Convention Center.
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Byron! He works at Cafe in the Park, our causal restaurant in the hotel. He has worked here for 11 months and helps train, hire, coach and counsel restaurant employees. When not at work Byron is hitting the golf course and tending to his garden and lawn. He also enjoys swimming and cooking. Byron is a proud father of three and loves spending time with his two sons and daughter. Byron is a great employee and we are lucky to have him. Thank you Byron for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
67 people
Mobile Apps for Events's profile photo
Dona Alps's profile photo
DITV Communications (DIRECTV Authorized Dealer)'s profile photo
Tim G's profile photo
My Houston Quinceanera's profile photo
Daniel Rodriguez Realtor's profile photo
Scotts Castle Holidays's profile photo
Glory Creations's profile photo
DataVox's profile photo
 
Don't forget, Shearn's is open on Sundays during the summer!
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Kim! She is a Sales Manager at the hotel. She has worked here for 18 years. Kim books corporate groups and events at the hotel. When she's not working hard, Kim likes to relax and unwind by spending time on the water. She likes to water-ski, go on boat rides and walk alongside the beach. She also enjoys spending time with her husband and daughter. Kim is a great asset to the hotel and we are fortunate to have her. Thank you Kim for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Anselmo! He works security for the hotel and has worked here for 2 years. You will see him walking around making sure everybody is safe. When he is not at work, Anselmo enjoys fishing, cooking and grilling. He also enjoys being physically active by swimming and walking on the seawall. You can also spot him riding the ferry and checking out the Elissa. Anselmo is a great employee and we are glad to have him. Thank you Anselmo for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
 
Meet Maggie! She works as a Convention Services Manager at the hotel. Maggie has worked here for 11 years and ensures that all the events held at the hotel and convention center are a success. If Maggie is not working, she can be found gardening, riding bikes with her husband and admiring historical Galveston architecture. Originally from Poland, Maggie travels home to see her family every two years. Poland's loss is Moody Gardens Hotel's gain. Maggie is a sweet and caring employee and we are lucky to have her. Thank you Maggie for all you do!
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
7 Hope Blvd Galveston, TX 77554
7 Hope BoulevardUSTexasGalveston77554
(409) 741-8484moodygardenshotel.com
Hotel, Convention Center
Hotel
Convention Center
Golf Course
Spa
Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa, Golf Course and Convention Center has everything you need. Complete with beautiful gardens and majestic pyramids, Moody Gardens Hotel is a nine-story, full-service hotel with 428 recently renovated guest rooms, 10 suites and eight junior suites.

Moody Gardens Hotel has a full-service spa and salon, 24 hour fitness center, indoor lap pool and business center. Enjoy a round of golf at our signature golf course on Galveston Island.

Moody Gardens Convention Center has 9,100 square feet of ballroom space that can be divided into 12 meeting rooms and a 60,000 square-foot exhibit hall, which is ballroom quality.
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
People
Have them in circles
67 people
Mobile Apps for Events's profile photo
Dona Alps's profile photo
DITV Communications (DIRECTV Authorized Dealer)'s profile photo
Tim G's profile photo
My Houston Quinceanera's profile photo
Daniel Rodriguez Realtor's profile photo
Scotts Castle Holidays's profile photo
Glory Creations's profile photo
DataVox's profile photo
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$198
Book at Booking.com
Booking links sponsored. $228 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.5
18 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
5 reviews
Beachside resort with modern rooms, a spa, golf, dining & 3 glass pyramids with tropical exhibits.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
ckc75's profile photo
ckc75
7 months ago
I had my in-laws visiting from overseas, so booked 2 joining rooms for a one night stay on Jan 2, 2015. The good: friendly front desk staff who helped with an earlier check-in & also on purchase of tickets for near-by attractions in Moody Gardens. The bad: the room appeared to be comfortable, but our rooms had various issues. a) toilet did not flush (called maintenance staff & they fixed it quickly) b) TV did not show all of the listed channels (called the maintenance team yet again & they had to re-set the receiver to fix the issue) c) after coming back to the hotel around 9pm drenched in rain, sent the kids in first to take a shower, but then noticed the water in the tub was not draining well. I did not end up calling maintenance team for the 3rd time as we were tired & wet from rain. But it wasn't a great feeling taking a shower whilst the water was touching my ankles. The best: I would like to make a special commendation on the "Cafe in the Park" restaurant within the hotel, especially on our server, Jessy, who was our server for both lunch on Friday afternoon & breakfast on Saturday morning. He was the most professional & courteous server that I have ever come across and he made you feel as if you were dining in a very fine establishment. Jessy strikes a fine balance of being attentive but also not being too obtrusive. He made the whole dining experience an absolute pleasure & was the highlight of our family's first stay in Moody Gardens. The lunch servings were generous & the breakfast buffet was better than some of the other 5-star hotels I've previously been to. I would probably rate the hotel room a 1-star, but would give 5-stars for the friendly hotel staff, especially the exceptional service provided by Jessy at Cafe in the Park restaurant & the great food that was served in the same restaurant as well - hence my overall rating of 3-stars.
• • •
George Smith's profile photo
George Smith
10 months ago
Addition to my review regarding the person who gave a bad review mentioning the pool requiring a wrist band. Moody has never required a wrist band at the Hotel pool. I am not sure where that review came from. I stay there several times a year. Just use your door card to enter the gate to the Hotel pool. Also they are too lenient, many people from the Schlitter? water park use the pool and are never questioned. Also the Moody water park is totally free for hotel guests. I stick by my original post, Moody is a top hotel destination and it has been totally renovated this year 2014, a great place to vacation, the hotel is top class, pool and hot tub and. Swim up bar. The gardens has entertainment for all ages.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Mr. Smith, Thank you for leaving such great feedback about your experience at Moody Gardens. You are correct in the past we have not required wrist bands and there were issues with non-guests using our pool. In an attempt to make our guests only policy more effective we started using armbands during the summer of 2014. We had a few kinks in the process to work out in the beginning but I can assure they have all been worked out. The armbands are now an effective and easy way of insuring that hotel guests are the only ones allowed in our pool. We appreciate your loyalty and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Dawn G. Guest Relations Manager
Stephen Alameda
4 months ago
always a pleasure staying there. never have a problrm.
Karen Pullins's profile photo
Karen Pullins
a year ago
Bathrooms were nasty, had mold, and barely worked. Paint was peeling off the ceiling in our room. Paid for a balcony room, got one overlooking the dumpsters. Spa was "booked" but every time I walked by there were 4+ employees just standing around talking in the waiting room. Only one of our key cards worked at any given time, even after getting new ones. Food and staff were just ok. They told us the place was being remodeled when we asked about these things, but didn't offer us any other options or discounts for the pre-remodel experience. Kids will never notice, but we did when they billed us almost $300 for a one night stay. As another review said - a five star price for a one or two star hotel. For the money I expected more, and have experienced far better for less even at convention center hotels like this one. Spend your money at another hotel and buy tickets to the attractions separately.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Ms. Pullins, I apologize for the delay in getting back with you as we are now in the process of responding to google postings. You had every right to be disappointed in your visit and, on behalf of all of us, please accept my most sincere apologies. You are correct that the room you were assigned was not remodeled and we should have made a better selection for you. As of Memorial Day this year all rooms have been completed and we have been getting outstanding feedback. We will attempt to contact you directly regarding your stay and hope to win back your trust. Sincerely, Garvin O’Neil General Manager
Melanie Tindell's profile photo
Melanie Tindell
8 months ago
The hotel room was beautiful, but...... I had reserved a room with the pyramid views...I didn't get it. They closed the outside pool in the morning for maintenance (although no maintenance was being done at the time.) They directed us to a very cold inside lap pool but we couldn't get in because their card reader was broken. Of course they insisted it was my key (they wouldn't let me in they sent me to the front desk) So after two trips to get my room key re-programmed they let me in after a 45 minute ordeal. My four year old LOVES to swim more than anything. So her swim was cut very short due to their unhelpfulness. The night before we bought super ridiculously expensive tickets to the Rainforest exhibit and the Christmas light trail. We got to the Rainforest at 6:15 to be completely in the dark. You ever been in an exhibit in the dark? You can see nothing! We saw two monkeys sleeping. One beside a trashcan and one in a tree. We also saw 2 sleeping birds. There were wall displays but they turned out the lights so who knows what was in there! We complained but to no avail. The person checking us in was pleasant but the morning person the next day kept insisting my key was the problem at the pool was rude. She and her coworker snickered about me when they thought I was out of hearing distance. It was pretty much just an over priced tourist trap. I will never go there again. I've had better experiences at 2 star hotels.
• • •
joanne leigh's profile photo
joanne leigh
a year ago
According to my friend, T-Roy Broussard, you guys suck!!! He says "I have to share this with everyone, I took my wife and daughter to Galveston, Tx this evening. Got an overpriced hotel room at moody gardens at the last minute but figured it was worth it to see my lil girl happy. We were at the pool for over 2 hours having a great time. I asked one of the employees where the towels were because my daughter was cold and ready to get out. She then accused us of trespassing because we didn't have a wrist band on. I assured her we weren't trespassing because I paid a nice sum for a room hours before. Next thing I know, some guy is in my face talking smack right in front of my wife and daughter. Needless to say, he's lucky my wife and daughter were there or I would have shown him some talents I have accrued over my years on this planet. I was embarrassed at the fact my family was harassed and the fact this guy almost provoked me into doing something I would have been sorry for. When it was all said and done,,,the manager apologized and said that he was sorry that this happened to us and he knew who I was. I told him that it shouldn't matter who I am, I am a customer, just like everyone else. Everyone deserves to be treated the same regardless of status. I never consider myself above anyone. In my eyes we are all equal in the eyes of The Lord and I don't have a problem with that. What I do have a problem with,,,,is people who treat others with disrespect. So if you plan on coming to Galveston, Tx. I suggest you stay somewhere other than moody gardens. "
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Ms. Leigh, , Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the delay in responding to you. We were very much aware of T-Roy’s issues at the pool and elsewhere. He had every right to be upset and, on behalf of all of us here at Moody Gardens, please convey to him our most sincere apologies. Please know that, after reading the post, we recalled his visit and we did convey our apologies to him in person and we extended him many courtesies because of our shortcomings. If he felt that our response was not adequate, he is welcome to contact me directly. Our goal is to make all our guests, loyal guests. Sincerely, Garvin O’Neil General Manager goneil@moodygardens.com
Cameron Mobley's profile photo
Cameron Mobley
2 months ago
Everything its beautiful
Russell Haffner's profile photo
Russell Haffner
2 years ago
The hotel staff provides great service. They always went above and beyond to make our stay pleasurable. But, the hotel property is the worst design I have ever seen. There is no easy way to get from one point to another. Be prepared to do a lot of walking.
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Mr. Haffner, I am delighted to read that you had a pleasurable stay at Moody Gardens! Thank you for the great feedback. Moody Gardens is indeed a large property and getting from the hotel to the attractions can involve a lot of walking, when you return please stop by our Bell Stand and inquire about transportation to the attractions, we would be happy to help you get around Moody Gardens. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Dawn G. Guest Relations Manager