Profile

Lakeside
Apartment Building
AboutPhotos
Contact Information
1000 Lakeside Dr Athens, GA 30605
1000 Lakeside DriveUSGeorgiaAthens30605
(706) 369-1010lakesideathens.com
Apartment Building, Student Housing Center
At Lakeside you will have the privacy and lifestyle you deserve in an off campus student community that is built specifically with you, the college student, in mind.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity

Is this your business?

Manage this page
Write a review
Review Summary
1.9
21 reviews
5 star
1 review
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
13 reviews
"This is not a good place to live."
"The managers are douche bags and they will try to charge you overage charges."
"Like every apartment complex, there are ups and downs."
Photos
Upload first public photo
All reviews
Kiara Bray
a month ago
This apartment complex is not geared towards college students. My roommate was in her early 30's. Many of my neighbors were also not college students. There was one incident where a older male was selling items out of the trunk of his car. They also added monthly overage charges for utilities they stated were included when signing the lease. My original lease was altered when I moved in to try to avoid from providing me with a gift card that was offered as a move in promotion. When I moved in the living room had a broken window. Only the frame of the window remained. This was done by the current roommate that was living in the residence. This resident also had a pet that was urinating all over the carpet as I was moving in. There was many stains on the carpet and the smell was horrible. The carpet was changed but then came roaches. The roaches in the kitchen took over. It got to the point that I could no longer buy groceries. When my lease was up I needed to stay a few days longer and was willing to pay fees that the leasing office mentioned when they answered the phone. Once I gave my name it could not be done. I'm sure it's due to my complaining. But my complaints over the year were only due to the living conditions. The image the leasing office protrays is not the true image of the complex.
• • •
Shelby Young
6 months ago
Like every apartment complex, there are ups and downs. However, management typically takes care of any issues in a timely manner once you submit a work order. Honestly, for the rent I pay each month, I feel that I pretty much get what I pay for. It may not be the most high end, but it's a comfortable, quiet space that's close to campus which is something that I value. Pros: close to campus, decent size, quiet, maintenance is awesome Cons: Lots of bugs, always being charged overages, no weather stripping in the old windows which means your room is cold/hot depending on the season and you pay extra in heating and air to keep from melting/freezing
• • •
Jasmine Goolsby's profile photo
Jasmine Goolsby
7 months ago
PLEASE READ ALL OF THIS!!! This was my VERY FIRST time living without my parents, and I'm having the worse experience ever. The demo room is absolutely different from the rooms you will be living in (in a very bad way). I live in a 4 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. My cousin and I live 3 hours from Athens, so our family got up in the morning to move in. When we got there we had to wait 5 hours to move because they did not have our apartment ready on the day they told us we was allowed to move in. When we finally got to move in the couch seats were ripped. The carpet looked like nothing has been done to it. And that was just the beginning. One of the roommates found a tick in her room and a mysterious bug that we cannot identify. A roach fell on my cousin while using the bathroom. And I have bed bugs. I don't know if all the apartments are like the one I am currently living in, but I would not recommend anyone to live there. This is by far one of the worse experiences I have ever had.
• • •
Devin Weise
11 months ago
I lived at Lakeside for 2 years. Pros- Lakeside is a good amount of space for a low price. The location is good, pool is nice, and the gym is nice. Maintenance fixes problems promptly. Cons- Unfortunately, there are a lot more cons. There is never good communication between the staff members, so information is constantly changing. On several occasions I got bills and charges that were incorrect. The most recent problem I had with Lakeside was that they let Charter come into our apartments with no permission or even notification and disconnect the cable in our bedrooms. We then had to go pick up our own boxes. Then there was a miscommunication between Charter and Lakeside about whether to return our box to Charter or leave it in the apartment so we were told we would be charged extra. Our apartment also flooded on several occasions. When, we first moved in the apartment was nothing like the model. Our upstairs neighbors were so loud at all hours of the night. If you do decide to live here, do not sign your lease early! People who wait until the last minute get rewarded with lower rents and $500 gift cards, while people who have renewed by the "deadline" get nothing.
• • •
Sierra Christian
4 months ago
I took over someone else's lease for the first three months I lived there. When I first moved in it I thought I was going to have nice, quiet, and peaceful roommate's whom were also college students. But did I get a surprise, one of the girls I lived with had quite the background on her (I had two computers stolen,clothes, and money) the third roommate had her TV, laptop stolen. Of course Lakeside did nothing about it (which from what I was told the girl didn't even receive a background check when she moved in). She finally got evicted after a month or two of this happening and a few police calls. So when it came time to renew at the end of the three months I decided to give the complex a second chance. This time I had two different roommate's living there. It was fine and dandy for the first couple of months and I decided to go to Guam for three months (I was still paying rent while I was on leave). When I came back the house was destroyed the carpet was a mess (she brought her dogs with her), the couches were torn, ceiling fans and lamps destroyed, and my room was once again broken into (which come to find out one of the roomates decided to have her niece live in my room while I was gone, without even asking if it was fine with me). She was getting evicted anyways because she couldn't afford rent, but she left her dogs in the apartment while she was searching for another place. Of course I thought she already paid the pet fee, come to find out she didn't and Lakeside was trying to charge me for her dogs that she left there, the damages to the carpet, and damages to the other rooms. They also tried to evict me because I had one of my friends come spend the night a few times a week (which I won that court case so jokes on them). Just an awful place to live! The managers are douche bags and they will try to charge you overage charges.
• • •
Julian Traas's profile photo
Julian Traas
7 months ago
My lease expired on July 21, 2014. All the appropriate paperwork was filled out. On August 2nd or 3rd, Lakeside removed $381 from my bank account for no reason. I immediately got on it (I was an unemployed recent college graduate at the time). First they tried to say it was my fault, somehow. On numerous occasions, I sent emails and never received responses. I went into the office and was shrugged off. When I finally got to speak to the manager, this manager was condescending, treating me like a sack of leaky garbage. In the end, it took 6 months to get my refund. Six months. Don't do business with Lakeside. Management is staffed by incompetent dickheads.
• • •
Michael King
7 months ago
The appliances I had were old. They didn't even paint the whole apartment after my old roommates left. I had to argue with the leasing office about getting my disgusting refrigerator cleaned out about 5 times before they did anything and they secretly charged me for it and said it was an "overage." It is cheap and you get what you pay for. The gym has a lot of equipment but they never clean it. Besides that the pool is nice. Leasing office management is a bunch of assholes though.
• • •
Myrha I.'s profile photo
Myrha I.
a year ago
This place sucks! They should seriously consider closing this community. The "management" and staff aren't that friendly and it seems like most of them don't know what they doing. The apartment itself, yes it's cheap but you get what you pay for. Meaning, it's a very old and dirty apartment community. Not well maintained. There's all sorts of bugs and it just looks shitty. I'm glad I'm moving out of here, it's horrible! Rather spend a little extra on another complex than staying here. Not worth your time or money, you'll just get a headache dealing with them!
• • •