Facebook still owns your personal photos and information even after you delete your account.
The truth is that nearly all users have no idea what they're legally agreeing to when they sign up for social networks.
The UK's Telegraph has a nice, super simple summary of some aspects of each network's terms of service.
For example, Facebook's 14,000-word terms of service gives Facebook the legal right to "use your content in any way it sees fit... Facebook can transfer or sub-license its rights over a user’s content to another company or organisation if needed. Facebook’s license does not end upon the deactivation or deletion of a user’s account."http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/social-media/9780565/Facebook-terms-and-conditions-why-you-dont-own-your-online-life.html