Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Rudá Almeida
Um apaixonado por tecnologia e por histórias.
Um apaixonado por tecnologia e por histórias.
About
Rudá's posts

Post has attachment

Post has shared content
Vale MUITO a pena. Um dos melhores jogos que já vi na vida. Incluindo aí mobile, PC e consoles. Jogo lindo, verdadeira obra de arte em bits.

Post has attachment

Música SEN SA CI O NAL! Post-rock de primeira! E made in Brazil! :D

Post has shared content
Basically, nothing is private on media:

"Some people think that if you block a profile, they can't see your posts.  Wrong, very wrong.  All they have to do is click Incognito Mode, and they can see everything you do in Public or on public communities.  Or they can use Firefox or non-Chrome browser and do the same thing.  Or they can use any of their other non-blocked profiles and Pages to do the same.  If you post anything Public or to Public Communities - anyone in the world can see it - blocking does nothing regarding this.  If you have a stalker, they make a fake account and even watch you in private community posts, and can get into your circles pretty easily.  Basically, NOTHING is private on Social Media, and anything in digital form can be viewed, stolen, hacked, altered, and shared to the world."

Blocking Profiles on G+  -  exploring the crucial distinction between "not seeing" and "not being seen."

This is a topic which comes up often on G+:  How does Blocking work?  What does it do?  What doesn't it do?  Will it keep Trolls and Stalkers from seeing my posts?  The nuances of Blocking are complex, and take quite a while to explain.  Just like the concept of Sharing to a Circle is counter-intuitive (circles prevent people from seeing posts, and you don't really share TO anything but your post page), the concept of blocking is also counter-intuitive.  In fact, circles work better to block people from seeing your posts than blocking does, but I digress.

What does blocking a profile do?  All it does is prevent YOU from seeing posts and comments from the profile you blocked, with some exceptions for that if you are a Community Moderator.  It can prevent THAT particular profile from commenting on your Posts.  If that is all you want to do - not see something (which may still be there or even discussing you) - blocking will do that job.   It does nothing to stop the person you blocked from seeing your public posts and comments, checking out your profile and pictures, viewing who you circle or who circles you if you make that public, or making comments on your posts from another account.   Blocking makes them invisible to you, NOT you invisible to them!      

Even worse - and this is the counter-productive part - it puts that person in your "Blocked circle" - which you can find on Your Circles, under the Actions pull down.  This uses up a space in your Circle limit of 5K Profiles or Pages, establishes a "relationship" in G+ between you and the other person, and increases their social status on G+ because you have now "circled" them as far as G+ tallies that and shows up as one more person who has circled them on G+.  (Your card will not show up as a Circler though on their profile).

Some people think that if you block a profile, they can't see your posts.  Wrong, very wrong.  All they have to do is click Incognito Mode, and they can see everything you do in Public or on public communities.  Or they can use Firefox or non-Chrome browser and do the same thing.  Or they can use any of their other non-blocked profiles and Pages to do the same.  If you post anything Public or to Public Communities - anyone in the world can see it - blocking does nothing regarding this.  If you have a stalker, they make a fake account and even watch you in private community posts, and can get into your circles pretty easily.  Basically, NOTHING is private on Social Media, and anything in digital form can be viewed, stolen, hacked, altered, and shared to the world.

What about blocking trolls making comments on my posts?  Again, blocking is not the best tool, although it might be a quick fix in the short run.  If it is your post - just delete the comments by the troll.  If it is someone else's post - flag the comments as abuse if you like and they can delete them later.  If you do block a troll, remember to remove them from your blocked list eventually so they don't keep the relationship benefits mentioned above.

Another hazard of blocking is that sometimes people do it as a joke, or do it when mad - and later decide to be friends again or end the joke.  But because of some G+ glitches, sometimes a block is permanent and can't be reversed.  To unblock a person, you can do it via your Blocked Circle - remove them from it, or via their profile - go to it and click the arrow by the name and unblock them.

To see how many people have blocked YOU, look at the number of people G+ lists as "have you in circles" on your About page (you may need to Edit and Show it to see it).  Then go to People on the left side Pull down, choose "Have you in circles" and see the count of the profiles shown there.  The difference is how many have you in their invisible "Blocked circle".  I currently have 420 people on G+ who wasted a circle spot blocking me, and ironically, some of them have circled my Business Pages, and vice versa.  

Is blocking censorship?  I have a right to free speech in Public forums.   Blocking does not constitute infringement on your first amendment right to free speech, which means the government can't prevent you from speaking your opinions in public or punish you for it, with exceptions.  G+ is not a public forum - it is a private company service provided to people who agree to the TOS.  You can say what you like on your Post page (with exceptions) - but the people who block you don't have to listen to it, or listen to it on their own posts.  You can't force people to be interested in what you have to say.  Deal with it.  It is "censorship" in the pure meaning of the word, but not in the first amendment sense of the word.

Some people think G+ should "do more" to enhance privacy on social media.  Oxymoron, anyone?  G+ is Free - you and your habits and connections are what they use to make enough money off you to allow you the free services and benefits.  They strive to MAKE connections, not break them.  If you want even a bit of privacy, don't join, use, or post on social media or the internets.  Or at least do it from an anonymous account.  You can report profiles for abuse, but if G+ does delete their account, they will just make another, and be even madder at you for the trouble.  

Cheers, and Have fun.  


#block   #blocked    #blocking     #blockityblockblock    
#incognito   #stalker     #censorship  

Post has attachment
E se o Natal fosse dirigido por Steven Spielberg, Sergei Eisenstein, Wes Anderson, Woody Allen, Lars Von Trier, Martin Scorsese, Michael Moore, Stanley Kubrick, Werner Hertzog e Baz Luhrmann?

Post has attachment
This is the kind of technology that Three-Letter Agencies could only dream of a decade ago; now, such software is commonplace and often runs in the background, by default. [With tagging and face recognition], Facebook will have the necessary information to know where he is and have an idea about what he’s doing. (...)

Facebook isn’t currently doing this. But all of the systems are in place to make it trivially easy to do so, and while it might be prohibitively costly to do it for the whole world, it’s downright easy to do it for “persons of interest”. (...)

Much of the concern over tools like Google Glass has centred around the ubiquity of recording. To me, it’s not the pictures that matter—it’s that we’re training the machine to find context within them in shared environments. The rapid convergence of anonymous data collection, crowd-sourced tagging, and central sharing changes the game dramatically.

A world in which every public sighting is part of a searchable record of our activity is a strange one indeed.

Post has attachment

Post has attachment
Tecnoativistas do movimento Demand Progress respodendo agora a peguntas sobre Aaron Schwartz, leis abusivas de repressão online, com participação de the Electronic Frontier Foundation, Fight for the Future, the Competitive Enterprise Institute, Orin Kerr, Jennifer Granick, Lawrence Lessig, Tim Berners Lee, etc.

Post has attachment
Meus contatos estão ocupando 24 MB no meu celular. Tenho por volta de 2000 contatos no gmail, mas não preciso de todos eles no android. Existe alguma forma de:

1) sincronizar apenas um grupo com o android, ou:
2) mover os contatos para o cartão SD, ou:
3) outras idéias?
Photo
Wait while more posts are being loaded