Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Russ Walsh
254 followers -
Reading Instruction Elder Statesman
Reading Instruction Elder Statesman

254 followers
About
Posts

Post has attachment
A Back to School Reminder
As teachers across the country return to school across the country over the next few days, I thought I would share this poem I wrote many years ago. The poem is written from the prospective of a parent and is a reminder of the sacred trust that every teache...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
The 4th Annual National Give-A-Kid-A-Book Day
Children's Activity at Fallsington Library Today, July 6, 2018, marks the 4th annual National Give-A-Kid-A-Book Day. This is the yearly celebration dedicated to getting books into children's hands over the summer. Literacy research has shown that the single...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
On July 4th: Celebrating a Nation of Immigrants
As a young teacher, I got an object lesson in America's great legacy of immigrant achievement. My first job, in the early 1970s, was teaching American History and Civics at Bristol Junior-Senior High School in Bristol, Pennsylvania. Bristol was the very inc...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Supreme Court Sticks It To the Union, Again
The increasingly conservative Supreme Court decided to side with the rich and moneyed in the so-called Janus ruling yesterday. The ruling seemed inevitable. In fact, I predicted this day would come in a post 4 years ago, SCOTUS Sticks It To The Union . Just...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
On the Passing of Donald Hall: Poet, Children's Book Author, Baseball Fan
Donald Hall at work in his office (photo: Tony Cenicola, NYT) I read in Monday morning's New York Times, that Donald Hall, former Poet Laureate of the United States, a New England poet and writer in the tradition of Robert Frost and Richard Wilbur, had died...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Fostering a Love for Reading in Children
A recent article in Education Week Teacher caught my attention. The article "Four Steps to Building a Magnificent Classroom Library" , by primary grades teacher, Justin Minkel, offers some solid advice for making sure your in-class library is an effective r...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Exploding the Canon: Do Students Really Need to Read "The Scarlet Letter"?
Raise your hand if you were assigned reading The Scarlet Letter in high school. Keep your hand up if you actually read it. Continue to keep your hand up if you enjoyed it. I'm betting the raised hands are dwindling. The Scarlet Letter is one of those works,...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
A Thank You to My Readers: 1 Million Strong Today
Today this blog attracted its one millionth reader according to the little counter that Blogger provides to users of their service. While this number is dwarfed by many of the great education bloggers out there, it still marks a big milestone for me. I star...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
The Folly of Test and Punish Education Reform
In April the NAEP Test scores were released and even the most ardent advocates of test-based education reform had to be disappointed. Scores were, at best, flat, failing to recover from the 2015 drop in scores. Mike Petrilli of the reform minded Fordham Fou...
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Following the Child: What Does that Look Like?
David Last week my post, Follow the Child, Not the Program,  discussed the importance of taking our cues from the children we are teaching and not sticking slavishly to a program. This week I got an object lesson in just exactly what this means from my 14-m...
Add a comment...
Wait while more posts are being loaded