Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
African Safari Wildlife Park
Zoo
Today 9AM–7PM
6 followers|2,034,469 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
267 S Lightner Rd Port Clinton, OH 43452
267 South Lightner RoadUSOhioPort Clinton43452
ZooToday 9AM–7PM
Sunday 9AM–7PMMonday 9AM–7PMTuesday 9AM–7PMWednesday 9AM–7PMThursday 9AM–7PMFriday 9AM–7PMSaturday 9AM–7PM
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
6 people
Ochieng Florence's profile photo
larry johnson's profile photo
Laura LoCricchio's profile photo
MaxValues's profile photo
Art Bar's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
4.0
108 reviews
5 star
52 reviews
4 star
25 reviews
3 star
16 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
9 reviews
Large park with a range of African animals such as monkeys & ocelots, plus shows & tours.- Google
"It was great kids loved it bring a lot of carrots and use older vec."
"We liked the pig races, the mini-zoo and the reptile educational show."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Liz W's profile photo
Liz W
in the last week
I had never been to an "African Safari" park before, so I had high hopes. Unfortunately this place wasn't worth the time, drive, or money. We arrived at the front gate and there were 4 cars ahead of us. We sat for about half an hour waiting for those 4 cars to simply pay at the booth while a very long line of cars formed behind us (they closed one of the two lanes after the first car sat there for 15 minutes). The actual drive through the safari part was okay, although they charge $8 for a bag of carrots and a cup of feed that lasts about 1/10 of the way through the safari drive....and the workers are sitting around the lot with binoculars, so don't bother trying to sneak in your own carrots (and be prepared for pushy animals that will chew your car if you aren't handing out enough food). After the drive we watched the pig races....kids liked that, but it was short and nothing special. Then we went to feed the kangaroos - but they want $5 per person to stand there and feed kangaroos with a long ladle, through a fence. We continued on our way and went for camel rides. The first "ride" is free, additional times are $5. They walk the camel around in a very small circle, less than 5 minutes long. Then we went to what I guess you can call an animal show....they had a tarantula, a turtle, and a snake, and that's it. You could hold the snake and get your picture taken with it - for another $5. My favorite part, though, was when we went to the gift shop and my niece paid with a 20 but got change for a 10. When we complained, the girl gave us a hard time at first and refused to call her manager or count out her register. Eventually she gave the money back, but then she whispered to her coworker that I was trying to rip her off and now her register would be short.....so I once again asked for the manager to come count her register but she just kept saying "I can't do that." We left after that........I can guarantee I will never be going back.
• • •
Frank Morgan's profile photo
Frank Morgan
3 weeks ago
I bought the tickets on groupon before I went there. Then I was asked to pay $5 per tickets when I got there. It turned out to be more expensive than if you just buy the tickets at the door. I'm not sure it's the park problem or groupon problem. I felt being ripped off. and also, the safari lasts only 20 minutes.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Frank, Thank you for taking the time to review us. With your price of admission, guests are allowed to go through the Drive-Thru Safari as many times as they wish to maximize time spent with the animals. Some of the Groupon offers exclude specific date ranges. We would be happy to discuss this with you further if you like by calling 1-(800)-521-2660 or by emailing us at info@africansafariwildlifepark.com .
Bea Cee's profile photo
Bea Cee
2 months ago
We visited many years ago. It seems a lot better now! Enjoyed the auto drive the best. We only looked at animals we didn't feed them. There was a couple of young staff people on an ATV or whatever you call it. They startled a buffalo and it almost hit our car. Scary. I realize this may be your way of herding them but you may want to be more careful about this. Outside of that we had a fun afternoon.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have implemented training to assure our staff is more aware and careful when driving golf carts through the Park. Outside of that, we're glad you had a great afternoon and made lots of wonderful memories with our animals!
Aaron Simmons's profile photo
Aaron Simmons
a month ago
For a small town in Ohio, this is a big adventure. Fun for all ages, very educational and fun. Staff is very nice and educated about the animals. This is an experience that is a must see if you are in northern Ohio.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Aaron, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so thrilled to hear you had a great time at African Safari. Be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win a free pass for your next visit!
Holly Kamal's profile photo
Holly Kamal
a month ago
This place is amazing! Unfortunately this was one of our first Drive thru safaris... so many of the others we visited since have been a disappointment. They are friendly, and the animals are hilarious. Plan to wash the car when it's over, and try to come in a vehicle where all the windows open, unlike a van. Bring your video camera...it's a great time for every age! We're going today. ..and the whole group is excited. Groupon has great deals for this place.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Holly, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear you had a WILD time at African Safari and made memories with our wonderful animals. Be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win free passes for your next visit!
Jeremy Potts's profile photo
Jeremy Potts
a month ago
This place was pretty cool. My 4 year old loved the drive through and walking area. Word of caution, some animals have horns and some like to nibble your car if you don't feed😉. We had plenty of food we bought there though. The giraffes and zebras we the best part. Though having the llamas stick their heads in the car was awesome. No five star since some of the staff seemed less than pleased to be there. Also, used a Groupon for cheap entry.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you made some memories with our wonderful animals! We are working daily with our staff to make sure each guest receives outstanding customer service. If you wish to discuss this further, please email info@africansafariwildlifepark or call 1-800-521-2660.
Brookelyn Johnson's profile photo
Brookelyn Johnson
5 months ago
Overall if you haven't been you should definitely visit. My family and I have to drive over two hours to visit and still make the trip. Yes there can be a small wait but the experience is unforgettable. When we go, my family and I typically get there late morning early afternoon and the animals are pretty hungry and wanting to eat. I recommend buying the carrots, that is truly what will draw the animals to your car the fastest. Although, the cup of pellets they give you will eventually draw some animals the carrots definitely do a better job. You can circle around as many times as you wish, so if you want to try without carrots and then change your mind you can! Do not bang on your car to get animals attention as this just deters them from you and those behind you. They do have a free vacuum before you leave to clean up pellets that may have fallen into your car. It's a good vacuum and I would recommend, if you have the time, to take advantage of it!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hi Brookelyn - Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're so glad you and your family have such a pleasant experience each time to visit us. We pride ourselves in maintaining quality guest experience and customer service. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Like us on Facebook for chances to win passes to visit us again.
Pat Thomasson's profile photo
Pat Thomasson
a week ago
Watch out for the reindeer! They will take your feed cup. Nothing you can do but not try to feed em. Save carrots for the Giraffes. We liked the pig races, the mini-zoo and the reptile educational show. There's a snack bar but we packed a cooler, parked in the shade and picnicked in the car.

Stream

Have them in circles
6 people
Ochieng Florence's profile photo
larry johnson's profile photo
Laura LoCricchio's profile photo
MaxValues's profile photo
Art Bar's profile photo

African Safari Wildlife Park hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.