Profile cover photo
Profile photo
James Rubin
Maryland Employment Lawyer.
Maryland Employment Lawyer.


Post has attachment
Maryland Misclassification Cases Often Start with a Claim for Unemployment
Where can Maryland employees misclassified as independent contractors go to file a claim?  The unemployment  office is one place they can go (after they are terminated from the job). Maryland's unemployment law has a restrictive test for employment status. ...
Commenting is disabled for this post.

Post has attachment
Maryland Paid Sick Leave Law Vetoed by Govenor Hogan
  On May 25, 2017, Governor Hogan vetoed the " Maryland Healthy Working Families Act ."  This Act would have mandated that private-sector employers who employ more than 15 employees provide paid sick leave.    Employees would have earned 1 hour of paid sick...

Post has attachment
Maryland False Claims Act of 2015: State Law Protection for Whistleblowers
The Maryland False Claims Act took effect June 1, 2015.  The main provisions of the Act:  Prohibit a person from knowingly making a false or fraudulent claim for payment or approval by the government;  Permit a private citizen to file a civil action on beha...

Post has attachment
Minimum Wage Increases in Montgomery and Prince George's Counties effective October 1, 2015.
Effective October 1, 2015, the minimum wage in Montgomery and Prince George's Counties went up to $9.55 per hour. For the other counties in Maryland, the minimum wage is $8.25. Here is the Maryland Department of Labor's minimum wage site. Here is the Mary...

Post has attachment

Post has attachment

Post has attachment
Summary of Maryland Leave Law
Law Employer
Size Leave Summary Federal
Family and Medical Leave Act Employers
with 50 or more employees 12
workweeks of unpaid leave in a 12-month period; 26
workweeks of leave during a "single 12-month period" to care for a
covered servicememb...

Post has attachment
The Maryland Parental Leave Act
 The Maryland Parental Leave Act requires requires employers with 15 to 49 employees to provide employees with unpaid
parental leave. An eligible employee may take up to a total of six weeks of parental leave in a 12-month period for the birth, adoption, or...

Post has attachment
Montgomery County Employers Will Be Required to Provide Paid Sick Leave Beginning October 1, 2016
    Montgomery County is one of the few jurisdictions that require all employers provide paid sick leave.  That is the law under the  Earned Sick and Safe Leave Act passed by the Montgomery County Council.       All employees will be entitled to accrue one ...

Post has attachment
Maryland's Highest Court to Hear Oral Arguments in Two Employment law Case in November 2014
The Maryland Court of Appeals (our highest Court) will hear oral argument in two employment law cases in November 2014 . In Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1300 v. Lovelace, the Court is reviewing whether a disgruntled union officer's court claims against h...
Wait while more posts are being loaded