Misfeatures of the day... poking around with systems is what I do. I figured some people might want to know more about how G+ works and fails to work.
I keep finding things about Google Plus that are disturbing. Today I found the most disturbing issue so far. Google Plus actively lies to me. I went to my profile to use the feature to see what people see when they view my profile as... I'd noticed issues with this feature yesterday. Today I kept it simple - what does Anyone on the web see, what is public. It showed me 0 posts. Then I logged out of G+ and Gmail and checked my profile as a not logged in person and I see my public posts. This is what I was expecting to see, of course, but it lied to me about what Anyone on the web would see.
My best guess is that there is an issue related to my public posts being old. Yesterday when testing what different people can see, I noticed posts being randomly absent when viewing it as if I am them. I can see the posts in my own profile. I have no way of knowing whether or not other people can actually see my older posts. This, unfortunately, is part of a growing trend I am noticing of G+ making it extremely unclear how things display such that this is the only site I've regularly used where I strongly feel that I ought to have a second account just for the purpose of knowing how various aspects of my primary account display. Because I care about details.
That is the only truly blatant misfeature. Although I find it obnoxious that when I view my profile as somebody else, it does not display my security information the way they see it, but displays it the way that I see it. If I click on a limited post from my profile displayed as somebody else then I see all of the names listed even if there are more than twenty, while I highly suspect the person in question cannot see this. That's misleading, but not horribly broken.
Investigating sparks showed me that some of the things listed in the sparks have +1 or +2 or +3 after them. Presumably people I've circled have plussed them. That is my assumption. I cannot check, because unlike everywhere else on the site where I have seen +# when I click on the +# I do not get a list of who has plussed it - nothing at all happens. I find this to be irritating, but it is not horribly broken the way I view the inaccuracy of my profile display to be. It just seems to be the stupidest compromise in privacy yet. If whether or not somebody has plussed it is private information, then I feel like I should not see it at all. If it is information that should be available to me, then I feel I should be able to see who has plussed it. I am fairly sure if I were interested enough, I could figure it out simply by temporarily removing people from my circles one by one until the count changed and then re-adding them (although I haven't actually tried that). I just don't actually care about who plussed what. But I dislike this partial info and this violation of my expectations of the interface working consistently. It isn't actually keeping the information private, so why make it difficult to obtain? And by doing so, they may set up an expectation of privacy for information that clearly is not actually private.
This is not a misfeature exactly, but a lack of feature. Apparently you are not notified in any way when someone completely removes you from all circles. This may or may not be a good thing. I think it's probably less than ideal. You should probably have the choice of being notified. But what makes this especially annoying is that while you can easily filter your list of who has circled you to people you haven't circled and your list of people who have circled you has a symbol on each person you have circled, your list of people you have circled has no marker or indication of whether or not somebody has circled you. This means if you want to clean up your list of people you've circled to consider removing people who aren't that interested in staying close as they have indicating by removing you, it is tedious to determine which people these are. I expect this to become much more of an annoyance if people continue to use the site for long periods of time, because that is when list clean-ups become really useful.
G+ continues to randomly mark one of my friends as intermittently sharing via email only for no apparent reason. He flips back and forth between his account being accessible to me and inaccessible. When it is inaccessible to me, it is also inaccessible to a mutual friend. At this point I know that he does not not know why this happens, and he is able to access his account, even when it looks to me like his profile has vanished.
G+ continues to toggle between two different name displays for various different people I've circled on the circles page, while their profile names remain unchanged. I do not know where these alternate names that it sometimes displays for them have come from. I continue to wonder whether it ever changes my name, since I have no way to see how my own name looks in the page of people someone has circled or been circled by. It worries me for potential privacy issues, because they had to have gotten these alternate names from somewhere, but I do not know where. But as I don't know, I don't know if it is actually a privacy issue. It is one of the reasons that I feel like I need a second account just to know what my primary account is displaying. However, I am refraining from getting a second account and simply going with the strategy of not getting too attached to G+ instead and being careful what info I put on the site.
Oh, and filtering to who has recently updated continues to be utterly hilarious. I am fairly sure this feature is simply broken. But if it isn't, then they have some incredibly bizarre definitions, since I've had people without G+ accounts in-between people who have made G+ posts. I think there may be some data to this filter, but it's mixed in with a lot of weird noise.