Google+ ProKvetching: Edit: This problem has been mostly addressed. See https://plus.google.com/113892479804684135897/posts/dtK1AH2n5u2.

Some important things to remember about post access, which I suggest you read if you care about the privacy of your postings here, as it's not all immediately evident:

When someone is +mentioned (for example, +Sierra Kempster ), in a posting that person then have access to the post and its comments, even if they were not initially specified as having access to the post.

When someone is +mentioned by you in a comment to a post the person mentioned then has access to the post and its comments, even if they were not initially specified as having access to the post by the original poster and even if you later delete the comment that mentions that person.

When someone is +mentioned by someone else (other than the original poster) in a comment to a post the person mentioned then has access to the post and its comments, even if they were not initially specified as having access to the post by the original poster and even if the original poster later deletes the comment that mentions that person.

Edit due to bugfix: If "disable reshare" has been selected on a limited post, +mentioning in comments, by either the original poster or anyone else, does NOT grant access.

I'm not sure that the behavior specified in the third case above is desirable.

For example, let's say I wanted to throw someone (for example, David Schlesinger) a surprise party, and make a post to plan it with a limited circle of our mutual friends and acquaintances. If any one of those friends or acquaintances then +mentions +David Schlesinger in a comment, he now has access to the post and all its comments, with no way to remove it. He will then know all about what we planned to have popping out of that giant cake; how sad!

I can think of a few considerably more malicious scenarios.

I'm not sure how the best way to go about implementing this in the UI, but it seems like it would be useful, and perhaps vital, for an original poster to be able to remove access to a given post that was later added by someone other than the original post through a +mention in comments.

What do you think?

(Many thanks to +Wade Aaron Inganamort, +Sierra Kempster, and +Autumn Tyr-Salvia for helping me test some of these scenarios out last night. This has been sent as feedback, but I'm not sure the G+ team sees this issue as a bug.)
Shared publiclyView activity