Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
DiNardo's Famous Seafood
Seafood Restaurant$$
Today 11AM–10:30PM
3 followers|1,114,689 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
312 Race St Philadelphia, PA 19106
312 Race StreetUSPennsylvaniaPhiladelphia19106
(215) 925-5115dinardos.com
$$Seafood Restaurant, Oyster Bar Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Oyster Bar Restaurant
Lobster Restaurant
Bar
Today 11AM–10:30PM
Friday 11AM–10:30PMSaturday 11AM–10:30PMSunday 3–9PMMonday 11AM–9:30PMTuesday 11AM–9:30PMWednesday 11AM–9:30PMThursday 11AM–9:30PM
Menu
A tradition in Philly for over 38 years, family-owned DiNardo’s Famous Seafood flies in fresh crabs daily for your shell-cracking, claw-sucking feast!
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
3.1
63 reviews
5 star
21 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
21 reviews
Crabs served Baltimore-style or sautéed-garlic-style head the menu at this longtime seafood spot.- Google
"The Crab stuffed shrimp and garlic crab were very good!"
"I went to 2 weeks ago purchased the grilled seafood salad."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
3 people
Dog House Art Gallery's profile photo
Ralph Massimo's profile photo
Camille Davis's profile photo
All reviews
JJ Irwin
a week ago
I went with my roommate and did the $35-dollar restaurant week deal. I ordered the raw bar trio and the fish of the day which is Tuna with a ginger sauce and some sort of crab on top. My roommate ordered buffalo Shrimp and a petite fillet/w crab cake. To make this short and simple, service was HORRIBLE. If it was crowded, it would be a different story. Food timing was HORRIBLE. It took about a good 20 minutes to prepare my RAW food and fry about 4 pieces of shrimp and dump some sauce on it. Food presentations was HORRIBLE. It looked like a child put the plate together, to dress up the plate, all they did was sprinkle a TON of unnecessary parsley all over the plate which was HIGHLY UNENECESSARY. My tuna was WAY OVER COOKED and had a RUBBER consistency AND they FORGOT to put the 2-3 oz crab on top. My baked potato was burnt and overcooked. Butter and sour cream was only available on request. To top it all off, they ran out of ALL but one of the deserts for RESTAURANT WEEK. The only thing available was some crappy cake. When I talked to the "manager" she was unmoved and not apologetic. All she did was give my meal for free. It seemed like she did not even care. I received NO apology. To top that off, the people that were in front of us when we got there, also got HORRIBLE SERVICE AND FOOD. All I can say is that the FOOD, SERVICE, AMBIANCE WAS HORRIBLE. This “manager” needs to get her act together if she wants to make that business succeed. This restaurant dwells in the past and cannot succeed if they don’t move and cater to the newer generations. YES, they may have been the best seafood place back in the day, BUT TODAY they completely failed at that. You would think they would prepare for Restaurant Week if they participated in it. They should have enough food and have the staff working over 100% to show the new customers who they really are and what they are known for. They completely FAILED at gaining new customers. For what I see now, management is sinking this ship fast.
• • •
John Smith
5 months ago
They were horrible. The hostess (who was clueless) seated me in the bar because I didn't have a reservation, even though the restaurant was empty (I wonder why). The crabmeat was subpar, and the dumb a-- bartender who served us, didn't even bring anything to eat the crab with. I was told they were the best in philly. I think that may be greatly exaggerated or the product of advertising. It was interesting. When I watched their commercial, everyone, including the owners, looked unhappy. Now I know why. They were very rude and I could get better food at Long John Silver's...
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
John, if you left unhappy, I want to apologize. We don't make a habit of disappointing customers, though I can understand your frustration with being served a meal without utensils. I'm not certain what day or time you dined with us, but it's likely that the majority of tables were reserved for a time that was slightly after when you arrived but too close to allow us to seat you at one. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. We have a long history of serving Philly's finest seafood, and I'd love another chance to prove that reputation is well-deserved. Best wishes, Liz Massimo, Owner
Lupe Martin's profile photo
Lupe Martin
a year ago
I went to 2 weeks ago purchased the grilled seafood salad. I must say it was a beautiful salad. Today sad to say my experience was horrible. I ordered the same salad and crab bisque soup for lunch. The salad was litter with spring mix which had gone bad. It was black and slimy. I called and spoke to the manager and was told a new salad would be made. I returned with the salad showed the manager the salad. She apologized and had a new salad waiting. Because of my schedule I didn't get to eat my salad for lunch. So it became my Dinner. I open the salad to discover the same bad batch of spring mix was used which contained black slimy lettuce throughout the salad with a bonus prize of a hair included. Seriously!!!!! Unfortunately, they were already closed for the day. I will be returning the Salad for a refund tomorrow and Shall never return to this establishment. How can this be possible? My first experience was Excellent. Second experience was a Nightmare!!! I hope the owner sees this review and handles the staff accordingly.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Lupe, you've got every right to be upset and surprised. It was inexcusable enough for us to serve you a poor salad once much less twice in a row. As you've noted in the past, we typically serve fresh, delicious and very appetizing food. That's still who we are. I will be checking in with the kitchen about your feedback and making sure this never happens again, and I want to apologize once again for the upsetting experience. Best wishes, Liz Massimo, Owner
Logan Lynn Roberts's profile photo
Logan Lynn Roberts
2 years ago
This is a hidden Philadelphia Gem!! Go early so you get the best crabs...they fly them in fresh every day from what I hear!! The biggest go the fastest, plan for a messy night & a lot of drawn butter but it's well worth the indulgence!
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hearing this glowing feedback is more rewarding than you know! Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us, Logan. Next time you're craving fresh crab -- come on over! You've always got a spot at our table. Cheers, Liz Massimo, Owner
Laura Norton
3 months ago
Needs help! Stuffed shrimp came broiled or fried with cocktail sauce. ?? Isn't it usually baked with melted butter on the side?? Also the crab was fishy tasting. If you eat a lot of seafood you know what I mean. Crab imperial was a mayonnaise based "cream sauce". Sautéed green bean side, beans were well cooked but tasted like green beans and garlic. I felt like I was on a "before episode" with Gordon Ramsey. Will say the staff was very pleasant and attentive.
• • •
Lawrence Miller's profile photo
Lawrence Miller
8 months ago
TL;DR: Adequate food but WAY too expensive. We began our lunch with the cheesesteak egg rolls, which were well prepared but unimaginative and undersized at $8.50. I ordered the fried oyster po boy, as it had the same number of oysters as the platter and was the same price. The oysters were a little small but tasted good. I would have expected a long roll, but the oysters were served on a toasted round roll instead. The roll was likely from a local bakery, and was fresh and tasty. A house-made remoulade and cocktail sauce accompanied. At $12, this was only mildly overpriced. My companion ordered the fried flounder sandwich ($9.50), which arrived on the same kind of roll and appeared to be a freshly breaded and fried fillet, not a frozen slab. A modest pile of fries accompanied each sandwich. These were run-of-the-mill frozen fries, but fried nicely and dusted with old bay seasoning. For dessert, I had a slice of key lime pie, which was perfectly good, but obviously wasn't made in-house, and when the check arrived, I was surprised to learn that it cost $8.25. Service was adequate, but nothing special considering how empty the dining room was at the time. Soda and tea were each $3, bringing our tab for two with two soft drinks, one appetizer, two sandwiches, and one dessert to $55 with tax and tip. That's just more than lunch was worth. We'll not be returning.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Lawrence, words like "adequate" and "expensive" definitely aren't what I like to hear. I'm sorry if we missed a chance to serve you a more impressive meal and demonstrate our value. I do love that you could tell we use fresh ingredients and locally-sourced food. We also fly our crabs in from the gulf! I hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future -- I know we can prove our worth and make you a very satisfied customer. Thank you, Liz Massimo, Owner
SSundee's profile photo
SSundee
a year ago
Linda was extremely friendly and very personable. We had a wonderful dining experience. Linda is an outstanding server. The food was terrific!
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thank you for the kind words, Maray! Linda is indeed a wonderful member of our team, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments. I hope you'll be back soon for more of the service and food you love! Best wishes, Liz Massimo, Owner
Bruce Segal's profile photo
Bruce Segal
3 weeks ago
Trading on it's past glory. Slow service. Dirty.

Stream

Have them in circles
3 people
Dog House Art Gallery's profile photo
Ralph Massimo's profile photo
Camille Davis's profile photo

DiNardo's Famous Seafood hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.