Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill's profile photo
Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Seafood Restaurant$$
Today 10:00 am – 10:00 pm
Contact Information
1520 Lakeside Dr Oakland, CA 94612
1520 Lakeside DrUSCAOakland94612
$$Seafood Restaurant, American RestaurantToday 10:00 am – 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am – 10:00 pmTuesday 11:00 am – 10:00 pmWednesday 11:00 am – 10:00 pmThursday 11:00 am – 10:00 pmFriday 11:00 am – 11:00 pmSaturday 10:00 am – 11:00 pmSunday 10:00 am – 10:00 pm
Google+ URL
Your Activity

Is this your business?

Manage this page
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
269 reviews
5 star
57 reviews
4 star
135 reviews
3 star
74 reviews
2 star
20 reviews
1 star
12 reviews
Scenic spot in a renovated boathouse with patio seats offering a basic seafood menu & cocktails.- Google
People talk about happy hour, crab cakes, gondola ride, brunch and oysters
Featured by Zagat
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Reviews from around the web
All reviews
Mike Wilson's profile photo
Mike Wilson
reviewed 2 months ago
Lets start off with the view. This is the perfect place on lake Merritt to eat and look over the lake. The staff was friendly and the food (breakfast) was amazing. The pancakes and eggs Benedict tasted great. If it is a nicer day be sure to sit outside, if not don't worry as the view inside is great too.
Esheté Bekele's profile photo
Esheté Bekele
reviewed 5 months ago
How long does it take for the owners to figure it out. Place has the best view and location but lacks variety plus the quality of food is very poor. Sad to say but I only come here for drinks and even that needs improvement. I would not recommend to bring clients here. Please hire good managers so they can employ better people to get your standards higher.
Liked: Atmosphere
Disliked: Food, Service, Value
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
I'm so sorry to hear you feel this way about our cooking, Eshete. We put a lot of care and passion into our menu, only using the best quality ingredients. We do hold ourselves to a high standard, yet we appreciate your feedback. If you have a moment, would you mind explaining what you think we could do better next time? What do you think the food and drinks need? Hope to hear more from you! Thanks again and take care. —Lara Truppelli, Owner
bruk dunbar's profile photo
bruk dunbar
reviewed 9 months ago
I hate to do this because I actually like the place a lot but I have gotten seriously ill from the food there three times. I know. Why do I go back? Because people keep inviting me there and I like the view. The first time I got sick I was served bad oysters. Like ate one and then realized that the others were visibly bad and milky. Ain't no sick like bad oyster sick. Second time it could have been many things but the last thing was a salad. I got super sick almost immediately. I decided to look up the health reports and boy howdy, they speak for them self! Be warned!
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
First, allow me to apologize if you have ever gotten ill while eating with us. Nothing is more important than the health and safety of our guests and we make every effort to ensure that our kitchen meets every standard and code set by the city. That said, food poisoning generally takes about a day to actually take effect, so if you got sick immediately after eating a salad, it makes me doubt whether the salad was the true culprit. You also say that there was a third instance of illness? If you could provide any more details, that would certainly help us to ensure that we live up to our values with greater consistency. — Kind Regards, Lara Truppelli, Owner
Janet Murray's profile photo
Janet Murray
reviewed 4 months ago
Lake Chalet was stellar. We arrived early for our reservation, and , Lou, the hostess found us a table within 15 minutes. The wait-staff was right-on-it, and pleasant. When we left, Lou even helped us find a displaced hair comb. I give Lake Chalet 5 stars!
Tu Lam's profile photo
Tu Lam
reviewed 8 months ago
Our small group of 4 grabbed a seat outside in the patio for happy hour. You make your way into the outside patio and find an empty table and seat yourself. It was a warm day to enjoy the outside eating. The 3-6-9 menu ranged from a few bite size appetizers ($3 section) to full size bar plates ($9). We settled down with our drinks, and started off with Crab and Shrimp Deviled Eggs, Sweet Potato Fries, Onion Rings, and Fried Calamari. We had no intentions of filling up there, just meeting for drinks. We were more than half full at that point and decided to get a few more dishes, mainly because we saw the table next to us get the fish and chips and it looked good. So an order of fish and chips and sticky ribs. We enjoyed everything we ordered and was fuller than we thought possible. Our waiter was pleasant and checked up on us to make sure we didn't need any more happy hour priced drinks or food before the 6pm deadline. The food came quick, but the staff was slow at clearing away dishes. At one point, one of the guys refused to take our dirty plates as they brought us more food and there was no room left on the table. My friend handed him the plates and wouldn't take no as an answer. Down side, that stupid white linen napkins left white lint all over our clothes.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Thank you for reviewing us, Tu! It's wonderful to hear that you and your friends enjoyed everything from the deviled eggs to the calamari. On another note, I apologize about the napkins. This is good insight! We'll keep it in mind as we look to improve. We appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience with others on Google+ and hope to serve you again soon. — Kind Regards, Lara Truppelli, Owner
Jace Proctor's profile photo
Jace Proctor
reviewed 10 months ago
My experience of this place might be a little skewed, since I was here for a Mother's Day brunch and I didn't pay for anything. I feel like I would need to go on my own and experience this place on a normal day to really comment on the value and the authentic experience. That being said, our visit to Lake Chalet was pretty great. My favorite thing about them is that they have tables on a long pier that extends out into Lake Merritt, which makes for a pretty fantastic dining experience. I'm willing to forgive a lot to dine out on a pier on a really nice day. Food was above average. Not way above average, but above average. I got a benedict with pork, and it was pretty good. Bloody Mary wasn't worth the money (I didn't) pay for it. Some food that went to other tables looked a lot better.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Jace, we're so glad that you could join us for Mother's Day. It's a special time for families, and we're happy to hear that we could make your celebrations so enjoyable. That said, we'd love for you to visit again on a normal occasion, so you can see how great we are every day. — Kind Regards, Lara Truppelli, Owner