Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Maria Gill
38 followers
38 followers
About
Maria Gill's posts

Post has attachment
Three new fantasy books from IFWG Publishing
Brave’s Journey by Jan Goldie, IFWG Publishing Australia Jan is a freelance writer living in Tauranga. This is her
first book for YA readers, and was originally shortlisted for Storylines’ Tom
Fitzgibbon Award 2014 as well as being a finalist in the Sir Jul...

Post has attachment
Scholastic NZ’s Latest Picture Books…
What Are You Supposed
to Be? By Paul Beavis, Scholastic NZ Well, the moral of the story has to be: don’t judge a book
by its cover! A very determined young lady meets a quirky creature who
identifies himself as a wolf. He doesn’t look or act like a wolf (sq...

Post has attachment
Jackie French talks about her children's war books.

Post has attachment
Latest Series From Scholastic…
Dinosaur Trouble: The
Lava Melt Shake by Kyle Mewburn and Donovan Bixley, Scholastic NZ Fans of Kyle and Donovan’s dinosaur stories will remember
that the first book in this new four-book prequel series is called The Great Egg Stink . This second title
does...

Post has attachment
New book from Doug Wilson
Taupo Blows! By
Doug Wilson, Bateman Doug Wilson is probably best-known for his fantasy/adventure
series starring a young hero called Tom Hassler (see http://www.tomhassler.com ). He branches
out with this New Zealand fantasy set within a disturbing scenari...

Post has attachment
2017 Finalists New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adult Awards announced
NEWS
RELEASE: Strictly embargoed until 6am, Wednesday, 7 June 2017.   6 June 2017 Characters Burst Off the Pages say Judges of the 2017 New
Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults -   Finalists announced today “Characters burst off
the pages, de...

Post has attachment
An Excellent Series Continues…
1917: Machines of War by Brian Falkner, Scholastic NZ The latest title in Scholastic’s Kiwis At War series, this follows the story of a 17-year-old New
Zealander (initially named Keith, and therein lies a story) who is determined
to become a pilot. He train...

Post has attachment
Four Picture Books…
Muddle and Mo’s
Worm Surprise by Nikki Slade Robinson, Duck Creek Press This appealing minimalist picture book is a sequel to Muddle & Mo which was published in
2015. Muddle is an opinionated duckling and Mo is a white goat, both portrayed
in a very idiosyn...

Post has attachment
Check out Hazel Edward's book 'Sir Edward 'Weary' Dunlop'.

Post has attachment
Three Great New Picture Books…
W itch’s Cat Wanted by Joy H. Davidson, illus. Nikki Slade Robinson, Scholastic NZ This is the 2015 winner of Storylines’ Joy Cowley Award for
an unpublished picture book manuscript. It’s a delightful story about a young
witch (looking very un-witchlike) wh...
Wait while more posts are being loaded