Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Dog Pawz playNstay
Dog Day Care Center
Today 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
1 follower|30,621 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
7960 Lee Blvd Leawood, KS 66206
7960 Lee BlvdUSKSLeawood66206
(913) 341-7299dogpawz.com
Dog Day Care Center, KennelToday 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
Monday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmTuesday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmWednesday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmThursday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmFriday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmSaturday 9:00 am – 5:00 pmSunday 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
1 person
Write a review
Review Summary
4.3
21 reviews
5 star
17 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
3 reviews
People talk about pet food, grooming, pooches and boarding
Photos
Upload public photo
Your Activity
Reviews from around the web
All reviews
Renee Palumbo's profile photo
Renee Palumbo
reviewed 2 months ago
My dogs love going to Dog Pawz playNstay! We've been coming to the Leawood store since shortly after it's opening & use their daycare services and boarding services. The staff is warm & friendly and my dogs always come home happy and tired. We've even used their transport service - after a medical issue, when I couldn't drive - they were able to bring the dogs home to me after boarding. Really great to be able to have that kind of peace of mind - knowing they were cared for, but could be brought back home when I was ready. I'd recommend this facility to anyone. (they also have a "doggie cam", so you can check in on your dogs when you're away!)
• • •
Melanie Pethtel's profile photo
Melanie Pethtel
reviewed 2 months ago
I've taken my dog Foxy to Dog Pawz Crossroads for both cage-less doggie day care and cage-less boarding. All instances have been nothing but positive experiences for both Foxy and myself. I chose Dog Pawz for the Crossroads location, the free 24/7 Doggie Cam, the price, free baths (after 3 nights) and their cage-less option so that my dog could socialize. The longest I've left Foxy was for 6 nights/7 days and there was not an issue the entire time. Everything was perfect & I picked her up happy & freshly bathed with her free bath. Before taking her there the first time, I made sure I had copies of the required shots and dropped them off, along with the completed Dog Pawz first time registration form, as it clearly states to do on their website. The forms are easily downloaded from their website. I was appreciative that they are so thorough in making sure all dogs have up to date shots verified, etc. The staff was friendly & calm, thorough in setting up the appointment and excited to meet Foxy. They asked me about her demeanor (energetic or not, etc) and age so that they could appropriately place her with dogs of similar qualities & size, which I thought was very smart and considerate. They asked if she should sleep overnight inside a kennel, or, out in the open on a bed, and I thought it nice to have the option. I was informed that she would be taken out every 2 hours during the day for potty walks, but that they keep mops around for any accidents. Other than the attentive staff & peace of mind, the best part is by far the free Doggie-Cam. From anywhere I have access to the internet, I can log on 24 hours a day and see what's going on. I had trouble opening the program in FireFox the very first time, but then noticed the instruction sheet states it's designed for Internet Explorer. When I opened it in Explorer, I had no problem at all & never have since. I could even choose to focus on the camera specific to her room, instead of all four cameras. What I saw surprised me... In a good way: Not only do the dogs play with each other, or nap together, or give each other kisses, but throughout the day, there are people in there actually playing with them and giving attention to the doggies as well! I know that she is receiving love while I'm away, not just safely stuck somewhere...and she looked happy. :) All I can say for some of the bad reviews I've read is that stuff happens with dogs..it IS a cage-less environment and everything has pros & cons. I know that any of the employees there would take every measure to make sure trouble dogs are isolated, or, injured dogs cared for. I personally feel it is the responsibility of owners to know if their dog doesn't react well to others, which may result in harm on other "innocent" dogs, or ultimately to themselves from reactions by other dogs. Now that Foxy has a loyalty program card, I plan to take her there at least once every week or two for socialization & grooming in-between longer overnight trips. This is a really neat place in the Crossroads (easily accessible just off the highway) and I recommend it to all dog owners. I have complete peace of mind leaving Foxy there.
• • •
Kahlie Poindexter
reviewed 3 months ago
My fiance and I have used Dog Pawz several times over the last 6 months to board our Alaskan Malamute, Cain. The first few times were uneventful, but after our last experience we will NOT be returning. We left town for the weekend between Christmas and New Years and came back on Sunday to pick up Cain. Once we got in the car, we noticed that he was covered in urine, as if he had been laying in it. We knew immediately that this wasn't his own urine (it would be very, very unusual for him) and that he must have been laying in some other dog's urine that wasn't cleaned up. Once we got home I called up there immediately and was put on hold for 10 minutes. Angry, I hung up and called again and whoever answered the phone didn't seem to know I was ever on hold to begin with. I explained to her that I was very concerned, why had no one told me my dog was a mess like this, and why had no one given him a bath like they SAY they do? She apologized, said urine should be cleaned up immediately and someone should have given Cain a bath. She promised the owner would be calling me the next day. 4 days later I STILL have heard from no one. What does this say about these people if they cannot even respond to me?! DO NOT take your animals there. Who knows what the hell else is going on there.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
I am sorry you feel this way. I called you the same day and left you a message offering a free bath. Our facility is completely cage free and sometimes this does happen. Our policy is to NEVER let a dog home home dirty. It was an extremely busy holiday but is no excuse.
Jennifer Hibler
reviewed 2 months ago
Dog Pawz playNstay is the BEST! I love taking my Bulldog Hank here- He absolutely loves it! Whenever I have to go out of town, I know Hank is in great hands here! I used to take him to other facilities and he would end up coming home looking depressed and sick. I was always SO concerned to leave him anywhere, until I found Dog Pawz. Hank never seems to want to leave when I board him here- he comes home happy and healthy looking. I feel SO comfortable when I am away- I know he is in good hands here. So Instead of fearing getting dropped off for boarding; Hank gets SOOOO excited when he knows he is staying here- Dog Pawz rocks ☺ Thx DP!!! :-)
• • •
Amanda Rismiller
reviewed 2 months ago
Thanks Dog Pawz for entertaining my puppy. This winter has been brutally cold and thanks to your amazing space - with lots of great dogs, my Shafer can play and socialize. Thanks for exhausting the little guy. We love you!
Lisa LaNoue's profile photo
Lisa LaNoue
reviewed 7 months ago
Although I’ve been a loyal customer of Dog Pawz for the last 2 1/2 years, I will no longer use their services nor recommend them to family and friends. I boarded my dog there this week while I was out of town on business. The owner called me at 11:30 AM and informed me that my dog got in an altercation with another dog at 4AM and was injured. He said that he had taken my dog to his vet and that his vet thought my dog “might need stitches”. He asked if I preferred for them to take my dog to my normal vet and I said yes. I immediately traveled back to Kansas City. I was absolutely shocked when I arrived at my vet’s office and saw my dog. His ear had been ripped in half plus had he had two separate bites on his head. My vet explained that someone from Dog Pawz dropped him off with no explanation or description of what took place, nor did they mention anything about my dog being previously examined by another vet. That’s it! Both his ear and the bites did require stitches. I was so upset that I sent pictures of my dog’s injuries to the owner and expressed my disappointment with them not notifying me when the problem occurred and the handling of the whole situation. I received a message back from him stating that in reviewing the tape (a tape that is no longer available for me to view), “my dog was the aggressor” (no previous mention of problems and at my vet’s, he was walking around calmly with no leash!) and that they didn’t call sooner since there was “no noticeable damage” to my dog: my dog has white hair! I used to be one of their best customers, but no longer!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Very sorry you feel this way Lisa. Prince has always been an alpha dog and does well unless another alpha dog stands up to him. We always did our best to make sure he was mixed with other dogs that were not as aggressive. I would never hide any video and we always treat every dog as if it is our own!!

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person

Dog Pawz playNstay hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.