Profile

Cover photo
Bob Jonkman
Works at SOBAC Microcomputer Services
Lives in Elmira, ON, Canada
83 followers|2,555 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...
 
Hello everybodeee! Tommorow  is the big day for the Ubuntu Canada
Video Chat. Based on the feedback, we'll be using Google Hangouts for
our chatting software.  You'll need a Google Plus account, and you'll
need to install the Google Talk plugin for Chrome (or Chromium).

I haven't tried Google Hangouts with other browsers -- if someone has
experience with that, can you post encouraging words on the Ubuntu-ca
mailing list?

If you prefer to stick to the traditional text-only IRC then it'll
still be there as a back channel. I'll do my best to transcribe any
conversation so it gets logged with the other meeting minutes.

If you have a moment, please register on the LoCo portal. It's
optional, but it'll make our stats look good for re-approval.

See you all on Thursday!


Date: Thursday, 23 January 2014
Time: 8:30pm NST, 8:00pm AST, 7:00pm EST, 6:00pm CST, 5:00pm MST,
4:00pm PST
Video: Google Hangout (URL will be announced on IRC)
IRC: irc://irc.freenode.net/#ubuntu-ca
IRC Webchat: http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=ubuntu-ca
LoCo Portal: http://loco.ubuntu.com/events/ubuntu-ca/2652/detail/
Agenda: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/CanadianTeam/Meetings/2014/2014-01-23


--Bob.
1
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
We're having a Software Freedom Day in Kitchener on Saturday, 28 September 2013 from 10:00am to 5:00pm at the Kwartzlab Makerspace at 33 Kent Avenue.

We'll give away free software (software that doesn't cost anything, and also respects your freedom to copy, modify and re-distribute it). Bring your computer, and we'll help you install free software on it. We'll also have a showcase of free culture (music, movies and books that don't cost anything, and also respect your freedom to copy them).

I'm doing a presentation on Building Your Own Cloud, and we'll also have presentations on Blender 3D software, Knoppix Linux, and building a media centre.

Hope to see you there!

--Bob.
4
3
Jeff Smith's profile photoGary Walsh's profile photo
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
Live-denting of the KWLUG presentation tonight.  Tim Laurence had a great demo on LDAP!
1
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
That's my Dad-In-Law!
1
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
83 people
David Oxland's profile photo
 
Here's the first 2 1/2 minutes of the Ubuntu Video Chat held Thursday, 23 January 2014.

See that "Out of Disk Space" error message about 2 minutes in? That's why there's only 2 1/2 minutes of video...  We're gonna need a bigger disk!

--Bob.
1
1
Jeff Smith's profile photo
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
Paul Nijjar and Madison Kelly will still be at St. John's Kitchen for informal discussions about high availability computing. There are rumours of a jug of Tim Horton's coffee, too.
1
Jeff Smith's profile photo
 
So we're not meeting in the outhouse?
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
Now at St. John's Kitchen, 97 Victoria St. N., Kitchener, Ontario
1
Add a comment...

Bob Jonkman

Shared publicly  - 
 
At first I was not so sure about Google+...
1
Bob Jonkman's profile photo
 
Three months later I've made up my mind about Google+
http://bob.jonkman.ca/blogs/2011/10/13/the-verdict-on-google-plus-mostly-harmless/
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
83 people
David Oxland's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Consultant
Skills
Trainer, Project Manager, Provider of Tech Support, Systems Administrator
Employment
  • SOBAC Microcomputer Services
    Consultant, 1987 - present
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Story
Tagline
Computer Consultant and Social Media Federationist
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Elmira, ON, Canada