Profile

Bancroft Hall Apartments's profile photo
Bancroft Hall Apartments
Apartments
AboutPhotos
Contact Information
1031 Essex Ct Virginia Beach, VA 23454
1031 Essex CtUSVAVirginia Beach23454
(757) 481-3833myhgmc.com
Apartments
Google+ URL
Your Activity

Is this your business?

Manage this page
Reviews from around the web
Write a review
Review Summary
2.9
8 reviews
5 star
1 review
4 star
1 review
3 star
No reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
People talk about property manager, 3 bedroom, two bedroom one bath, water damage and pets allowed
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
sahara wright
reviewed 11 months ago
HATE IT !!!!!!! BEWARE OF THE POOR MAINTENANCE AND THE LYING PROPERTY MANAGER . BECAUSE IF YOU MAKE A COMPLAINT TO THE CITY ABOUT MAINTENANCE ISSUES SHE'LL BLACKLIST YOU AND YOU WONT EVEN KNOW IT. I HAD TO CALL THE CITY BECAUSE I WAS GETTING SICK FROM CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING. I DIDN'T KNOW THE CAUSE OF MY ILLNESS UNTIL I STARTED LOOKING AROUND MY APARTMENT.I WENT IN THE CLOSET WHERE THE HVAC UNIT IS KEPT AND THE FLU PIPE WAS OLD AND RUSTED AND NOT CONNECTED TO THE BASE OF THE UNIT. THE CITY INSPECTOR CAME OUT TO INSPECT THE NEW HVAC SYSTEM THAT BANCROFT HAD TO INSTALL AFTER I MADE MY DISCOVERY AND WHILE HE WAS DOING HIS INSPECTION I TOLD HIM WHAT HAD TRANSPIRED SHOWED HIM PICTURES AND HE TOLD ME THAT HE RECOMMEND I GET AN ATTORNEY. BANCROFT OFFERED TO PAY MY MEDICAL EXPENSES AND THAT'S IT. I CAN ONLY SAY THAT MUCH BECAUSE THE CASE IS GOING TO COURT.
• • •
Jan Gervais's profile photo
Jan Gervais
reviewed 11 months ago
This is the worst apartment complex ever! They threaten to evict you for someone leaving their trash bag in front of your apartment.
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
This place is a dump. They fix nothing. They refuse to fix my lock although I've asked for the last three months. They are overpriced, and you pay out of you a-- for electricity, trash, water, flooding expenses, the list goes on. Their onsite laundry service cost more than the laundrymat. The one bedrooms have no washer and dryer. They have roach problems, which didn't disappear until the 6th time they sprayed. They will not paint until you move. The walls and construction is horrible. They need to completely remodel to expect people to pay this price. I was charged an $80 late fee for rent I payed on time. I had no hot water for 2 weeks strait. You will pau almost a thousand dollars doe air conditining to get through the summer. My neighbors have lived here for 10 years and they refuse to replace their carpet. Asking them to fix water damage from Hurricane Irene was like pulling teeth. Whatever your rent is, you can plan on paying at least $500 more a month for extra expenses, because nothing is included. Unless you don't complain, and put up with their crap they will give you a horrible review if you try to move.. do not move here.
• • •
jeremiah orozco's profile photo
jeremiah orozco
reviewed a year ago
I wish the quality rating could be less then poor-fair. I have lived in many apartment complexes in the Virginia Beach area, and i have to say that living at Bancroft Hall has to have been the worst mistake i have ever made. Maintenance is almost non existent. My first hint was when on move in day they tried to get me to wait another week because the apartment was not ready. not ready was an understatement. the counter tops were in ruins, there was no plastic magnet around the refrigerator door, no dishwasher. the room that was supposed to be my 1 year olds (at the time) had giant holes in the walls. receptacles did not work, and the front door was nearly off the hinges. For 2 weeks my 1 year old had to sleep in my bedroom because it was his room was uninhabitable. My compensation was that they would not charge me the 99 dollars per month it would normally cost for a washer and dryer. Which was of course negated by the 130 dollar water bill you get every month. Do not let them tell you, you pay your own water. after contacting the company who provides water services they told me that the bill is split up amongst all the 3 bedroom apartments with 4 tenants. after a fort night of waiting for the above repairs to be made we had a water leak in our hallway next to the 1970 heating and air unit (Yes i did my research the heating and AC units are original from when this property was first built). being in the home improvement field i suggested it might be the roof. These are new roofs they said the leak has to be coming from somewhere else. I gave them the benefit of the doubt. Today is 12/26/12 and i have called them 3 more times since the first about the same water leak. now they are telling me well we will put a bucket down and have a roofer come out tomorrow. I also had mold in my bedroom closet that they took care of after the second complaint and threat to move out (they have an anti-mold addendum in their lease) or open an escrow account with the court house and pay my rent there to get stuff done. By the way your tenant rights permit you to not pay rent to your landlord but through an escrow account with your city if the landlord has not provided you with the maintenance to keep your apartment safe. That really lights a fire under their butts to get things done. In all i wouldn't recommend Bancroft Hall as a place to live to my worst enemy. STAY AWAY. 1,100 dollars a month is better spent somewhere else.
• • •
A Google User
reviewed 2 years ago
This place is the Va Beach Ghetto! Poop on kitchen cabinets, urine smell inside the kitchen cabinets, roaches...read on for details. I have had so many problems since moving less than a month ago, I turned in my 5 day inspection sheet, and they didn't fix anything. I had to go and speak to the property manager on several occasions before things got fixed. They think chaulk and paint will fix everything. The A/C has broken 5 times and it runs all the time they could care less, I was told that I had to wait until morning because they can't fix A/C's at night. I have killed over 200 roaches/waterbugs since I moved in. I have complained dozens of times and they sent there so called "exterminator" which has done nothing to resolve our bug infestation, I think he may be feeding them. THE KITCHEN...when I did the walk thru it smelled strongly of gas so I had them light the pilot and then I started smelling cat urine wafting from the cabinets and a strange dust in the back. I have called/spoke directly to the complex and regional manager and the cabinets are in "good condition and nothing will be done". Then to my horror while hanging a curtain rod I discovered cat poop on the top of the cabinet. FYI, I do not have pets. I was frustrated so I began gathering information from my neighbors, they told me that the person who use to live there had over 15 cats and the carpet had been matted with feces and urine. They moved my family into this Roach infested, dirty apartment and they are unwilling to do anything...DO NOT MOVE HERE! Harbor Group will not give me any information on who to speak to outside of the Regional manager, this is the most unhealty living enviroment, and we can't afford to fight it.
• • •
A Google User
reviewed 4 years ago
when you look at it you think it is great then when get in and start thinking hey this is a good place then it unfolds WE HAD TREE ROACHES I THINK WELL THEY WAS ROACHES THEN WE THEY SPRAYED THEY WHERE STILL THERE!!!! IT TAKES FOREVERE TO GET STUFF FIX MOST OF THE TIME I CALL OVER AND OVER UNTILL SOMEBODY COMES THEN THE PEOPLE UNDER US ARE LOUD REALLY LOUD THEN WHEN I CALL EVERY WEEK ALMOST EVERYDAY NOTHING DONE THEN I TRY TO TUFF IT OUT AND THEN THEY GET EVEN LOUDER SO I CALL AND SHE TELLS ME SHE DONT HAVE THE TIME!!!!!WHAT KIND OF MANGMENT IS THAT I PROMISE YOU IF YOU RENT HERE YOU WILL REGRAT IT DEEPLY AND IF YOU DONT HEY MAYBE YOU GOT LUCKY IT SUCKS LIVING HERE
• • •