Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Vets 4 Pets Millhouses (Sheffield) Vet Practice
Veterinarian££
Today 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
66,961 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
2 964 Abbeydale Rd S Sheffield S7 2QF
2, 964 Abbeydale Road SouthGBSheffieldS7 2QF
0114 236 4070vets4pets.com
££Veterinarian, Pet Care StoreToday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Monday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.Tuesday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.Wednesday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.Thursday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.Friday 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.Sunday Closed
Vets4Pets - setting new standards in UK pet healthcare to keep your pet happy and healthy.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
3 reviews
"The vets played no part in my animal's death, he died at home."
"We're always reassured when we go here that our guinea pigs are in good hands."
"...upon my next visit to the vets for an unrelated matter, they wrote..."
Photos
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
jelly bean
2 months ago
I visited the surgery last night and was disgusted by the femail vet treated my dog. He was there for his 2nd vaccination. The dog was very distressed (as some are!) but she did not really take this into account when trying to inject him. She missed, drop the needle on the floor, picked it up and continued to try to keep on jabbing an already distressed dog several times. This was repeated yet again! surely this is not on?? I complained to the practice manager, who in turn did not seem too bothered about this incident! I will not be using this practice again.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service. We always aim to deliver the best standard of veterinary care and are of course disappointed to hear of any instances where this has not been achieved. When the concern was raised we immediately arranged to speak to the nurse in question regarding the incident so that we could establish what happened. We’ve attempted to contact you to discuss this further. Could you please get in touch?
James Dean's profile photo
James Dean
3 years ago
Lovely people run this business. We're always reassured when we go here that our guinea pigs are in good hands.
Jennifer Wilson's profile photo
Jennifer Wilson
a year ago
I cannot recommend Aislinn Rooney enough. I took my pet rats to her, and although they are quite niche, Aislinn was happy to listen to any suggestions I had from past experiences/research, and consult one of her colleagues who specialised in exotic animals. Most importantly, she handled my animals with love and care, as well as being very empathetic towards me as their owner when things weren't going great. She never gave up when treating a particularly nasty respiratory illness, and tried multiple variations of antibiotics, steroid injections, sub-Q fluid and even an inhaler. If I had any questions, she made me feel very welcome to ask them, and my animals felt at ease with her (as much as can be expected towards a needle bearing giant anyway). The receptionists are lovely, and always try to have a chat if they're not busy. Their attitude is great and again they make you feel very welcome. Onto the negatives then... One of my pets unfortunately died, and upon my next visit to the vets for an unrelated matter, they wrote 'Service provided: Euthanasia & Cremation: Died at Home-Small Animal. No=1. Amount including VAT=0.00. The vets played no part in my animal's death, he died at home. I don't see why this was put on my receipt, and it really upset me. That being said I did point this out to a nurse, who took down details and said it shouldn't have happened. The biggest negative: Alistair Boyd. Went to him with my rat who had a swollen eye. This could have been a large number of things, however he looked at it, and instantly decided it was 'something viral' to which he couldn't do anything. I would have accepted this diagnosis if he had first asked about the rat's living environment to see if preventative measures could be taken in the future, used a ophthalmoscope for a more accurate insight into the components of the eye, tried staining the eye to check for breaches to the cornea. He also never mentioned home care to help the rat had it had been a viral infection, although he did prescribe metacam (although the rat was already on it). Compresses and flushing the eye can provide the rat comfort, and he failed to point this out. My rat was on death's doorstep - wouldn't eat and was gasping for air. When I tried unconventional methods such as giving my rat a human inhaler, Aislinn pointed out that although we don't know how safe that is, if the rat appears to be dying, the worst it can do is speed up the process. However I gave my rat ibuprofen (according to the Exotic Animal Formulary 2001, 2012 and Drug Dosage in Laboratory Animals : A Handbook, 1990, as well as another vet's recommendations) to which he bluntly told me I could have killed my rat, and when I told him I had researched it and another vet had said it was acceptable, he began patronising me telling me 'not to believe everything I read on the internet'. I ended up with the same medicine I already had. Although for the metacam, which was the dog solution, he was genuinely going to give me a DOG sized syringe for a rat. I had to ask for something more appropriate, with Aislinn this was done automatically. Secondly, although the dose of the tablet provided was one eighth of a tablet, he didn't think to cut the tablets up into single doses, unlike Aislinn. I would advise you to keep your animals far far farrr away from this man, who I have perceived to be in the industry for the money alone.
• • •

Stream

Vets 4 Pets Millhouses (Sheffield) Vet Practice hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.