Profile

Cover photo
Paul S. Parker
2 followers|7,574 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
Quick question: Can one make a ranged attack roll with, say, a dagger (Finesse, Thrown) using Strength?
2
Luke JW's profile photo
Luke JW
+
7
8
7
 
Throwing a melee weapon uses Str as a base. On page 50, it says: "You attack with a melee weapon you are wielding by swinging or throwing it at your target."

If the thrown weapon has the Finesse property, you can chose to use Dex instead of Str.

So, yes, you can use Str (or Dex) to throw a dagger. But you would need to use Str to throw a trident, as it has no Finesse property.

Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
So Special Attacks give final/calculated no. of boons/banes. How about when no boons or banes are mentioned? Does it mean there are none (single d20 roll), or do we default to any boons present in Attack Options?
1
Ian Dimitri's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photoRobert Schwalb's profile photo
3 comments
 
Two Attacks allow the malebranche to make two attacks with its claws at +3 with 2 boons for each attack. The damage under two attacks replaces the damage of the base attack.
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

General Discussion  - 
 
Has anyone done some version of a Tiefling-like Ancestry? One of my players would be interested in that.
1
William Buxton's profile photoDaniel Heinrich's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photo
8 comments
 
Here's hoping for the previews then ;) All in +Robert Schwalb 's hands.
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
Quick question: do incantations require you to expend castings? I thought they didn't but rereading the description on page 109 confused me as it says "expend the spell's casting".
1
Mario Posch's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photo
2 comments
 
That's what I initially thought. Thx!
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
2 people
Michal Adamczyk's profile photo

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
I was wondering what happens to "overflow" damage after an effect that gives you bonus to Health passes? I assume you're incapacitated just as when you get a penalty which brings your Health below your current damage. Am I right? 
1
Daniel Heinrich's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photoChristopher Ruthenbeck's profile photo
3 comments
 
A rules reference, in case you need one: "The damage total can never exceed the Health of the creature or object; any excess damage is ignored", page 39, the paragraph right above the Instant Death subheader.

Specifically, "any excess damage is ignored". Meaning anything above your health total is ignored, regardless of if it was below your boosted health.
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
Quick question about Warlock, Spell Thief Mastery and the word "always". So the way I read it you still roll Intellect to suppress the opponent's spell, and "always" refers to gaining the casting (and regardless of your Power). Am I right? Come to think of it, what happens if you fail the roll with Steal Spell (lvl 3 version). In other words is the stealing independent of suppressing the enemy's casting?
1
John Pyrich's profile photoWilliam Buxton's profile photoRobert Schwalb's profile photo
3 comments
 
The "always" indicates you always gain one casting of the triggered spell from using the Steal Spell talent and you can cast the spell regardless of Power score. However, you still make the roll to determine if you cause the triggering spell to have not effect.
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

General Discussion  - 
 
While I've been waiting for the PoD of cards and Tales to drop I've had an idea. How about a nice pad of, say, 20-30 SotDL character sheets as PoD on DTRPG? I know I would buy some. What do people think? What does +Robert Schwalb think?
3
Robert Schwalb's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photoGary Huddleston's profile photo
12 comments
 
I would be interested, Depending on shipping
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
Is the first use of Fortune (turning failure into success) supposed to be limited to "fortunate" player only?
1
Albert Nakano's profile photo
 
Yes. The other two uses specifically includes "another player" or "any player" but the failure into a success is the one with the fortune.
Add a comment...

Paul S. Parker

Rules Questions  - 
 
Are boons and banes pre-calculated in the Bestiary? Mening e.g. Large Monster's Frenzied Attack is rolled with 1 boon or 1 bane? Thx.
1
Nat Webb's profile photoWilliam Buxton's profile photoPaul S. Parker's profile photo
4 comments
 
See, that was what puzzled me as well, I took it as a template too. Especially since Medium and Small Monster get almost the same Frenzied Attack text, but their Natural Weapon attack bonus is lower i.e. 1 boon compared to 2 for Large Monster. 
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
2 people
Michal Adamczyk's profile photo
Links
Basic Information
Gender
Male