Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Aquatic Sports
SCUBA Instructor
Today 10AM–7PM
1 follower|324,112 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
10803 SW Barbur Blvd Portland, OR 97219
10803 Southwest Barbur BoulevardUSOregonPortland97219
(503) 245-4991aquaticsports.com
SCUBA Instructor, Dive Shop
SCUBA Instructor
Dive Shop
Travel Agency
Today 10AM–7PM
Monday 10AM–7PMTuesday 10AM–7PMWednesday 10AM–7PMThursday 10AM–7PMFriday 10AM–7PMSaturday 9AM–5PMSunday Closed
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.4
29 reviews
5 star
14 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
8 reviews
Outpost offering snorkeling gear, dive equipment like wetsuits & regulators, plus training & trips.- Google
"I ended up going to a different scuba shop Under Water Works in Tigard."
"I had a falling out with that dive shop cause I just didn't vibe with them."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
Seattle Scuba Schools's profile photo
All reviews
Evan Zener's profile photo
Evan Zener
3 months ago
In 2010 I returned home from spending 6 months in Thailand learning to dive. I wanted to continue diving here and was looking for the right equipment. I came to Aquatic Sports to get all the gear. The owner of the store talked me into buying a dry suit from him that was FAR too tight around my neck. When I was taking my dry suit class he said that the suit was supposed to be that tight around my neck and there was nothing to worry about. The suit was so tight after every dive my face was bright red and I would almost feel like I could pass out. It was close to unbearable. I would get out of the water and immediately would grab my neck piece and stretch it to allow blood flow. I know he sold that suit to me just because he wanted it off his shelf. He also talked me into buying a new first stage, saying that my old first stage wouldn't work in such cold water. I had a falling out with that dive shop cause I just didn't vibe with them. I ended up going to a different scuba shop Under Water Works in Tigard. After doing a few classes out there and getting to know those guys I found out that my dry suit was not supposed to be that tight AT ALL!! It was way too tight. And that my old first stage would have worked just fine. I've done some dives alone that I probably shouldn't have but by far the most dangerous thing I've ever done was dive in that suit the way they sold it to me. Under Water Works helped me stretch it out and make it work.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
I'm not sure why this is posted in April of 2016 for something that occurred 2010. Drysuits have the ability to cut or stretch necks for comfort. Almost all drysuits when they arrive from the manufacture are too tight. They will either stretch or be trimmed to size. However, once trimmed there is nothing you can do to make the neck smaller if needed. So it is common practice to dive the suit in the pool a couple of times to make sure the fitting is correct before altering the seals. During our drysuit class sessions that are required the customer goes through this knowledge and training so they understand the concepts of diving with a drysuit. If we told the customer he needed a first stage to dive the NW then we were giving correct advise based on industry standards. The customer was using a non-environment seal first stage on their regulator. If this design is used in our environment (water cooler than 50 degrees) the possibility of a regulator malfunctioning could occur. All manufactures of safe diving equipment recommend their equipment not to used in these conditions if the regulator is not environmentally sealed. Here is a direct copy of Aqualungs recommendation on a non-environmentally sealed first stage regulator: Aqualung Titan regulator: Certification EN250 approved, water temp > 10°C, regulators that are environmentally sealed will not have this warning.
Brendon Guest's profile photo
Brendon Guest
7 months ago
A great place to learn to scuba. On site pool, perfect sized classes and very caring staff.
Tyler Zalewski's profile photo
Tyler Zalewski
a year ago
Very friendly and approachable customer service. I asked about training and was given a tour and a ton of helpful information. I do wish the training fees were lower.
A Google User
5 years ago
Was almost sold by this nice lady who seemed to be giving me good information about differences between products. Owner comes in and starts trying to upsell me and provides little real information. Wanting to give any commission to the lady I ask when she's working and she says it's her last day. Have a few tanks that needed VIP/hydro. Called around for prices. This place wanted to charge me separately for both VIP and hydro, which would come to like $70. Most places are $40-45. They did get a few stars, because they have a pool and encourage you to try stuff in the water before purchasing. Some of their cheaper wetsuits were tagged below book prices. I bet it's the same price most shops would give.
• • •
Mark Balsiger's profile photo
Mark Balsiger
2 months ago
I always try and do business locally to support the "small guy" but after experiences like this I am loosing faith in the "small guy". They charged me $130 to "fix" an O'Neill Dry suit and when the repair failed they took no responsibility and offered no solutions, other than to give them more money to try and "fix it" again. It seems to me they could have at least one more time to "fix it" and not charge me another $130. Makes me wonder where else they cut corners, think twice before doing business with someone who won't stand behind their work.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
We were brought a suit for repair. We tested the suit and found it to leak in the seams of the drysuit and determined it would be better to send off his suit to a drysuit repair facility that can do seam tape work. We told the customer that we would send it off to our repair facility outside of the store to get the repair done. The cost on shipping was $20, estimated work $80-100. All of this ok'd by the customer. When the suit was received by our drysuit repair facility they determined that someone had used "Aquaseal" on the seams. By using this product it is impossible to do seam repairs. The suit was sent back to us and we called the customer letting him know the situation. He admitted that he had tried to do the repair himself with "Aquaseal". We said the only option was to use more "Aquaseal" to coat the area. However, there was no guarantee this would solve the problem. We spent 1.0 hours ($75/hour shop time) working on the suit. We used about $25 worth of supplies. All of this ok'd by the customer. He picked up the suit and was charged for the work done, his total bill was $120.95= ($20 shipping+$75 labor+$25.95 materials). He took the suit out, tried it and it still leaked. He brought the suit back and wanted to let us try and fix the leak again. His expectation for the 2nd repair was to be done at no charge. We told him that time and materials would be charged again because there was no guarantee of the first repair because he had ruined the suit by using "Aqauseal" in the first place. He said he did not want to put anymore money into the suit and would pick it up. I do understand the frustration when repairs do not work, we are in the business of handling life support equipment and take that very seriously. Hopefully for readers this response can show both sides of the story.
Joe Criscione's profile photo
Joe Criscione
2 years ago
I don't even know where to begin. -Misquoted my drysuit repair -Lost track of my drysuit after they shipped it -Gave me an unrealistic timeframe for drysuit repair -Sold me a tank and lied about the manufacturer Not coming back here again!
G Graff's profile photo
G Graff
3 years ago
My wife, Meredith, and I gave ourselves scuba lessons for Christmas this year, and we found Aquatic Sports (AS) through a Living Social deal. We spend a lot of vacation time in Maui and we wanted to learn how to scuba do we could dive while on the island. We did our classroom and pool work in Portland, then did our open water dive last week in Maui after receiving our referral from AS. The training we received at AS, and the equipment we purchased, made all the difference in the world. Our Open Water certification dives were a piece of cake after the extensive SSI training received through the Aquatic Sports program. Carlos Aguilar was our A.S. instructor, and he is top-notch. His enthusiasm for the sport is infectious. He is patient, thorough, and extremely knowledgable. One reviewer on Yelp complained about the push to purchase equipment. We did not feel pressured to buy our own equipment (other than your mask, snorkel, and fins, which are necessary). However, we wanted to buy our own diving equipment, and Carlos explained the advantages to buying certain items, due to warranties that wouldn't otherwise be available. However, we understood that the choice was ours. I can tell you that going from the confines of the AS pool, to the open waters of the Pacific Ocean, I felt a lot more confident and secure in my diving ability as a result of the training, education, and equipment received through the AS program. My wife and I thank Carlos for ensuring that we were truly prepared and able to get the most out of our first Maui diving adventure. We also appreciate Jeff, Adrian, John, and the rest of the AS crew for helping feed our enthusiasm for this wonderful sport.
• • •
A Google User
6 years ago
Now that I have your attention, I would like to express my appreciation for the staff and owner of Aquatic Sports. From the first phone call to the last lesson, every staff member made me feel comfortable and confident that I was making the right decision to get certified. They were all friendly, knowledgeable, and approachable. My dive instructor, Colin, is an excellent teacher who is passionate about diving, safety and (most importantly) educating his students. From the minute I got into the water, I was confident that I was learning all the proper steps to safe diving. If you are going to get certified in scuba, Aquatic Sports is the place to go. And even if you're not going to get certified, their shop has an excellent selection of snorkeling and swimming items.
• • •

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
Seattle Scuba Schools's profile photo

Aquatic Sports hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.