Cover photo
Verified local business
Radius Apartments
Apartment Rental Agency
Today 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Contact Information
Map of the business location
900 Radius Way Newport News, VA 23602
900 Radius WayUSVirginiaNewport News23602
Apartment Rental Agency, Apartment BuildingToday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Thursday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PMFriday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PMSaturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PMSunday 1:00 – 5:00 PMMonday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PMTuesday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PMWednesday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Built in 2012, Radius is a brand new, EcoFriendly, apartment community centered in the heart of Newport News. Stop by for a tour today, our courteous staff will be happy to help you find your new home
Google+ URL

Street View

Write a review
Review Summary
11 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
"Kathy, the property manager was awesome."
"2) The dog park is a joke."
"They also got rid of the guest suite."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Elise Sengsavang's profile photo
Elise Sengsavang
a month ago
I love my Radius community and the people I have met there have been amazing. I love having the trash shoot on my floor, having an elevator, my own water heater, large dog park and open parking. Definitely have some major issues. New cleaning staff is very unprofessional; the grounds has trash everywhere; dog park hasn't been mowed and it is impossible to clean up after your pet appropriately; maintenance only does bandaid repairs so issues persist (I have had consistent issues with my dryer and garbage disposal); constantly threatening you with fines in monthly posted news letter; after a young lady (maybe about 8 years old) with downs syndrome had an accident in the pool the following month's newsletter has a "reminder" to have your children in diapers to prevent accidents... I found that to be tacky and insensitive; staff shares personal information (this happened to me personally and as far as I know I am the only one to have it happen to...but once is too many); recently increased rent by 8% (I've heard of rent raises up to 3% @ most but 8%!!!??); when increasing rent, no additional amenities offered and previous amenities taken away. Waiting to see how they handle our process of moving out... I have heard the charges are rediculous and you end up paying hundreds and hundreds of dollars after the deposit is used no matter how immaculate the conditon you return. Will post additional review to follow up on that process but not too hopeful.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Elise, we take our residents’ feedback very seriously and we apologize that your experience here at Radius has not been satisfactory. Our entire team works hard to ensure the grounds are clean and our amenities are maintained. We hope you’ll stop by our leasing office so that we can resolve your concerns as soon as possible. Thank you for your loyalty.
Heather West's profile photo
Heather West
a month ago
4 months ago, I would have given Radius a glowing review. Then, at the end of July, the apartment complex sold from Drucker & Falk, to MAA & it has rapidly gone down hill. We've lost amenities (the apartment complex previously had a guest suite our visiting friends & family could rent for $100 a night. That's gone), the social functions are now a joke (Radius under DF had fun parties & wine tastings, including a costume party with pizza, wine & beer for Halloween. This Halloween they are doing a "candy bar"... Get a bag, & fill it with candy... that's it), & the property isn't being maintained the way it should be for a "luxury" community. Examples: 1) There used to be a cleaning lady, Janell. She kept the buildings immaculate, & was friendly & professional. Now, MAA has hired the most ghetto looking cleaning crew imaginable. I can't tell you how many times I've seen thongs while they're cleaning... Not to mention they're unfriendly, & stand outside of the building smoking. 2) The dog park is a joke. Radius under DF used to occasionally spray for fleas. MAA does not, & most of the dogs, who are on flea medications, are still having problems with fleas. But considering they can't even get the grass cut, of course they're not spraying for fleas. 3) There is a complete lack of communication between the leasing office & the residents. When MAA first took control, I asked for a copy of my lease every day for a week, & never received it. When my AC went out recently, no one ever answered the phone in the office, or returned my voice mails. I had to call every hour, leave multiple voice mails, and reach out to corporate before I was able to get someone to answer the phone. 4) Under Drucker & Falk, we had boards in each building that let you know about community events & if you have packages. It took 3ish months to get these boards turned back on once MAA took over. They worked for less than a week, and now they're off again. I will say that SOME of the staff is still great. Don, the service technician is friendly & hardworking. When my AC wasn't working, he brought me two portable units, because my pets and I were hot & miserable. Michelle & Natasha in the office are friendly & helpful. And the only reason I'm not giving 1 star is because I do still feel safe here. But I can not WAIT to move. The issues & loss of amenities would be one thing if we had seen a decrease in rent. But no. I'm still paying $1500 a month for less than I had when I signed my lease, and new tenants have even more ridiculous fees to The pet deposit is now $500 if you have an animal over 50 lbs, and the pet rent is higher (which considering what a hot mess the dog park is, that's really ridiculous). I'd avoid this place like the plague!
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Heather, thank you for alerting us to this issues. The team here at Radius continually aims to offer our residents with the highest level of service and hospitality, and we apologize for the bad experience you have dealt with. We hope you do not judge our community by this experience, and would love to hear from you in the leasing office or by phone. Thanks again for your feedback.
Unknown 75755
2 months ago
I would have to agree with the user below. Good things don't seem to last when it comes to renting in this area. When I first moved to Radius Apartments, the apartments and environment were beyond amazing. Kathy, the property manager was awesome. She made sure things got done. Maintenance was very responsive and you felt like you were getting your moneys worth. Since new management took over this place is starting to go downhill and rather quickly. For starters, the new staff they hired to tend the grounds and maintenance look like they are 10 seconds from getting out of jail. The office staff and new property manager is not on the same caliber as the former office staff. I have heard my neighbors arguing on multiple occasions, people playing loud music in the parking lot, people cussing and talking loud, the elevators smell of dog urine and the grounds have dog feces everywhere. They are literally letting anyone move here now and it's starting to become ghetto. Once my lease is up, I am out of here. For the money they are asking, it's not worth it. You can tell the owners of this property were more concerned with making money then continuing to make Radius a nice place to live. It was obvious when you look at the company and people they hired to manage the complex. Literally this place went from Fifth Ave to the slums in a matter of seconds. Don't move here!!!! You will thank me later for this review.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are constantly looking for ways to improve, so feedback like this helps. We strive to provide the best possible customer service and experience to everyone, and take your concerns seriously. Please contact us in the leasing office so we can further discuss any issues you are experiencing.
jordan true
a year ago
At first glance radius apartments seems like a perfect place to live..but beware like everything else in life first impression are almost always wrong. If you are in the military, support the military, or are 18-45 years old radius is not for you. Radius is only filled with aging couples that call the police on soldiers who leave for work at 530 am for PT because they are up moving around in there apartments. I have lived at radius for 6 months now and out the 6 months i have been on a mission for almost 2-3 months of it, and every time i come back from a mission I have a notice on my door that they are going to evict me for noise! They can never pin point who is actually making noise so the pick on the military men and women because they know we are up early and moving around our apartments. This is the most unfriendly military place I have ever lived. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS place TO ANYONE! STAY AWAY if you are in the military or have to wake early for your job.
• • •
Shana Wojcik's profile photo
Shana Wojcik
a month ago
Do NOT move here! Recently these apartments were sold by Drucker & Falk to MAA. Before when Drucker & Falk owned the property I would have given an amazing review, but since MAA has acquired these apartments things have been terrible. The main reason we moved here was because the place was very pet friendly and they had a guest suite for family and friends. Since the new ownership, doggie clean up bags are never refilled and they no longer take care of the dog park. They also got rid of the guest suite. Luckily, my husband got new orders for the military and we had to break our lease. We expected to have to replace our carpets due to our dog having accidents, but we never imagined how much a hassle it would be dealing with this company. We turned in our keys Aug 23, 2015. We called weekly to see if they could give us the estimate. Half the time they didn't answer their phones in the office. We finally got a statement 9/30/2015 in the mail for $758.99 (not counting all the fees they added on that our security deposit covered). We repeatedly asked for a receipt from the carpet replacement company, all emails pertaining to that went unanswered. On 10/9/2015 I got a 2nd statement in the mail from Radius saying they had made an error in the carpet replacement charge. The amount was $523.89. They still had not emailed us with any of the receipts we asked for just sent the new statement without a word. My husband called the same day we got the 2nd statement to verify the amount this time was correct and they said everything was correct. Today 10/13/2015, I received a letter from a debt collection company saying my husband and I owe $758.99 to Radius. Upon talking to the debt collection company I was told Radius hired them 10/1/2015 that is 1 day after I got the 1st statement in the mail. 1 day to pay charges that we had called and tried to dispute with Radius. Radius never mentioned any of this when my husband called 10/09/2015. We are now fighting the debt company to prove we don't owe $758.99 but $523.89. We have filed a claim with our rental insurance (10/9/2015) since they cover $500 with of pet damages. Here we are only 5 days after the 2nd statement (proving their error) was sent to us dealing with a debt collection agency. Radius will attempt to rip you off! Beware and make sure to ask for receipts if the carpet needs replace! UPDATE: I've gotten in touch with Natasha in the office and she said it was a mistake that it was ever sent to collections. I have also gotten in touch with the property manager Joseph who has informed the debt collection company they were given the wrong price and that he also informed my husband that this being sent to debt collection is automated. 30 days after the end of the lease whatever you owe is sent to collections even if you have only been informed of what you owe 1 day prior to the 30 days since the end of the lease. I will say that Michelle and Natasha have done everything in their power to help rectify this situation in the end, but we certainly will be avoiding any rental property owned by MAA.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Shana, we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at Radius. We apologize that our trustworthy team has not met your requests. We have high standards and expectations for our entire staff, and our goal is to serve all of our residents in the best way possible. Please call our office so we can discuss any outstanding concerns.
Krystal Gillen's profile photo
Krystal Gillen
a month ago
Great location, and I love the apartments. They have beautiful kitchens. We had the dishwasher panel go out and put in a request online for someone to come look at it they were there in like 5 mins. the staff is very friendly. I wish the units were for sale.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Krystal, thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are thrilled that you love your home and appreciate your kind words regarding our team!
Shieleena Gwinn
2 months ago
These used to be good apartments till another company took over now they don't have good maintenance or cleaners or landscapers they were amazing at first. Now they're dirty smell bad trashy and ghetto neighbors. I give it 5 stars for the first couple of months but now don't waste your time if your looking somewhere amazing and luxurious. Not to mention the rent went up by hundreds but the worth went down
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Shieleena, we hate that you are unhappy and are sorry to hear that you are experiencing difficulties. We pride ourselves on having outstanding customer service and would love for you to reach out to our office to discuss your concerns. We look forward to speaking with you in person.
Mariam Hovan's profile photo
Mariam Hovan
a year ago
Honestly, This place is Amazing.. I have to give credit when its due.... I've lived here for about a year and a half (just renewed my lease) First of all, The staff is amazing and will do anything to make you feel comfortable. Kathy is the manager. She is LITERALLY the best thing ever. She really cares about you and does whatever she can to make sure that you are completely comfortable. She has genuine passion for her job. She knows your name and makes you feel at home. Michelle is my other "go to" person there, She is newer and will make sure everything is taken care of. If Kathy isnt there, I know Michelle will get it done. Angie is so informative. Shes been there forever and can answer ANY questions you could ever have. She literally knows every floor plan and unit. Kaelyn is the sweetest thing ever, She is the person you want to come across in the office after a long day at work. She is always so nice. Natasha always impresses me. Since the first day I met her she remembered my name and my apartment #.. even after I renewed my lease and moved buildings! (there might be more people in the office, but those are the only ones I've experienced) The maintenance guys (Cody, Jake and Eric) literally do anything to help you out and the same day.!They hung up all of the pictures in my apt and help you out with everything Janell - She is probably the nicest person I know. Shes always happy and you wont see her without a smile on her face. She cleans & maintains EVERYTING. This place is spotless. She is the most approachable person you have ever met. She always says hello and is just so genuinely nice. Yes, The place is a bit pricier then most, but you pay for what you get. I honestly wouldn't live anywhere else.. I am thoroughly impressed.
• • •


Radius Apartments hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.