Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Gaslight
Restaurant
Today Open 24 hours
2 followers|3,218,389 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
560 Harrison Ave Boston, MA 02118
560 Harrison AvenueUSMassachusettsBoston02118
(617) 422-0224gaslight560.com
Restaurant, Bar
Restaurant
Bar
Cafe
French Restaurant
Today Open 24 hours
Monday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hoursThursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hoursSaturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hours
Menu
A classic French brasserie (translation is beer hall), not a French restaurant or bistro. Simple preparations of classic French dishes with an emphasis on affordability right down to the free on sight
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
130 reviews
5 star
50 reviews
4 star
54 reviews
3 star
21 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
Lively French brasserie offers a sophisticated spot for classic eats & drinks in a hip room.- Google
"Best steak tartar, and great steak frites."
"French onion soup was candy sweet, completely disgusting."
Featured by Zagat
Boston's Outdoor After-Work Drink Spots
, and one other list
See more from Zagat
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
2 people
Tally Boston's profile photo
All reviews
brian sullivan's profile photo
brian sullivan
2 months ago
Recently made my second visit here after having a decent, albeit crowded, experience during restaurant week. Was expecting the same quality of food only to be disappointed. My first tipoff should have been that it was a major holiday weekend and no one was in the restaurant, not even wait staff. Apparently this also applied to the kitchen staff who could only serve one decent dish. French onion soup was candy sweet, completely disgusting. My steak tartare was mostly a giant brown old lump, thankful that I didn't get food poisoning. The bone marrow was barely present, basically yielding a single bite. The steak frites had soggy fries and a steak that was almost uncuttable. The chicken dish was so overwhelmingly dry that it had to be sent back. And finally, the one success of the night was the duck breast which was good. Service was fine, but the chef was either asleep or out of town. For the money it's not even close to being worth the risk. One bad experience is all I need to never return. If you can't serve quality food every night then close your doors on the off nights.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for dining with us Brian. You planned an enjoyable evening out and instead from the content and tone of your review angered. My 35 year Boston hospitality career has had so many successes, few times can I remember a guest being coming away so miserable. I apologize for our complete failure. I will share your comments with our team. Though we failed to demonstrate it, each and every one of the Gaslight staff take their craft and career seriously. Reviewing your comments will give no relief to you but we can certainly be sure a meal like yours is not repeated. Please consider responding with your full name and address so we may send a gift certificate as an incentive to return and enjoy the same deliciously composed meal and graciously served meal so many of our guests have enjoyed in the past. Respectfully, Jeffrey Gates Owner Gaslight Brasserie
Seth Morabito's profile photo
Seth Morabito
6 months ago
Went here for brunch this weekend. Place was pretty cool. Coffee was pretty decent. I ordered the Croque-Madame and was super delicious. The Turkey hash was good as well.
peter n's profile photo
peter n
4 months ago
Its over priced, the food is not done up to par with what it cost and the staff is very short tempered/ rude. Worst restaurant weekended dinner yet! Very small portions too!
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thank you for dining with us Peter. So sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your meal and found your server less than gracious. Please consider contacting me directly with more details so I can begin to repair our relationship and better demonstrate our commitment to quality and gracious hospitality. Respectfully Jeffrey Gates Partner Jgates@aquitainegroup.com
Alex Mottern's profile photo
Alex Mottern
9 months ago
We came for bunch and were told we had 30 minutes to order. Seems fine, right? Kinda. I was stressing after 2:50 because our server came by, took drink orders at 2:35 and was not seen again. More than half empty tables, she knows we want to order brunch, and I don't want to rush the kitchen...anyway, she came back right when I started to stress and we got our order in. She seemed to think that our table of 3 wanted 2 baskets of pastries, each with 4 pastries, so I'm glad we got that sorted and got a great blueberry muffin and slightly overcooked to my liking pan au chocolate. Perfect size for a starter. I had the fall sangria which was fantastic. Very warming in the way that fall flavors are (even though it was a cold drink). I had the mussels and fries which were both great. Not sure about the complement to one another, but the sauce on the mussels was great, probably because it was mostly butter. I feel like I always get a bit of sand in whatever shellfish I eat, and it only happened once here, which is a a great surprise. The fries were perfect. Service was slow and could have gotten another drink out of me, but she never asked. The other two ordered another, mine was mostly gone and she didn't ask if I wanted another. When she brought them mine was empty, but she didn't ask if I wanted another.
• • •
Samuel Akinin's profile photo
Samuel Akinin
3 months ago
The best moules frittes in town!!!! I dont know if you know what that is or if i did before I came to this place, but if you're feeling spontaneous, this is the perfect new flavor for you!!!! trust!
Kevin Liu's profile photo
Kevin Liu
9 months ago
My partner and I went for a date night. We reserved a table and it was ready in time for our arrival. The service was impeccable, and we found the food absolutely amazing. We ordered Escargot to start and it was perfect (and no need to deal with shells). We selected the Bar Steak and Roasted Swordfish, accompanied by some Pinot Noir. The food was delicious though the swordfish portion was a bit small. We had a great time and will definitely be back in the future!
Linn Kay
9 months ago
Gaslight has a hip, classy feel and polished wait staff. Their waitstaff definitely know the blurbs they're supposed to give, but can't answer anything beyond that, which is a bummer for anyone who loves food and wants to know more about what they're eating. The charcuterie plate was pretty good, the prosciutto was excellent. We all ordered the salmon with beluga lentils and tarragon sauce. The fish was perfectly crisped on the outside and moist inside. The lentils were tasty, but I didn't love the tarragon sauce. The "beignets" were not beignets, but rather chocolate donut holes similar to Dunkin Donuts and served with creme fraiche. I would steer away from those for dessert in the future. Overall the food was good and the atmosphere is fun.
• • •
Alyssa Ackerman's profile photo
Alyssa Ackerman
a year ago
Love it here. It's great for brunch, they offer a super affordable menu of a few courses for about ten dollars. Plus they have some of the best bloody mary's I've had in Boston. Great for friends and family but definitely reserve if you're going with a group on a Soma Market day! It's great to eat and wander the market, too. Fun atmosphere, friendly staff, not usually a huge wait.

Stream

Have them in circles
2 people
Tally Boston's profile photo

Gaslight hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.