Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Ampersand Hotel
Hotel
106 followers|4,913,375 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
This month we're taking part in Movember! Please help us support this fantastic cause - any donations would be much appreciated & we'll be sure to share photo updates!
Help Bushra raise money for this great cause.
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
It's half term, why not treat the kids to outer space at The Science Museum.
Cosmonauts: Home · The race to space · The life of a cosmonaut. ***** 'Colossal' – The Telegraph ***** 'Must see' – Londonist 'An outstanding collection' – New Scientist 'Gripping' – The Observer 'See this show and be uplifted, transported, taken out of this world' – Nature ...
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our private spaces are perfect for intimate wedding receptions
Get in touch with our lovely events team to find out more: events@ampersandhotel.com
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
This July we're dusting off our trainers and taking part in The British 10k London Run
We're running for Cancer Research UK - any donations would be very much appreciated!
Help Bushra raise money for this great cause.
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
We're thrilled to have won a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for The Ampersand Hotel. Thank you to all our guests for your great reviews, we really do appreciate it
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
We're really excited to have our own wedding license! The lovely Francesca is here to help you organise your perfect day
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
106 people
woody bolton's profile photo
TableCrowd's profile photo
AfternoonTea.co.uk's profile photo
The Harrington Residences's profile photo
Layla Alotaibi's profile photo
Anna Currie's profile photo
Golden Hotel's profile photo
SecretLondon Agent's profile photo
Nathalie Salas's profile photo

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
Luxuria Lifestyle reports on Apero's new autumn menu:
"Each dish on the new menu has been carefully crafted to offer maximum flavour without overcomplicating ingredients, including the corn fed chicken that is cooked for 4 hours in a water bath to create a beautiful buttery texture complete with a crispy skin."
South Kensington neighbourhood restaurant and bar, Apero, is excited to announce the appointment of Head Chef Mark Woolgar. Bringing with him a wealth of i
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
This Christmas we're offering guests a gift to be treasured, with handmade, lovingly stitched stockings that can be embroidered with the names of your choice.
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
We recommend delving into The Natural History Museum's latest 
exhibition, 'Coral Reefs: Secret Cities of the Sea'

Take a virtual reef dive, see live sea coral and fish in the aquarium & enjoy spectacular underwater photography
Find out more about our Coral Reefs: Cities of the Sea exhibition, opening in March 2015.
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
Don't forget, there's still time to enter our competition!
For the chance to WIN a night's stay in one of our Deluxe Rooms enter now.
10 Harrington Road, London, England. 020 7589 5895 info@ampersandhotel.com ampersandhotel.com
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
Planning a trip to London this summer, but not sure where to begin? Let us help.
Celebrate Summer in London with the Ampersand Hotel's South Kensington Welcome Pack. Find out more on our OFFICIAL SITE.
1
Add a comment...

The Ampersand Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Independent has included us in a round-up of the '12 best hotels in London' - great to be a part of the cream of the crop!
Finding the right hotel to stay in London can be like finding a needle in a haystack, particularly if you are a first-timer to – or unfamiliar with - the city.
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
10 Harrington Rd London SW7 3ER United Kingdom
10 Harrington RoadGBLondonSW7 3ER
+44 20 7589 5895ampersandhotel.com
Hotel
From the interior design of our rooms to the collections and curiosities, our luxury boutique hotel in South Kensington unites guests with the local surrounding area through the five themes of botany, music, geometry, ornithology and astronomy. The hotel also features a restaurant serving fresh Mediterranean food.
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ampersand Hotel's unique concept is inspired by the capital's world-famous museum district and the iconic ampersand symbol, which illustrates the hotel's role in connecting its guests to the best of South Kensington. The hotel, which opened in its modern incarnation in summer 2012, was originally built as a boutique hotel. Values of discovery and wonder appear in the design of all 111 Luxury rooms and suites, from the pattern of the V&A's costume collection, to the Science Museum's planets, from the Natural History Museum's ornithological drawings to the drama and ceremony of the Royal Albert Hall.

Apero is among Kensington's best restaurants. With an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere, our food includes easy-going Mediterranean cooking while in The Drawing Rooms, our all-day coffee, patisserie and light bite menus can be enjoyed in a room that's always busy with a convivial neighbourhood spirit. We have a choice of three spaces, The Games Room, The Library & The Wine Room available for hire separately or together, all of them sharing the building's Victorian roots while being decorated in eclectic style and kitted out with the latest technology. In addition, we offer the latest equipment in our 24 hour Gym and a Table Tennis which guests are welcome to use when it's not in use for events. For things to do in London, we can direct you to the neighbourhood's best shops, which includes nearby Brompton Cross, Knightsbridge and Chelsea, as well as what's on in London's museum district on the Cromwell Road.

Check out our latest special offers here.
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
People
Have them in circles
106 people
woody bolton's profile photo
TableCrowd's profile photo
AfternoonTea.co.uk's profile photo
The Harrington Residences's profile photo
Layla Alotaibi's profile photo
Anna Currie's profile photo
Golden Hotel's profile photo
SecretLondon Agent's profile photo
Nathalie Salas's profile photo
Make a Reservation
5-star hotel
$210
Book at Booking.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $252 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.5
31 reviews
5 star
22 reviews
4 star
6 reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
No reviews
Eclectic decor inspired by local landmarks in boutique hotel with a trendy Mediterranean restaurant.- Google
"We slept well and enjoyed our stay in South Kensington."
"It was upon my recommendation that a friend booked her bridal shower here."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Simon Warner's profile photo
Simon Warner
a month ago
It's a lovely hotel. My wife and I ate out at a great restaurant nearby but the breakfast at the hotel was nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great location, relaxed and comfortable room that is modern and clean. We slept well and enjoyed our stay in South Kensington
Paul Glassman's profile photo
Paul Glassman
2 months ago
What I liked: Very convenient location opposite the South Kensington underground station. Original yet elegant design of the public spaces and rooms. Egyptian cotton bed linens. Two types of pillows: firm and soft. Radiant heat and rain shower head in the bathroom. iMacs and color printer available at all times. Fast Wi-Fi. Very friendly and professional staff. Lunch in the drawing rooms. What I didn't like: Teeny size of the room. Very confusing over-designed light controls. Electronic do-not-disturb sign that can be turned on accidentally, resulting in no cleaning of the room that day.
• • •
Leanne Fraser
8 months ago
This months afternoon tea with Jen was definitely our favourite and one that we’d been hoping to try for a very long time. You see the Ampersand Hotel like to alternate their afternoon teas switching it up for a different theme every two to three weeks but always coming back to the very popular Science afternoon tea. Based in South Kensington about a five-minute walk from museum central it’s easy to see where the inspiration comes from. Tea is served in the lovely Drawing Rooms, a light airy room with a vintage feel and the perfect setting for a leisurely afternoon tea date. There was a wide range to teas to choose and I was torn between two. The one that I tried to order actually wasn’t included which was actually a good thing as it made the decision for me. For savouries there were gougères instead of sandwiches; tiny little savoury choux pastry buns which made a delightful change. Gloucester old spot ham, Forman & Son smoked salmon, dill & cream cheese, coronation chicken and cheese with fruit chutney. All of which were lovely but of course the salmon was my favourite as always! The scones were a little different from usual as well laced with white chocolate chips rather than the regular sultanas a huge improvement in my opinion, you should know by now of my hatred of sultans, but it didn’t really add that much flavour to them over plain scones. But what we were really looking forward to was the pastries! The smoke had long since cleared (for safety reasons, the dry ice was removed before we were allowed to touch anything) but it was difficult to decide where to begin. There was a small cake shaped like a planet. A beaker of citrus cocktail. A pistachio macaron complete with cherry sauce pipette. And a volcano made from chocolate cake and mango mousse complete with chocolate dinosaurs. Now I’m not going to lie and say these were the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth, they weren’t, but they were delicious and the novelty value definitely adds to the experience. The hotel itself is also exceptionally beautiful and we had a little snoop around on our way to the bathroom before we left. The service could have been a little bit better (we had to ask for a glass of water twice before it arrived) but it was a really enjoyable experience and we’ve likely been spoiled for future outings!
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Leanne, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate all guest comments and use them to improve on the service we offer. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience and hope you will be back to try another afternoon tea, perhaps our Wimbledon Afternoon tea. Kind regards Tracey Assistant General Manager
Annabelle Hill's profile photo
Annabelle Hill
9 months ago
We visited for afternoon tea and were blown away with the lovely Games Room we were given to celebrate for a friends Bridal Shower however that happy experience was severely dampened by the poor service and execution of the tea. The staff member who served us had a generally frosty demeanour and we were left to serve ourselves tea throughout most of the afternoon. The Bride was hoping for lovely cake stands and a real experience but all of the food was served on large platters and we had to ask for the red velvet cupcakes she had been promised as they had been forgotten.
• • •
Esther Judelson's profile photo
Esther Judelson
a week ago
Great hotel - always clean with welcoming staff and an amazing location. Rooms are very small (not a problem for me but just something to know when booking).
Ian Messenger's profile photo
Ian Messenger
2 weeks ago
Really nice hotel with amazingly friendly staff. Great location nearby to South Kensington tube station with direct links to central London
Jen L's profile photo
Jen L
7 months ago
We came for the Science Afternoon Tea in the Drawing Rooms and I was blown away by the hotel and would love to come back and stay in one of the rooms in the future. The hotel had a games room and a reading room in the communal areas, and the afternoon tea itself was incredible - come for the dry ice and chocolate dinosaurs, stay for the incredible lighting in the foyer and a game of scrabble.
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Dear Jen L, Thank you for your great review. I am so happy you enjoyed afternoon tea with us. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe for our Wimbledon themed tea. Kind regards Tracey Assistant General Manager
Tara Mansfield's profile photo
Tara Mansfield
9 months ago
It was upon my recommendation that a friend booked her bridal shower here. Having seen The Ampersand featured in a few 'best afternoon teas' lists and having seen some fantastic looking photos I had thought that it would be amazing. I was wrong. We were booked into The Drawing Room which in itself is a beautiful and impressive room. However, once you have been impressed by the interior of the hotel and the room, that's where the good part ends. No one was there to greet us or take our coats which okay, is not a big deal but there was a complete lack of service throughout the whole of our day. The waiter essentially went around saying "English breakfasts?" and dishing out tea bags only to then pour out of a plastic travel jug. After our initial tea cups had been consumed he did not return to offer top ups but instead we had to get up and help ourselves. This lack of service was accompanied by a bad attitude which prevailed throughout the duration of our stay. One of the guests had a lactose intolerance which had been communicated to the hotel prior to our visit. When we were given scones this guest was given clotted cream. We were unsure if they had provided a vegan cream as a substitute and when asked was curtly replied with "...of course it has dairy in it... it's cream... what else would it be?" The food on the whole was poor. The sandwiches were nice enough but the cakes were presented like an Iceland party platter and while the Victoria sponge bites were nice, they were certainly nothing to write home about and for the price I think there are much better alternatives to Afternoon Tea. At the end of the day, everyone knows Afternoon Tea is more about the experience than the actual food. It's about the crockery, the service, the ritual of a tradition and the 'treat' experience. If the food happens to be fantastic as well then even better. I'm afraid The Ampersand was 0/2 on this account. I would strongly advise anyone who is thinking of booking in here for Afternoon Tea to consider other options.
• • •
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
Dear Tara, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Drawing Rooms. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows to improve on the service we offer. I am very disappointed the level of service you received was not to our usual high level. Please rest assured all the points you have raised have been shared with the team to ensure we offer a better standard of service in the future. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience and disappointment experienced by you and your friends. I have contacted Laura with regards to the above. Please contact me directly, fc@ampersandhotel.com, and I will be happy to discuss your experience. Rest assured that these are not the standards we pride ourselves with and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and restore your faith in us. Kind regards Francesca Sales and Events Executive