Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Funky Buddha Yoga Hothouse
Yoga Studio
Today 6:00 am – 9:00 pm
21 followers|486,670 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
Today's mantra. #funkybuddhayoga  
1
Add a comment...
 
Success is ________. 
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
Happy Funky Friday. #funkybuddhayoga  
1
Add a comment...
 
Leap of faith. #funkybuddhayoga  
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
21 people
Carrie LaBarge's profile photo
Jacqueline Alimpich's profile photo
Robby Poll's profile photo
Derek Trovillion's profile photo
Michelle Avery's profile photo
Bevelwise's profile photo
YogaTrail's profile photo
Meditation Meditation's profile photo
Yoga Spectrum's profile photo
 
Think for yourself. #funkybuddhayoga  
1
Add a comment...
 
Make the best of everything.  #funkybuddhayoga  
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
Don't mess with savasana. 
1
Add a comment...
 
Love. Just love. #FunkyBuddhaYoga  
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1331 Lake Dr SE Grand Rapids, MI 49506
1331 Lake Drive SoutheastUSMichiganGrand Rapids49506
(616) 459-9642yogahothouse.com
Yoga StudioToday 6:00 am – 9:00 pm
Monday 6:00 am – 9:00 pmTuesday 6:00 am – 9:00 pmWednesday 6:00 am – 9:00 pmThursday 6:00 am – 9:00 pmFriday 6:00 am – 9:00 pmSaturday 7:30 am – 3:00 pmSunday 9:00 am – 9:00 pm
Menu

West Michigans' premier hot yoga studio with classes for all levels.  Join us in Eastown, Holland, or Forest Hills!  Check our our new customer special, 30 days of unlimited yoga for $39!
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
31 reviews
5 star
16 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
8 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
1 review
"I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in trying Hot yoga!"
"My girlfriends and I tried the absolute beginners class last week."
"All of the instructors are warm, friendly, and most of all encouraging."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
21 people
Carrie LaBarge's profile photo
Jacqueline Alimpich's profile photo
Robby Poll's profile photo
Derek Trovillion's profile photo
Michelle Avery's profile photo
Bevelwise's profile photo
YogaTrail's profile photo
Meditation Meditation's profile photo
Yoga Spectrum's profile photo
All reviews
Amy Lishinski
a year ago
I am crazy about this place. Great for my mind and body. The instructors are smart, kind, wonderful people, and the studio is very clean and pleasant. I highly recommend it. Helpful info: You can rent a mat and towel for, I believe, around $2, and there are blocks and straps to borrow for free. The absolute beginners class is a good place to start, so you can get used to the heat and learn the poses.
Melissa Krenzke's profile photo
Melissa Krenzke
2 years ago
My girlfriends and I tried the absolute beginners class last week. None of us have ever taken a formal yoga class...and have really only done the few moves in P90X. This was a 2 hr class and let me tell you..it was amazing! The three instructors were so incredibly nice and they answered any questions people had. We would learn a few moves and then "flow" by going from move to move to move. The instructors would walk around and adjust you if you needed it but it was very helpful and they were very encouraging. We were in a class with other "absolute beginners" and it was a great environment. You didn't feel like you were being judged if you couldn't do the move just right. You definitely SWEAT but it feels so good! I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in trying Hot yoga!!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 years ago
Thanks Melissa! So glad you loved it!
Lynn Ghazinouri
2 years ago
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! All of the instructors are warm, friendly, and most of all encouraging. I wandered in without a clue about vinyasa and very little knowledge of yoga (though I was familiar with some of the poses from a yoga book I bought)...and while I was totally lost in the beginning (as many of you have expressed) I would like to pass along the sentiment of my instructor after the very first class I took, she said , "just keep coming - it will sink in - I promise." I did and it did. Though it took some time (as all good things do) but the journey has been and continues to be well worth it. So - to those of you that seem a little lost at first - PLEASE GO BACK - just keep going and I promise it will sink in! Namaste :-)
• • •
Kia Abbgy
2 years ago
I went to the Sunday evening community class and briefly considered walking out after the first 5-10 min. I stayed, but would not go again. This is a fitness class. The instructor (Amanda, the night I went) wears a headset with a microphone and barks out the asana sequence like it's some kind of boot camp. I worry that there's no warning against beginners attending this class, as it is very fast-paced and there is almost zero instruction on how to properly flow through and be in the postures. People can be seriously injured in some of these poses, especially if they are unfamiliar with them and even more so if they are moving quickly between them trying to keep up with the class/instructor. My biggest disappointment though, and the reason I will not be back, is that for me yoga is a mindfulness practice. It can be very physically challenging, but without the mental, emotional, and spiritual challenge - the awareness, the connection between the physical and the mental/emotional/spiritual experience - it is nothing but another workout. This connection was completely absent from the class I attended. bottom line: The Funky Buddha Yoga Hothouse offers a workout for people familiar with yoga asanas. If that's something you're interested in, you should give them a try. If you're new to yoga or looking for a more well-rounded yoga practice, try another studio.. or at least avoid their community class.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 years ago
Thanks for the review. However, we see thousands of students a week that would vehemently disagree with your assessment. We offer 6 types of classes(several meant for new yogis) and you would have made a more informed reviewer by attending something other than 1 community class. Best wishes on your yoga journey.
junk mail
10 months ago
I'm studio shopping, and this is my review of Funky as it compares to some other places: If you're looking for balance of mind body and spirit, if you're wanting to use your body to look within, to find connection, peace, spirituality, learn about the tradition of yoga... this is not the yoga studio for you. IF however, you are looking for an excellent workout with upbeat, funky, and energized instructors... this is definitely the place for you. Funky buddha will help you lose weight, gain strength and endurance, and maybe even laugh a little bit as you try new poses and fall over with everyone else in the class. It's young, it's trendy, hip and funky. It makes yoga "cool". And kudos, because I think that they're introducing yoga to a lot of people that wouldn't normally take part. ...but this is a western yoga, it's not traditional yoga. And it is definitely not accessible to all body types. I saw many people struggling in the "intro" class, and I can't even imagine how they would ever be able to do even a "slow flow" class at Funky. It's a great way to let off some steam (literally? figuratively?). These classes are very westernized, they don't encourage us to dig deep or think big. They DO give you a sexy body and they definitely make me feel empowered as I continue to grow strength and flexibility. It's a workout, not much more. With a one-month unlimited package I have lost 10 lbs and gained a lot more muscle definition (what? I have muscle under my belly skin? who knew!). Funky buddha's classes focus on the BODY above all else. Yoga as a way to get fit. I will say that the instructors and atmosphere at the Holland location are a bit more of the yoga that I am looking for. It's more balancing, I still work my body hard but am encouraged to see how my body is often a reflection of what's happening inside. Noticing connections, finding balance, yadda yadda. I like that spirit medicine. Funky isn't really the place for that. Hope this helps!
• • •
Sarah Zielinski's profile photo
Sarah Zielinski
2 years ago
I don't normally write reviews, but when I saw the Funky Buddha got some negative ones I felt I had to chime in. I began going to Funky Buddha about a month ago and I was instantly in love. I had never been to a yoga studio before, hadn't even practiced at my house! The staff there are the friendliest people you will ever meet and they (and the assistants) help you however and whenever they can to better your experience. And the people that go there are always friendly and open to meeting new people and no one judges if you are a beginner like myself. Soon after I started there, things got rather complicated in my personal life, Funky Buddha was (and is) my place to go to clear my mind and hit reset. Not sure what I would do without that safe haven!
• • •
I Meyer's profile photo
I Meyer
2 years ago
Whilst I like the classes I dislike the fact that regular specials such as GROUPON deals fill up the classes to the point that regulars ($ 89/month membership fee) have access denied - even if pre-registered for a class but not arrived 5 minutes prior to class start. Given that I drive 15 min to class and am on a "full paying" membership (compared to the big portion of "student discount attendees" or Groupon) I feel the classes should be made available at all times as honor to their core customers.
• • •
Christina Hamati's profile photo
Christina Hamati
2 years ago
This is a decent yoga studio with lots of room for improvement. I attended a few different classes and instructors over the summer and got the sense that they were all Baptiste-trained. Some of my favorite instructors were trained in this discipline, but not the ones who teach at this studio. The classes are too fast-paced, even for an avid yogini/regular long-distance runner like myself. Sun salutations are meant to be coordinated with breath, yet there are no cues given for breathing, and even if there were, the sequences move too fast to properly breathe with each pose. There is absolutely zero guidance on proper form and alignment, which concerned me because I brought some newer yogis (my sisters) with me when I went and I wanted them not only to like it, but also to learn from it. Even though I've been practicing for awhile, it is still nice to be reminded on proper form and alignment in order to stay present and focused during my practice. The instructors are terrible at speaking in the relaxing tones I typically associate with my favorite yoga instructors at other studios. Instead they bark instructions in yelling voices like you're at boot camp. I found this to be very jarring and distracting from the focus of a yoga class which is to relax and tune into one's body, first and foremost, with the workout/calorie burning aspect being more secondary. The priorities are switched at this studio. I also thought the receptionist the second time I went was quite rude. We got to the studio at least 10 minutes early, but she took forever to let my sister rent a mat even though we were the only ones at the counter, and then did not let us into the room because we were "late" and everyone was "meditating" (i.e. laying in savasana at the start of class). I thought that was annoying. The receptionist at the time was Jaime, who also happens to be the instructor that is most guilty of "barking" instructions during class. I like Ashley's classes -- she is fun and playful, although sometimes talks too much/says bizarre things. I also like Laura's classes. I have yet to try Carrie's. I have heard good things about her from other yoga-loving friends, though. While I obviously have a lot of complaints about this studio, I still enjoy going. There are not many places to do yoga in West Michigan, though, so my options are quite limited. Things I like about this studio include the fun music, the way the studio is run in a well-organized manner, and that all the classes are heated. I also love their slow-flow classes, which, contrary to the name, is a half hour of fast-paced typical Baptiste flow followed by deep long holds (love those). Lastly, I like that all the classes are challenging. While it is annoying to bring new-to-yoga friends to them, it is nice for me personally because my practice is more advanced, so I know how to modify if I feel like I can't breathe properly or I am too tired. I think the studio could benefit from diversifying the types of instructors they hire (i.e. hire instructors from disciplines other than Baptiste). In the same vein, I also think the studio could benefit from switching up the flow a bit. It is easy to get in a yoga rut as a practitioner when all of the classes follow the exact same format--I find this to be very boring. However, I do look forward to checking out the new Holland location when I am home for vacation over winter break. Maybe there will be some newer instructors.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 years ago
Thanks for your feedback Christina. We always recommend that new students start with our Absolute Beginners class and then move on to our Basics classes. We appreciate you bringing new students but keep in mind the best type of class for them.