Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
4,902 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Axiom Hotel

Shared publicly  - 
 
What's the next big thing for hotels? Tell us with the hashtag #AxiomCenterofNext for a chance to win big each month leading up to the Axiom's opening! First month's winner will receive a complimentary room night and will be selected at the end of July. So tell us - what do you think is the next big thing?
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
This place has closed. Not true?
28 Cyril Magnin St San Francisco, CA 94102
28 Cyril Magnin StreetUSCaliforniaSan Francisco94102
(415) 398-3200axiomhotel.com
Hotel, Boutique Hotel
Welcome to the new Axiom Hotel where history collides with the digital revolution.  As a guest, prepare to be rewarded with a stay that is on pace with the pulse of San Francisco's amazing city.  Axiom's turn-of-the-century history, combined with its modern ambiance and seamless technology, provides respect for the past and excitement for what's next!
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
2.8
59 reviews
5 star
6 reviews
4 star
15 reviews
3 star
13 reviews
2 star
14 reviews
1 star
11 reviews
Historic hotel with stylish rooms & suites, free WiFi & regular social hours with free beer/wine.- Google
"Clean, great location, free internet, but kind of quirky/odd."
"They also have a continental breakfast with juices, muffins, and bagels."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Lindsay Udom's profile photo
Lindsay Udom
6 months ago
Clean, great location, free internet, but kind of quirky/odd. The rooms are tiny, elevators small, windows don't open & closer easily, and there only heating no ac
InLight - Dalia Zaghou's profile photo
InLight - Dalia Zaghou
a year ago
Unfortunately, despite of the great location. The cleanliness and customer service is miserable. Since there is no heating in the rooms, we asked for a blanket : first, the man bringing it was very upset for bothering him late at night (since it was past 11:30pm), 2. he brought us a filthy blanket. Smelling so stuffy 3. and burnt at the tips. This is obviously not to expect from a $156/night hotel. In addition to having a room with a view which you can not open the blinds of the window to enjoy the view and when we asked for help from the house keeping the guys said if you open the blinds, you won't be able to put them down again. So in essence a room with a view (which we opted for regardless or the noise of the street to have a view) that we couldn't enjoy. And on top of all of that, the hotel charged me for $50 extra post my signature at the check out. Till now i am trying to reach the accounts to resolve this issue for me and the front office man almost hanged up on me the phone as he was busy and the accounts guy is busy on another phone. Mind you, i live in Dubai and all my calls are international calls; so just trying to resolve a $50 discrepancy, seems that i will have to pay another $100 on the phone calls!! such a petty to have such a bad experience with a hotel that has a great location! Will never go there again!
• • •
Yixiao Sun's profile photo
Yixiao Sun
9 months ago
I agree this with all the negative comments such as "Do yourself a favor and pay a little more for a better hotel. The service is horrible, the room was the size of a janitor's closet and the bed was a twin size! This place is a joke"
Meghan Scobie's profile photo
Meghan Scobie
a year ago
I am not sure why anyone would write a completely negative review for The Powell Hotel. You should maybe consider increasing your budget and understand for the rate/night this hotel is a great find in San Fransico.This hotel is not only very affordable, but located in the perfect spot right around the corner from Union Square. They offer a 3 hour happy hour with the basic bar snacks and a variety of wines, beer, and liquor. They also have a continental breakfast with juices, muffins, and bagels. My room was smaller then the majority of other hotels I have stayed at, but you defiantly get what you pay for. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you are traveling on a budget, then I highly recommend The Powell Hotel.
• • •
Kyle Petzinger's profile photo
Kyle Petzinger
a year ago
Just don't do it. I know it's cheap, but don't. There was mold on the walls, the bed couldn't be more uncomfortable, it was muggy inside the room, the room was TINY, the room was loud, the sheets looked disgusting. The only positive that can be said is the location, but you're almost better off just sleeping on the streets instead. We originally were booked for 3 nights here but left in the middle of the first night. Never ever ever again.
Dinesh Jain's profile photo
Dinesh Jain
a year ago
No Heating in the room.. and this is a 3 Star Hotel?#%$@& The gruff Front Desk man says; he will send an extra blanket, if I want. Amazing!!! San Francisco City Administration and Hotel rating/Grading agency; Kindly NOTE these facts.
Igor Wojnicki's profile photo
Igor Wojnicki
7 months ago
Nice location. Friendly and helpful staff. Decor on the old side, some remodeling could help.
Robman Nonaym
a year ago
Don't make the same mistake we made. This hotel is a blast from the past, and by "the past", I mean the 19th century. Why this thing was spared by the fire, I'll never know but will always regret. The rooms are tiny...smaller than a cruise ship. And old--dents and dings everywhere, trimwork only found in very old buildings, stuff really just falling apart top to bottom, all just painted over. There was an old style radiator on the floor, with the wire running up to the thermostat outside the wall. The carpet was dirty and I was very sorry I did not pack an extra pair of socks to wear after my shower (at least there was running hot water). There was no ventilation of any sort in the bathroom, so...tiny room, tiny bathroom, no vent...you can do the math on that one. The main window was large, and it could be opened (which is good, since, again, no vent or a/c, or even a fan in our case). Then you get to see and hear the entire city outside the window which includes, of course, Powell street and the crazies who live on it, and the end stop of the Powell trolley line (*DING!!!*). Closing the thin single pane of glass only muffles the sound, so you get to hear it all night regardless. Then in the morning you can decide what was louder--the city outside the window, the stairwell beyond the wall, or your neighbors in the next room beyond the other wall. And by "morning", I mean 8:30AM, which is precisely the time housekeeping was knocking on our door, so don't make plans to sleep in. The beds were single, so very small, and I don't know how old they are, but perhaps as old as the rest of the place, because they smelled like it. There's a protective liner between the mattress and sheet to give you a sense of protection from the elements, but it's only about 2/3 as wide as the bed, so you get to pretend you're a little kid playing some kind of game to see if you can stay on the magic raft and not touch the imaginary toxic sludge you're floating on. I've been to 3rd world countries multiple times, and I have endured worse, but that's the thing. My stay at the Powell reminded me of all those other bad experiences and I had to draw on them to convince myself that I could make it just 1 night there. And I could accept it, I guess, if I hadn't been bamboozled by all the puzzlingly positive reviews I found online before booking the place, and if I didn't have to pay over $200, including parking, as the price of entry. Good points: Lobby staff quick and attentive, seemed proficient at checking you in and correcting whatever they could quickly (like missing towels in the room). Valet guy seemed to hustle too. Free wifi access. Sheets and pillowcases seemed clean.
• • •