Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA Holiday
Campground
32 followers|775,143 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Contact Information
Map of the business location
4460 Walnut Rd Buckeye Lake, OH 43008
4460 Walnut RoadUSOhioBuckeye Lake43008
(740) 928-0706koa.com
Campground, Camp
Campground
Camp
Park
RV Park
Boaters, water-skiers and anglers converge for fun on 3,000-acre Buckeye Lake, east of the capital city.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
32 people
Chautauqua Lake KOA Holiday's profile photo
Amarillo KOA's profile photo
Meadville KOA Campground's profile photo
Chicago Northwest KOA's profile photo
Carlsbad KOA Holiday's profile photo
Eureka Springs KOA's profile photo
Traverse City KOA Holiday's profile photo
Burkburnett / Wichita Falls KOA Journey's profile photo
Brigham City / Perry South KOA Journey's profile photo
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
3.5
27 reviews
5 star
11 reviews
4 star
4 reviews
3 star
4 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
5 reviews
"Got a premium site for our big rig -- it was spacious, clean, and pretty."
"Our camping experience was less than satisfying."
"Nice little town."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Crystal Hopkins's profile photo
Crystal Hopkins
a week ago
This place is super clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. My family and I camped here in a tent. My husband was disappointed that the sites were right in front of the campers and out in the open, but I didn't mind because our site was close to everything. The pool is a little small, but really clean and the kids had a blast in it. Up until around midnight I thought this place was amazing and that we would be spending a lot of time her. Around midnight (quiet hours) kids were screaming very loudly and until well after 2am the traffic and headlights of people coming in kept my daughter and I awake. The campground itself was already really well lit and all the campers had exterior lights on. Due to not being able to sleep, we probably not return.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Crystal, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to sleep as well as we would have hoped. We do have rules in place regarding quiet time at our park and we will do our best to enforce them better. We can assure you that this is not a regular issue and do hope you will reconsider returning to give us another chance. We have a variety of tent sites, some of which are a little more secluded.
Art Kreatschman's profile photo
Art Kreatschman
in the last week
Mostly empty. Extremely expensive. Had to pay extra for additional wifi. Boasted weekend supper....but not on Sunday evening.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Art, and for staying with us during your recent trip to the area. Please accept our apologies that you were not completely satisfied during your recent visit, we'll definitely pass along your feedback in an effort to improve and wish you all the best.
Dill Adams's profile photo
Dill Adams
8 months ago
I've been going to this "kamp" ground for 5 years now. I have basically grown up here. My family and I have always been telling ourselves that we want to explore other campgrounds, but always end up here! I guess we just have too many memories here, my brother even learned to ride his bike for the first time here. Our family recently purchased a new camper, and the first place we went with it, was KOA Buckeye Lake! We love the staff and the owners Mike and Shirley, who we have built a good relationship with. We have also formed good relationships with the seasonal people, we are even getting a seasonal spot of our own! 13 now, I still love to jump on the giant pillow, go putt putt golfing, ride on the rental bikes, go in the heated pool, ride on the firetruck, play in the arcade, go to ice-cream social, get breakfast on Sunday's, play on the playground with my little brother, see DJ Frick in Frack on Saturdays when he is there, and participate in activities that go on all weekend. One of our favorite weekends here at KOA, is Super Soaker Weekend. We battle with water all weekend. Look out for the black golf cart that weekend! (that's us). Even the Buckeye Lake fire department come out and spray us! We also like the car shows that are there from time to time, my father brings his '67 Pontiac GTO there (he won his first trophy there) Thank you for a great 5 years, and we hope to have many more memories to come, here at KOA Buckeye Lake. ~The Adams Family
• • •
Jim Henson's profile photo
Jim Henson
8 months ago
Worst camping experience ever. Small tight lots with no extra parking space. No lawn for the kids to play at the campsite. The written and unwritten rules only applied to certain people. All gravel lots were dusty and noisy . I felt like I was camping in a gravel parking lot in the city. My idea of camping is to get away from the usual and enjoy the country atmosphere. This place should be classified as a trailer park and not a campground. Way overpriced and not worth it. I will never go back.
• • •
Betty Obradovich's profile photo
Betty Obradovich
a month ago
Got a premium site for our big rig -- it was spacious, clean, and pretty. Staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't bring the kids but they would have loved it, lots of kid areas to play. Yes, it as pricey, but worth it for us.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you so much for staying with us Betty! We are so glad to hear that you loved our premium sites. We hope you come back to see us again with all the kids!
james junn's profile photo
james junn
a month ago
The staff was great from the moment we pulled in until the last day. Since it was our first time with the travel trailer they helped us back in made sure we where all setup and even dropped off wood for us. One of the staff George, stood out to us the most. So very kind to us and our family. The other campers where friendly and also made us feel welcome to the site. Thank you for all of your hospitality from management down this was a A+ stay.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you so much for staying with us James! We are so glad you had a great time and we will absolutely pass along your comments to George so he knows how much his great service meant to you. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Chad Long's profile photo
Chad Long
9 months ago
We stayed here labor day weekend 2015 .most camp grounds were priced around 45 a night and KOA was almost 65 a night . I understand you get WiFi and cable and our site had no dump station. The WiFi was so slow it buffered all the time cause we were at the back of the campground and I ended up streaming netflix from my cell phone which was exceptionally faster . we then found out that to even dump our waste it is 15.00 extra on top and they wont let you bring wood from outside the camp ground and its the same stuff you buy at Kroger for 2 packs for 9.00 and they charge 15.00 . less than pleased with pricing and experience. Lots of noisy kids and they keep running a fire truck around disturbing everyone . the scenery is more like a parking lot with trees and everyone is crammed in like sardines
• • •
Dennis Hurley's profile photo
Dennis Hurley
a year ago
I would give this campground 3-star except for their lack of compassion. I stayed here once in 2013. For 3 stars review I found the campground to be on the midrange end for a KOA. The campground was average at the least. For this average rating the cost was rather high. I slammed the rating down to 1-star because of their lack of concern for a KOA member and person We made reservations 5 month prior to stay at the Buckeye KOA for a week. A week and a half prior our unit broke down. We were scheduled to stay at two other KOAs that returned our deposits and I paid for a week. When we made the reservation at this KOA we were required to pay for the entire week in advance. When we called a week and a half ahead of time they refused to return my deposit. I don't recall their policy. The payment had long since processed and I had no means of getting a refund. The charges were just less than $300. I will never stay here again, particularly since they don't have a very good record of fairness to customers particularly out of state customers. I believe that all the reviews are from local Ohio residents that use it frequently and have a "good buddy" relationship.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We sincerely apologize that you had to cancel your reservation due to issues with your rig. We do have a cancellation policy that was provided to you upon making the reservation though. That states that we will give you a refund less a 25% deposit on stays of 4 nights or more. As soon as you called to cancel we attempted to refund the difference to your credit card. We were told the card had been cancelled so we mailed you a check instead. We do wish you all the best with getting your rig fixed and safe travels on the road.