Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA
Campground
31 followers|434,343 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Contact Information
Map of the business location
4460 Walnut Rd Buckeye Lake, OH 43008
4460 Walnut RoadUSOhioBuckeye Lake43008
(740) 928-0706koa.com
Campground, RV Park
Boaters, water-skiers and anglers converge for fun on 3,000-acre Buckeye Lake, east of the capital city.
Google+ URL
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
3.8
18 reviews
5 star
8 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Rhonda Huddle
a week ago
Wow! We enjoyed our weekend here sooooo much! The staff was personable to our entire family, even our dog Rusty! The office recommended the Buckeye Lake Winery and the Dawes Arboretum, both of which were hidden gems! We enjoyed the rest of the weekend without leaving the campground, playing on the giant chess and checkerboard, visiting with other guests, listening to the Sunday church service, eating ice cream, hoping to have a turn on the jumping pillow (but we were over the age of 17...boo hoo!), and visiting with other guests. What a family oriented gem you have here! Thanks for helping us make memories this weekend! The Huddles
• • •
Dennis Hurley's profile photo
Dennis Hurley
3 months ago
I would give this campground 3-star except for their lack of compassion. I stayed here once in 2013. For 3 stars review I found the campground to be on the midrange end for a KOA. The campground was average at the least. For this average rating the cost was rather high. I slammed the rating down to 1-star because of their lack of concern for a KOA member and person We made reservations 5 month prior to stay at the Buckeye KOA for a week. A week and a half prior our unit broke down. We were scheduled to stay at two other KOAs that returned our deposits and I paid for a week. When we made the reservation at this KOA we were required to pay for the entire week in advance. When we called a week and a half ahead of time they refused to return my deposit. I don't recall their policy. The payment had long since processed and I had no means of getting a refund. The charges were just less than $300. I will never stay here again, particularly since they don't have a very good record of fairness to customers particularly out of state customers. I believe that all the reviews are from local Ohio residents that use it frequently and have a "good buddy" relationship.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We sincerely apologize that you had to cancel your reservation due to issues with your rig. We do have a cancellation policy that was provided to you upon making the reservation though. That states that we will give you a refund less a 25% deposit on stays of 4 nights or more. As soon as you called to cancel we attempted to refund the difference to your credit card. We were told the card had been cancelled so we mailed you a check instead. We do wish you all the best with getting your rig fixed and safe travels on the road.
Kristie Ackerman
a year ago
Our camping experience was less than satisfying. The sites are incredibly small -- and to make it worse we were unknowingly put in a "buddy" site. Luckily for our neighbors they got there first and took up the majority of the site. Not so lucky for us. We were told there were no other sites available, yet over the weekend we saw several open. This is the most we have ever paid for a site. While there were many activities for kids and the restrooms/showers were clean, we would NOT return.
• • •
Gary Walters's profile photo
Gary Walters
2 years ago
I have camped here on numerous occasions. Rest Room facilities by the Office were upgraded in early 2009, which my companion thought was outstanding, compared to other campgrounds she had been to. A little pricey, but for what is available for a family, worth the extra price for a clean site. Have used a tent on most visits, but took a cabin in 2011, and worth the cost, as it had A/C which made it great for sleeping at night. Town is nearby for light dinners, and pizza delivers onsite. Wi-Fi access available if desired. There is also a fenced in dog run to let your pooch get a little bit of exercise. Ownership has been very nice to over the years, and the Staff has been nice also. Only slight issue is the 'Quiet Time' at night, which is too early for the adults, who want to visit us at campgrounds.
• • •
D Ad's profile photo
D Ad
a month ago
I've been going to this "kamp" ground for 5 years now. I have basically grown up here. My family and I have always been telling ourselves that we want to explore other campgrounds, but always end up here! I guess we just have too many memories here, my brother even learned to ride his bike for the first time here. Our family recently purchased a new camper, and the first place we went with it, was KOA Buckeye Lake! We love the staff and the owners Mike and Shirley, who we have built a good relationship with. We have also formed good relationships with the seasonal people, we are even considering getting a seasonal spot of our own! 13 now, I still love to jump on the giant pillow, go putt putt golfing, ride on the rental bikes, go in the heated pool, ride on the firetruck, play in the arcade, go to ice-cream social, get breakfast on Sunday's, play on the playground with my little brother, see DJ Frick in Frack on Saturdays when he is there, and participate in activities that go on all weekend. One of our favorite weekends here at KOA, is Super Soaker Weekend. We battle with water all weekend. Look out for the black golf cart that weekend! (that's us). Even the Buckeye Lake fire department come out and spray us! Thank you for a great 5 years, and we hope to have many more memories to come, here at KOA Buckeye Lake. ~The Adams Family
• • •
Colette Christiansen's profile photo
Colette Christiansen
4 months ago
One of our favorites! This place has everything. Tents, cabins, deluxe cabins, pull through for up to 52 feet. Pet walk, places for children to play, everything. No restaurant though. Great place for groups and reunions. Cable. Free Wifi. Wifi codes are for one device only however. Very level sites. Mature trees, very nice sites. Staff is excellent. We stop here at least 4 times a year.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much for staying with us Colette! We are so glad you had another great time here and really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Can't wait to see you again!
Ben Stone's profile photo
Ben Stone
2 years ago
This is a pricy, but nice park. This is not a quiet, out of the way, remote, secluded location; which is what it seems other commenter want. This is a great destination for a car show, or a convention, or some other activity. Big common areas, big roofed seating area, nice fenced dog area, easy in-out for big rigs. Lots of cabins and tent camping. Lots of high end pluses. Nice pool, nice children's area, close to the lake, close to stores. On the down side, the internet sucks. One device connection that barely works. If you have more than one device, don't bother paying for the extra. We had to rely on our Verizon connection to post this review.
• • •
Tiffany Ware's profile photo
Tiffany Ware
a year ago
Cute little KOA. Not so great for camping in fall, but perfect any other time of year.