Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Lakeside
Apartment Building
52,498 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1000 Lakeside Dr Athens, GA 30605
1000 Lakeside DriveUSGeorgiaAthens30605
(706) 369-1010lakesideathens.com
Apartment Building, Student Housing Center
At Lakeside you will have the privacy and lifestyle you deserve in an off campus student community that is built specifically with you, the college student, in mind.
Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.1
18 reviews
5 star
No reviews
4 star
4 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
10 reviews
"Leasing office management is a bunch of assholes though."
"Like every apartment complex, there are ups and downs."
"The ROOMMATE matching is terrible!"
Photos
Upload first public photo
All reviews
Julian Traas's profile photo
Julian Traas
2 months ago
My lease expired on July 21, 2014. All the appropriate paperwork was filled out. On August 2nd or 3rd, Lakeside removed $381 from my bank account for no reason. I immediately got on it (I was an unemployed recent college graduate at the time). First they tried to say it was my fault, somehow. On numerous occasions, I sent emails and never received responses. I went into the office and was shrugged off. When I finally got to speak to the manager, this manager was condescending, treating me like a sack of leaky garbage. In the end, it took 6 months to get my refund. Six months. Don't do business with Lakeside. Management is staffed by incompetent dickheads.
• • •
Shelby Young
a month ago
Like every apartment complex, there are ups and downs. However, management typically takes care of any issues in a timely manner once you submit a work order. Honestly, for the rent I pay each month, I feel that I pretty much get what I pay for. It may not be the most high end, but it's a comfortable, quiet space that's close to campus which is something that I value. Pros: close to campus, decent size, quiet, maintenance is awesome Cons: Lots of bugs, always being charged overages, no weather stripping in the old windows which means your room is cold/hot depending on the season and you pay extra in heating and air to keep from melting/freezing
• • •
Devin Weise
6 months ago
I lived at Lakeside for 2 years. Pros- Lakeside is a good amount of space for a low price. The location is good, pool is nice, and the gym is nice. Maintenance fixes problems promptly. Cons- Unfortunately, there are a lot more cons. There is never good communication between the staff members, so information is constantly changing. On several occasions I got bills and charges that were incorrect. The most recent problem I had with Lakeside was that they let Charter come into our apartments with no permission or even notification and disconnect the cable in our bedrooms. We then had to go pick up our own boxes. Then there was a miscommunication between Charter and Lakeside about whether to return our box to Charter or leave it in the apartment so we were told we would be charged extra. Our apartment also flooded on several occasions. When, we first moved in the apartment was nothing like the model. Our upstairs neighbors were so loud at all hours of the night. If you do decide to live here, do not sign your lease early! People who wait until the last minute get rewarded with lower rents and $500 gift cards, while people who have renewed by the "deadline" get nothing.
• • •
Myrha I.'s profile photo
Myrha I.
10 months ago
This place sucks! They should seriously consider closing this community. The "management" and staff aren't that friendly and it seems like most of them don't know what they doing. The apartment itself, yes it's cheap but you get what you pay for. Meaning, it's a very old and dirty apartment community. Not well maintained. There's all sorts of bugs and it just looks shitty. I'm glad I'm moving out of here, it's horrible! Rather spend a little extra on another complex than staying here. Not worth your time or money, you'll just get a headache dealing with them!
• • •
jasmine goolsby's profile photo
jasmine goolsby
2 months ago
PLEASE READ ALL OF THIS!!! This was my VERY FIRST time living without my parents, and I'm having the worse experience ever. The demo room is absolutely different from the rooms you will be living in (in a very bad way). I live in a 4 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. My cousin and I live 3 hours from Athens, so our family got up in the morning to move in. When we got there we had to wait 5 hours to move because they did not have our apartment ready on the day they told us we was allowed to move in. When we finally got to move in the couch seats were ripped. The carpet looked like nothing has been done to it. And that was just the beginning. One of the roommates found a tick in her room and a mysterious bug that we cannot identify. A roach fell on my cousin while using the bathroom. And I have bed bugs. I don't know if all the apartments are like the one I am currently living in, but I would not recommend anyone to live there. This is by far one of the worse experiences I have ever had.
• • •
Antonio Leonard's profile photo
Antonio Leonard
a month ago
If you are looking for an apartment with affordable rates and amenities that are included, this is a perfect place to start. It is relatively close to my school's campus and it's convenient for UGA students. Of course, there are ups and downs, but so far, I haven't had any bad experiences from it.
Chanel Mullgrav
8 months ago
If you don't expect much then this is the place for you. We had a leak in this apartment that seeped through to the floor beneath us. Apparently the people below were complaining that the roof was caving in. We had no idea because it was water was leaking from a locked "closet" sort of door that had what I think was the water heater in it. In the 4 months I've lived here we've only had 1 water bill overage and it corresponded with the time period of the leak. I suspect that they charged us for it. I have a friend who lives (two children and two adults) in a 2500sq ft house and his bill is like 50 dollars. This is an apartment and the bill was 106 dollars. There is also lots of cockroaches! I also had carpet bug and tons of silverfish. Management and staff are incompetent. After an upgrade (laminate wood flooring) the independent contractors hired for the job left a mess outside of the front door. When I asked the office to clean it up they said it was the contractors job. I must have called them 5 times in a 2 week period. My roommates called too. Eventually, I walked to the office and they had to pick up the mess themselves because the contractors never came a picked it up. Recently they moved a 40 year old woman into my apartment. I thought this was college friendly. Pros? Well it's dirt cheap, a 10min ride from school, so far it's been safe, and mostly quiet if you don't have a unit facing the pool (I did). Moral: You get what you pay for.
• • •
Michael King
2 months ago
The appliances I had were old. They didn't even paint the whole apartment after my old roommates left. I had to argue with the leasing office about getting my disgusting refrigerator cleaned out about 5 times before they did anything and they secretly charged me for it and said it was an "overage." It is cheap and you get what you pay for. The gym has a lot of equipment but they never clean it. Besides that the pool is nice. Leasing office management is a bunch of assholes though.
• • •

Stream

Lakeside hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.