I wish I could disable the "Added you on Google+" notifications in the red-badge thing, but there's no such setting.

I get tons of those notifications, and most look a lot like spam accounts, so I never even look. The red badge means nothing to me — it's just something I click on and blindly clear.

I actually do care about notifications when someone shares a post with me or mentions me in a post, but the over-notification of new followers is desensitizing me to all notifications.
Shared publiclyView activity