Gateway Lofts Association Inc
Construction Company
Contact Information
1719 Grand Ave Des Moines, IA 50309
1719 Grand AvenueUSIowaDes Moines50309
Construction Company
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity

Is this your business?

Manage this page
Write a review
Review Summary
9 reviews
5 star
4 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
2 reviews
"Trina, the building manager, has always been helpful with any problems."
"I really enjoy living at the lofts."
"The appliances and fixtures are top notch, and the huge windows are amazing."
Upload first public photo
All reviews
Paul Tokorcheck's profile photo
Paul Tokorcheck
2 months ago
I lived here for the last 3 years and loved it. It's walking distance to everything. Even East Village is kind of a hike, but I did it all the time. The appliances and fixtures are top notch, and the huge windows are amazing. They are surprisingly well-insulated too; I never ran my heater, even in full winter. Also, having an enclosed garage cannot be underestimated in the winter. Trina is a fantastic manager. Great communication, and any issues are taken care of immediately. Yes, it is a bit expensive compared to the rest of Sherman Hill, but most of those apartments are in older buildings with their small quirks. You're paying to live in a new building where everything works as it should. The only other comparable building in the area (Ingersoll Square) charges similar rent. Again, I loved it here, and was sorry to leave.
• • •
Liz Lidgett's profile photo
Liz Lidgett
3 months ago
It was a great experience. Thanks for a wonderful year!
Josh Wise's profile photo
Josh Wise
7 years ago
The highway location doesn't justify the price. Why pay $980 for a studio rental that's not even a true loft 1/2 a mile from downtown when you could live in sherman hills in a number of apartments for the same price for a 2BR or purchase a condo? The three conclusions I come to is 1) You make a lot of money and don't care about being ripped off, 2) You're easily duped, 3) Your looking for someone that is either rich or easily duped living at this complex to leach off of
• • •
A Google User
5 years ago
I lived here for just over a year, and I can't think of anything bad to say about it. It's an apartment, there will be noise, and while this might be SLIGHTLY noiser than some others, it's not too bad at all. The pet policy is amazing, (though I can only speak for dogs), and there's a pretty nice, community-sort of feel amongst the neighbors that have them (and lots of them do). When the weather's nice you can usually find a group of residents out in the yard letting their dogs play with each other. I haven't had any experience with the new maintenance guy, but he seems friendly enough. Trina is the best apartment manager I've had, and I've lived in apartments in 2 other major cities. Another nice feature is that you can choose between cable or DirecTv if you want it. Also, the building has a large elevator, making it VERY easy to move furniture in and out of your unit. The only "bad" thing about this place is that it is a little pricey, but you really do get what you pay for, especially if you need a lot of space, or have large dogs.
• • •
Angie Aarhus
6 months ago
I have lived her for over a year and I love it. Trina, the building manager, has always been helpful with any problems. I have only had a few minor ones. Response via phone or e-mail is always quick and maintenance is outstanding. The rent is not cheap, but you will not find a better rental in town. The main perk for me is the pet policy--any size or type of dog, and cats are also allowed, up to three pets. The building is clean and well maintained. The indoor, climate-controlled parking is a plus--many buildings in the area do not offer this feature. Lofts are roomy and bright. The building is located close to downtown, but away from the main hustle and bustle. You are also only several blocks from I235, so easy to get anywhere in town. And generally speaking VERY quiet, but you will always have some noise in any apartment building. The only drawback is no balcony or patio for any units, but there is the dog park outside the building with seating area and you are only two blocks from the art park.
• • •
Tony Filippini's profile photo
Tony Filippini
a year ago
I really enjoy living at the lofts. The large windows and nice finishing really stand out compared to the other options in downtown. The indoor parking is a huge perk in the winter and the staff are some of the best I've had when it comes to needing an issue looked at or just quick smile when walking by the office.
A Google User
5 years ago
Alan, I am hurt and saddened by your review below. You know I am on maternity leave and have a temp running my office and has been for the last 2 months. I never promised you the building was quiet, I would never do that because any and every multi family housing complex is going to have an element of noise transfer. Any time you have submitted a complaint we addressed it immediately. We have not received any complaints nor have we been made aware of your unhappiness for over 4 months, therefore we can only assume the issue has been solved. If the issue has not been solved then it is only fair to notify the office staff so they have a chance to fix it. But to behave like you have been complaining and complaining with no resolve is unfair and untrue. Please give the office staff a chance to correct the situation before you make such accusations. Thank you.
• • •
A Google User
5 years ago
The manager Trina LIED about the noise problem in this apartment complex. As soon as our lease is up we're out of here. If we had the time to launch a legal battle we would but instead we are just getting the HELL OUT OF HERE.