Profile

Cover photo
Sophie Lagace
1,145 followers|766,193 views
AboutPostsPhotos+1'sReviews
I only tried dessert yesterday, but the chocolate mocha cake was delectable. I looked at people's dinners and saw many things that looked appetizing -- I need to try a full meal there.
Public - 3 months ago
reviewed 3 months ago
We had the hot & sour soup, pot stickers, twice-cooked pork, scallops in hot garlic-ginger sauce, and chicken curry noodles (Singapore-style). Everything tasted fresh, delicious, with well balanced flavours. In addition, the ambiance was relaxing and the service courteous and friendly.
Public - 3 months ago
reviewed 3 months ago
I don't often give 5 stars but Hanazen earned it. One of a kind, artisanal preparation of lovely fresh ingredients, creating complex, nuanced flavours. Eating there for the first time requires a certain dose of humility and appreciation for art. I've been in many nice, pleasant sushi places but it had been a long time since I had been in a top-notch place where everything is about creating art not delivering a product. I say "art" as a compliment, not sarcasm: the art of a perfect balance of flavours, aromas, colours, shapes, and textures. I'd read the Yelp reviews, especially the negative ones (I always do) before trying this place. I "get" what the negative reviewers were unhappy with, but I think they missed the spirit and quality of this place. For context, understand that this place is owned by a husband and wife who are chef and host--Kenji and Coco Horikawa--with no other personnel, and could seat 17 people at a time if it was jammed packed with no room to move. You go there for an evening of slowly savouring little bites of heaven and good conversation, not to have a well-timed meal before going to the Shakespeare play or the movies. Most of the condiments, pickles, sauces, infused salts, and garnishes used in preparing the dishes are made by the chef himself rather than store-bought. This means that every element is so good it can be savoured on its own, but together they build these lovely complex flavours that unfold like slowly as you eat. The sake menu is also diverse and offers a range of flavours as wide as any sommelier's choice of wines in a fine French restaurant. Service: The service started out formal and I understand why it seemed distant to some Yelp commenters. But as soon as we showed that we were interested, not too vain to receive pointers on how to appreciate the food and drinks, and happy to learn about the preparation details, we felt our host and server, Coco Horikawa, warm up to us. The service was attentive and helpful throughout the meal. Freshness and Choice: This is the very opposite experience of chain restaurants where you can find everything everywhere, but of mediocre quality and always the same; it's the one-of-a-kind experience that will be a little different every time. So no long menu with dozens of wacky Americanized rolls, just a solid core list and a board with a generous list of the current delicacies. Coco Horikawa is a sake expert, and Chef Kenji Horikawa's speciality is kaiseki, a method of cooking that marks the seasons in Japan. Let them guide you to what's good and fresh today, and works well together. Price: Just think why your run-of-the-mill sushi bar is cheaper: made faster, with cheaper, store-bought ingredients and using shortcuts like big piggish rolls instead of nigiri pieces. Let's not mince words, Hanazen is expensive for regular people on regular salaries--the kind of place we can only eat at for a special celebration. But it's priced correctly for the value, quality, care, and work involved. Reservations: It's clear that every spot is marked "reserved" all the time. I believe the owners prefer to work by reservation only so they can pace the work and plan the ingredients accordingly. If you want to sit at the counter, mention that when you make your reservation. Wheelchair access: Although Yelp says there is no wheelchair access, they actually put down a ramp in advance if you mention this in your reservation. However, don't expect that anyone will have time to stop preparing or serving food to take care of this if you don't mention it ahead of time.
• • •
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
Lots of choices for breakfast, fresh, flavourful food, pleasant service. I particularly like the Gaucho with Cajun sausage.
Food: ExcellentDecor: GoodService: Very Good
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
108 reviews
Map
Map
Map
I was delighted with my experience at Philz. Delicious coffee, friendly service, convenient hours. We don't have much in terms of real coffee places in this area, you usually have to go to the City -- it's so nice to have this place now! The iced mojito coffee is great summer treat, and the Sooo Good is... as advertised. :-)
Public - 9 months ago
reviewed 9 months ago
So far this is my favourite counter-style Mexican restaurant on the Peninsula outside SF proper. Their salsas are flavourful, freshly made right there; the meats are well cooked, the portions are generous, and the services is cheerful and courteous. I really love the super burrito al pastor and the camarones a la diabla.
Food: Very GoodDecor: Poor - FairService: Very Good
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
Four people, one birthday, six delicious rolls. Our favourites were the Go-Go Cherry roll, the American roll and the Beautiful roll. We also tried the Spider roll, the Raiders roll, and the Dragon roll, which were quite good. The vegan edamame gyoza were a nice surprise. Now we are all stuffed with sushi goodness.
Food: Very GoodDecor: GoodService: Very Good
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago

Stream

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Sunrise over Oakland from the morning train.
10

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Oof. I didn't know nori could get that stale... [Checks the "Best Before" date.] Hmm, September 6, 2013. Yep, stale.
2
Tore Nielsen's profile photo
 
That is/was my birthday. If find that somehow significant.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
27
2
Mark Walters's profile photoRob Barrett's profile photoAnna Maurya's profile photoKevan Forbes's profile photo
2 comments
 
What makes me happiest is that there was no delay on this, no hassle, just the letter.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
In honour of +Green Ronin Publishing's announcement.  :-)
#BlueRoseRPG
34
6
Michael Hazen's profile photoRJ Grady's profile photoÁine ní Dhonnchadha's profile photoRob Donoghue's profile photo
11 comments
 
I HAVE seen that and I really like it. As with all things Fate there are about 10 ways to do it. I have tried converting Blue Rose to other systems and I have trouble with a few aspects of it. So, I am always looking for as many views on it as possible. Your husbands work is great though. I will be plagarzing it when I can.
 
In between getting stranded by car troubles and an hearing the words "new clutch" (not referring to dragon eggs), we did have our second game of The One Ring yesterday. I like the books, the efforts to open the adventures to player input, the background materials, and character creation. However, the dice mechanic is awfully "swingy."

After a long series of bad rolls, I commented to my husband: "It's very true to the source material. Not The Lord of the Rings -- MERP."
8
Theron Bretz's profile photoTim Gray's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photo
3 comments
 
The fact that no matter how good you are, you get the Eye of Sauron 8% of the time was definitely noticeable...

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
And another thought: smartphones are really useful when you're stranded.
10
Ryan M. Danks's profile photoMike DeSimone's profile photo
2 comments

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
They say money can't buy happiness but that's not true. When you have car trouble on a Saturday and have to limp to some garage you don't know, nothing makes you happier than thinking "It's OK, I can cover it. Not like last time."
17
Chris Nolen's profile photoMichael Wenman's profile photoMark Diaz Truman's profile photoJohn Powell's profile photo
4 comments
 
If money doesn't make you happy you are probably not spending it right.
http://www.wjh.harvard.edu/~dtg/DUNN%20GILBERT%20&%20WILSON%20%282011%29.pdf

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Why do I GM?
- Because a game catches my eye and my brain and won't let go.
- Because I love to see the magic happening at the table, when we get together to create a story never read or seen before.
- Because I love to introduce new gamers to the hobby.
- Because I love giving back to my gaming group so other GMs can have a turn at playing.
- Because I love giving back to my community by helping make conventions a success.
- Because nothing is more exciting than hosting a game for a group of enthusiastic, creative, and generous people. (Generous because it's best when everyone is trying to make others shine.)

(Thank you to +Joanna Piancastelli for starting this self-reflection, after we started talking about women and other under-represented groups who GM role-playing games).
#WhydoIGM?
35
Doc Dandy's profile photo
 
Oh so cool! I will do my part.
Have her in circles
1,145 people
J RPGBooster's profile photo
Tim Kirk's profile photo
Brian Fitzpatrick's profile photo
E Zampieri's profile photo
Allan Cabral's profile photo
Kevin Chenevert's profile photo
James MacGeorge's profile photo
Tim Gray's profile photo
Craig Payne's profile photo
 
Lunch time in the San Francisco Bay Area.
16
Richard Ashley's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photoTim Noyce's profile photo
4 comments
 
Untamed naturally

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
For +John Fiala ^_^
#BlueRoseRPG  
10
John Fiala's profile photo
 
Yay!
 
Another cool Google Doodle, this time for Emmy Noether.
7
Tim Noyce's profile photo
 
Noetherian Rings FTW. I used to study near a building named after her at ULB (Brussels Free University)

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
What's a nerd to do when she's stranded and waiting for car repairs?
40
David Goodwin's profile photoKostika D's profile photoAlyssa Hillen's profile photoAlexander Osias's profile photo
4 comments
 
Awwww, yisssssss! 
People
Have her in circles
1,145 people
J RPGBooster's profile photo
Tim Kirk's profile photo
Brian Fitzpatrick's profile photo
E Zampieri's profile photo
Allan Cabral's profile photo
Kevin Chenevert's profile photo
James MacGeorge's profile photo
Tim Gray's profile photo
Craig Payne's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Civil and Environmental engineer / Writer
Story
Tagline
Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.
Introduction
Life takes you places you never thought you'd get to -- and then back again!

If I don't know your name and you add me to your Circles, tell me to which circle(s) I should add you.  Tell me why you're interested in, so I can place you in the right Circles, and not involuntarily spam you.  If I know you under an online handle, let me know that too!

(Edited 2015-02-13) *If you believe* that GamerGate is about ethics in journalism, climate change is a hoax, vaccination is optional, etc., then you should probably not add me to your Circles and I probably shouldn't have you in mine.

Put me in Circles about: photography, art, geek/nerd culture, tabletop/pen-and-paper role-playing games (a.k.a. RPGs), books, movies, feminism, science, skepticism, rationalism, freethinking, science fiction, comic books, BBC series, recipe sharing...  (more to come as I think of them.)

Don't put me in Circles about (UPDATED 2013-03-22): religion, partisan politics, makeup and beauty tips, tattoos, inspirational anything, Ron-Paul-for-president, MRA discussions, reality television, televised court trials, professional sports, celebrity gossip, astrology, homeopathy, crystal power, auras, ancient mystical magical races (unless you're Ken Hite), or other woo.

You may request to be added to the following circles: Anything on my interests list, such as Gaming (including specific games and specific conventions I volunteer for), Geek Gals, RPG Mapping, Photography, Art, History, Age of Sail, Food and Cooking, or if you think we have a lot of topics of interest in common, Conversations. 

(I may be getting to the point where I post enough astronomy links that I should break them off from Conversations as a Circle of their own, but no one has requested it yet.)

*this introduction modified from Kristin Moran's, via Tony Love, because I thought theirs was so awesome.

Bragging rights
Top notch civil and environmental engineering generalist. Publications monkey for Dragonflight Convention.Writing for Evil Hat Productions.
Basic Information
Gender
Female
Relationship
Married
Sophie Lagace's +1's are the things they like, agree with, or want to recommend.
Bulldogs: Red Star
ryanmacklin.com

I’m a part of the reboot of Bulldogs! Sci-Fi That Kicks Ass, currently being Kickstarted! My part of it is a setting and rules slices that’s

Actual Play – The Quiet Year (12/15/2012)
www.seannittner.com

Players: Sean Nittner and Joe McDaldno System: The Quiet Year This was a ton of fun to play. Joe and I made a village that started with the

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Introduction
vargold.blogspot.com

A friend at Gen Con last Friday and a few too many positive RPG.net posts on the game caused me to give in and acquire a copy of The One Rin

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part One
vargold.blogspot.com

To set the mood for this post, I've placed Tolkien's depiction of Beorn's Hall just to the left of this text. The first step in creating a T

Beorning Bonus: Botild Openhand as Drawn by Jon Hodgson
vargold.blogspot.com

Botild was created in partial response to "[The One Ring] Lets Make a PC," an ongoing RPG.net thread devoted to the creation of sample chara

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Conclusion
vargold.blogspot.com

Here's Botild's complete character write-up (now with the Beorning byname I forgot in Part One of the series): Name: Botild Openhand Culture

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part Two
vargold.blogspot.com

The first step in hero customization is the determination of the hero's Calling, his or her particular motivation for adventure. Like Backgr

21 Women Writers From Before 1500 That You’ve Probably Never Heard Of | ...
entropymag.org

Hypatia (370 ? – 415). Hypatia was the daughter of philosopher Theon (who was the last head of the Museum at Alexandria) and was born in Ale

On Nerd Entitlement
www.newstatesman.com

White male nerds need to recognise that other people had traumatic upbringings, too - and that's different from structural oppression.

Japanese Asteroid Probe to Fish for Ingredients of Life : DNews
news.discovery.com

Following a successful mission to return samples from an asteroid to Earth, Japan is poised to launch a follow-on expedition, with hopes of

6 Gross Thanksgiving Foods Your Grandparents Ate (We Tested) | Cracked.com
www.cracked.com

No matter how badly your harvest potluck ends up, trust that it will be nowhere as bad as the following meals.

Self-Rescuing Princess Society
selfrescuingprincesssociety.blogspot.com

The Self-Rescuing Princess Society is for those who realize no knight in shining armor is going to always be there to save us. Instead, we s

"I'll fucking cut you." Behind the scenes of the 1491s' segment on "The ...
missoulanews.bigskypress.com

Photo courtesy of Migizi PensoneauThe 1491s with Jason Jones of "The Daily Show." Editor’s note: Last night “The Daily Show” aired a controv

The Pirates - AsianWiki
asianwiki.com

Profile. Movie: The Pirates; Revised romanization: Haejuk: Badaro Gan Sanjuk; Hangul: 해적: 바다로 간 산적; Director: Lee Suk-Hoon; Writer: Cheon Se

The Many Names of Gamemasters (Updated)
ageofravens.blogspot.com

BY ANY OTHER NAME WOULD STILL SCORE A CRIT From time to time in reviewing I’ve hit the problem of naming the Game Master. Also known as the

Paper & Plastic: [Review] Monster of the Week
atoolongurl.blogspot.com

Logo: License: Creative Commons License Everything in this website is under a Creative Commons License. If you use my stuff or if you link i