Profile

Cover photo
Sophie Lagace
1,353 followers|6,030,606 views
AboutPostsCollectionsPhotos+1'sReviews
I loved it! We tried the tea leaf salad, mango chicken, shrimp kebot, sesame beef, Burmese rice, and fried banana. Everything was delicious and the service was prompt and friendly. Reasonably priced for the quality.
Public - 4 months ago
reviewed 4 months ago
Endgame is my very favourite game store in the Bay Area. Lots of choice, friendly service, good support, pleasant venue.
Public - 5 months ago
reviewed 5 months ago
We had the hot & sour soup, pot stickers, twice-cooked pork, scallops in hot garlic-ginger sauce, and chicken curry noodles (Singapore-style). Everything tasted fresh, delicious, with well balanced flavours. In addition, the ambiance was relaxing and the service courteous and friendly.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
I don't often give 5 stars but Hanazen earned it. One of a kind, artisanal preparation of lovely fresh ingredients, creating complex, nuanced flavours. Eating there for the first time requires a certain dose of humility and appreciation for art. I've been in many nice, pleasant sushi places but it had been a long time since I had been in a top-notch place where everything is about creating art not delivering a product. I say "art" as a compliment, not sarcasm: the art of a perfect balance of flavours, aromas, colours, shapes, and textures. I'd read the Yelp reviews, especially the negative ones (I always do) before trying this place. I "get" what the negative reviewers were unhappy with, but I think they missed the spirit and quality of this place. For context, understand that this place is owned by a husband and wife who are chef and host--Kenji and Coco Horikawa--with no other personnel, and could seat 17 people at a time if it was jammed packed with no room to move. You go there for an evening of slowly savouring little bites of heaven and good conversation, not to have a well-timed meal before going to the Shakespeare play or the movies. Most of the condiments, pickles, sauces, infused salts, and garnishes used in preparing the dishes are made by the chef himself rather than store-bought. This means that every element is so good it can be savoured on its own, but together they build these lovely complex flavours that unfold like slowly as you eat. The sake menu is also diverse and offers a range of flavours as wide as any sommelier's choice of wines in a fine French restaurant. Service: The service started out formal and I understand why it seemed distant to some Yelp commenters. But as soon as we showed that we were interested, not too vain to receive pointers on how to appreciate the food and drinks, and happy to learn about the preparation details, we felt our host and server, Coco Horikawa, warm up to us. The service was attentive and helpful throughout the meal. Freshness and Choice: This is the very opposite experience of chain restaurants where you can find everything everywhere, but of mediocre quality and always the same; it's the one-of-a-kind experience that will be a little different every time. So no long menu with dozens of wacky Americanized rolls, just a solid core list and a board with a generous list of the current delicacies. Coco Horikawa is a sake expert, and Chef Kenji Horikawa's speciality is kaiseki, a method of cooking that marks the seasons in Japan. Let them guide you to what's good and fresh today, and works well together. Price: Just think why your run-of-the-mill sushi bar is cheaper: made faster, with cheaper, store-bought ingredients and using shortcuts like big piggish rolls instead of nigiri pieces. Let's not mince words, Hanazen is expensive for regular people on regular salaries--the kind of place we can only eat at for a special celebration. But it's priced correctly for the value, quality, care, and work involved. Reservations: It's clear that every spot is marked "reserved" all the time. I believe the owners prefer to work by reservation only so they can pace the work and plan the ingredients accordingly. If you want to sit at the counter, mention that when you make your reservation. Wheelchair access: Although Yelp says there is no wheelchair access, they actually put down a ramp in advance if you mention this in your reservation. However, don't expect that anyone will have time to stop preparing or serving food to take care of this if you don't mention it ahead of time.
• • •
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
109 reviews
Map
Map
Map
I only tried dessert yesterday, but the chocolate mocha cake was delectable. I looked at people's dinners and saw many things that looked appetizing -- I need to try a full meal there.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
I was delighted with my experience at Philz. Delicious coffee, friendly service, convenient hours. We don't have much in terms of real coffee places in this area, you usually have to go to the City -- it's so nice to have this place now! The iced mojito coffee is great summer treat, and the Sooo Good is... as advertised. :-)
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
So far this is my favourite counter-style Mexican restaurant on the Peninsula outside SF proper. Their salsas are flavourful, freshly made right there; the meats are well cooked, the portions are generous, and the services is cheerful and courteous. I really love the super burrito al pastor and the camarones a la diabla.
Food: Very GoodDecor: Poor - FairService: Very Good
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago

Stream

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Being older means being able to articulate why, in point of fact, "Heart of Glass" was better than "Staying Alive."
26
Shane Liebling's profile photoBryanna Hitchcock's profile photoCraig Maloney's profile photo
10 comments
 
+Bryanna Hitchcock At the time they were exceptionally popular. Unfortunately time hasn't been kind to any artist that got stuck with the Disco label.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
The Supreme Court’s decision invalidating key components of HB2, a Texas law imposing draconian regulations on abortion clinics, gave reproductive righ ...
1 comment on original post
13
2

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
I just received my comped copies of +Evil Hat Productions' Do: Fate of the Flying Temple and Young Centurions. OMFSM, they're gorgeous!
24
1
Sean Nittner's profile photoRandy Oest's profile photo
2 comments
 
It's a small thing that I love the most about them—the coating. It's comfortable to hold. (Can you tell that I used to work for a printer?)

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Got our asses kicked by Ghost Stories again... But just as we were about to draw the incarnation of Wu Feng. We get about 5 cards better every game...
8

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Unboxing Dead Men Tell No Tales: high quality components!
7
Glen Greentoad's profile photo
 
Love this game! Its tough to beat, especially the higher levels and with Captain Fromm, but totally fun to play!

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
How to discourage me from playing your game, Part 2: Readability:
More thoughts about RPG sins.
This is the second of a three-part rant discussion on things publishers do that turn me right off their role-playing games. Part 1: First Impressions Part 2: Readability Part 3: In Play Naturally, …
40
4
Jerry Grayson's profile photoCraig Maloney's profile photoVeles Svitlychny's profile photoPaul Mitchener's profile photo
6 comments
 
This has been a fantastic series of posts. I also saw nothing to disagree with in any of your examples.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
"It’s truly a miracle that all of us got through this okay."
WASHINGTON—Expressing their immense relief at their good fortune, the nation’s gun manufacturers tearfully told reporters Tuesday they were thankful to have made it out of the Orlando massacre safely.
9 comments on original post
6
1
Fish N's profile photo
Fish N
 
:( too true.
Have her in circles
1,353 people
Mark Olson's profile photo
The Rachel Maddow Show's profile photo
Vamsee Angadala's profile photo
maria ashby's profile photo
Doc Cross's profile photo
Evil Hat Productions's profile photo
Ken Cassady's profile photo
Charina Ala's profile photo
Fantasy Grounds's profile photo

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
For the MRAs (Madly Raging Admirers?) commenting on my blog.
13
Kevin Veale's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photo
2 comments
 
Bah. Amateurs.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Phantom the Ravager, enjoying his victory.
19
Sandy J-T's profile photo
 
Awwww look at those good buddies 

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
And this is why Dead Men Tell No Tales in this house. Phantom obviously aligned with the undead to sweep the decks.
12

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Part 3 of How to discourage me from playing your game: Finally, at the game table!
This is the third of a three-part rant discussion on things publishers do that turn me right off their role-playing games. Part 1: First Impressions Part 2: Readability Part 3: In Play A big challe…
34
1
John Aegard's profile photoAlexander Guerrero-Randall's profile photoRebecca Slitt's profile photoMatthew Lowes's profile photo
10 comments
 
Thanks for posting. Enjoyed all three parts of this. I write games, and I agree, this is a great series!

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
I blather on about the ways many games discourage me from playing (which I suppose may be a good thing given how many games I still manage to play.) Today: First Impressions. I give examples of good and bad; spoiler: if you're seeing a thumbnail of Lady Blackbird, it's in the "good" category.
I’m a gaming junkie, especially where it comes to role-playing games. I’ve been gaming for decades, I have played or run at least 177 RPGs as of this writing, not counting different edi…
60
16
Jason Tocci's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photoEden Brandeis's profile photoWayne “The Star Wars Guy” Humfleet's profile photo
10 comments
 
I would love to see what the new 7th Sea book is like, but it's $25. So, I'll be waiting to see the actual physical book before taking any steps. 
Sophie's Collections
People
Have her in circles
1,353 people
Mark Olson's profile photo
The Rachel Maddow Show's profile photo
Vamsee Angadala's profile photo
maria ashby's profile photo
Doc Cross's profile photo
Evil Hat Productions's profile photo
Ken Cassady's profile photo
Charina Ala's profile photo
Fantasy Grounds's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Civil and Environmental engineer / Writer
Story
Tagline
Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.
Introduction
Life takes you places you never thought you'd get to -- and then back again!

If I don't know your name and you add me to your Circles, tell me to which circle(s) I should add you.  Tell me why you're interested in, so I can place you in the right Circles, and not involuntarily spam you.  If I know you under an online handle, let me know that too!

(Edited 2015-02-13) If you believe that GamerGate is about ethics in journalism, climate change is a hoax, vaccination is optional, etc., then you should probably not add me to your Circles and I probably shouldn't have you in mine.

Put me in Circles about: photography, art, geek/nerd culture, tabletop/pen-and-paper role-playing games (a.k.a. RPGs), books, movies, feminism, science, skepticism, rationalism, freethinking, science fiction, comic books, BBC series, recipe sharing...  (more to come as I think of them.)

Don't put me in Circles about: religion, partisan politics, makeup and beauty tips, tattoos, inspirational anything, Ron-Paul-for-president, MRA discussions, reality television, televised court trials, professional sports, celebrity gossip, astrology, homeopathy, crystal power, auras, ancient mystical magical races (unless you're Ken Hite), or other woo.

You may request to be added to the following circles: Anything on my interests list, such as Gaming (including specific games and specific conventions I volunteer for), Geek Gals, RPG Mapping, Photography, Art, History, Age of Sail, Food and Cooking, or if you think we have a lot of topics of interest in common, Conversations. 

(I may be getting to the point where I post enough astronomy links that I should break them off from Conversations as a Circle of their own, but no one has requested it yet.)

*this introduction modified from Kristin Moran's, via Tony Love, because I thought theirs was so awesome.

Bragging rights
Top notch civil and environmental engineering generalist. Publications monkey for Dragonflight Convention. GM wrangler for Big Bad Con. Writing for Evil Hat Productions, Vigilance Press, Atlas Games, and soon for Magpie Games.
Basic Information
Gender
Female
Relationship
Married
Other names
Méchante Anémone, Evil Anemone
Sophie Lagace's +1's are the things they like, agree with, or want to recommend.
Conspiracy Fools - 9/11 and the Pentagon
icarusloofem.blogspot.com

If you smash an aluminum beer can against your forehead and I shout "Where is the can? There is no can! You're lying!" Who is the idiot? You

Actual Play – Big Drum City (2/18/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 Gods Dawn woke o

O&F Podcast, Ep. 107: Jim C. Hines
www.theonceandfuturepodcast.com

We go deep this week as we talk with humorous fantasy writer Jim C. Hines about why his latest Magic Ex Libris book is PERFECT for all your

Actual Play – Rahi’s Moment (1/7/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, Karen Twelves, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 G

Actual Play – Land of 10,000 Maniacs (12/10/2015)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, Karen Twelves, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 G

Big Bad Recap 2015: My Time at Big Bad Con!
www.acookandageek.com

Cooking for a Cause, Charity, Food Truck reviews, and oh yes GAMING! What a weekend I just had! I’m still coming down from the high that was

Offensive Content Policy: A Follow Up
oneblogshelf.blogspot.com

For those that do not know me, my name is Meredith Gerber and I am the RPG Publisher Relations Representative for DriveThruRPG/RPGNow. I vol

Masters of Umdaar [Fate Accelerated Edition]
vargold.blogspot.com

Evil Hat has just released Dave Joria's Masters of Umdaar, the latest "World of Adventure" for use with the Fate system (specifically the Fa

Pirate coffee « Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster
www.venganza.org

I really don't accept as true with this particular post. However, I did researched with Google and I've found out you are right and I was th

Why Powered by the Apocalypse?
dicecaster.blogspot.com

Maybe you already know it, maybe not. I'm in the process of writing a Powered by the Apocalypse role-playing game: Nahual. I'm Mexican, so t

Bulldogs: Red Star
ryanmacklin.com

I’m a part of the reboot of Bulldogs! Sci-Fi That Kicks Ass, currently being Kickstarted! My part of it is a setting and rules slices that’s

Actual Play – The Quiet Year (12/15/2012)
www.seannittner.com

Players: Sean Nittner and Joe McDaldno System: The Quiet Year This was a ton of fun to play. Joe and I made a village that started with the

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Introduction
vargold.blogspot.com

A friend at Gen Con last Friday and a few too many positive RPG.net posts on the game caused me to give in and acquire a copy of The One Rin

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part One
vargold.blogspot.com

To set the mood for this post, I've placed Tolkien's depiction of Beorn's Hall just to the left of this text. The first step in creating a T

Beorning Bonus: Botild Openhand as Drawn by Jon Hodgson
vargold.blogspot.com

Botild was created in partial response to "[The One Ring] Lets Make a PC," an ongoing RPG.net thread devoted to the creation of sample chara

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Conclusion
vargold.blogspot.com

Here's Botild's complete character write-up (now with the Beorning byname I forgot in Part One of the series): Name: Botild Openhand Culture

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part Two
vargold.blogspot.com

The first step in hero customization is the determination of the hero's Calling, his or her particular motivation for adventure. Like Backgr

21 Women Writers From Before 1500 That You’ve Probably Never Heard Of | ...
entropymag.org

Hypatia (370 ? – 415). Hypatia was the daughter of philosopher Theon (who was the last head of the Museum at Alexandria) and was born in Ale