Profile

Cover photo
Sophie Lagace
1,421 followers|8,209,659 views
AboutPostsCollectionsPhotos+1'sReviews
I loved it! We tried the tea leaf salad, mango chicken, shrimp kebot, sesame beef, Burmese rice, and fried banana. Everything was delicious and the service was prompt and friendly. Reasonably priced for the quality.
Public - 7 months ago
reviewed 7 months ago
Endgame is my very favourite game store in the Bay Area. Lots of choice, friendly service, good support, pleasant venue.
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
We had the hot & sour soup, pot stickers, twice-cooked pork, scallops in hot garlic-ginger sauce, and chicken curry noodles (Singapore-style). Everything tasted fresh, delicious, with well balanced flavours. In addition, the ambiance was relaxing and the service courteous and friendly.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
I don't often give 5 stars but Hanazen earned it. One of a kind, artisanal preparation of lovely fresh ingredients, creating complex, nuanced flavours. Eating there for the first time requires a certain dose of humility and appreciation for art. I've been in many nice, pleasant sushi places but it had been a long time since I had been in a top-notch place where everything is about creating art not delivering a product. I say "art" as a compliment, not sarcasm: the art of a perfect balance of flavours, aromas, colours, shapes, and textures. I'd read the Yelp reviews, especially the negative ones (I always do) before trying this place. I "get" what the negative reviewers were unhappy with, but I think they missed the spirit and quality of this place. For context, understand that this place is owned by a husband and wife who are chef and host--Kenji and Coco Horikawa--with no other personnel, and could seat 17 people at a time if it was jammed packed with no room to move. You go there for an evening of slowly savouring little bites of heaven and good conversation, not to have a well-timed meal before going to the Shakespeare play or the movies. Most of the condiments, pickles, sauces, infused salts, and garnishes used in preparing the dishes are made by the chef himself rather than store-bought. This means that every element is so good it can be savoured on its own, but together they build these lovely complex flavours that unfold like slowly as you eat. The sake menu is also diverse and offers a range of flavours as wide as any sommelier's choice of wines in a fine French restaurant. Service: The service started out formal and I understand why it seemed distant to some Yelp commenters. But as soon as we showed that we were interested, not too vain to receive pointers on how to appreciate the food and drinks, and happy to learn about the preparation details, we felt our host and server, Coco Horikawa, warm up to us. The service was attentive and helpful throughout the meal. Freshness and Choice: This is the very opposite experience of chain restaurants where you can find everything everywhere, but of mediocre quality and always the same; it's the one-of-a-kind experience that will be a little different every time. So no long menu with dozens of wacky Americanized rolls, just a solid core list and a board with a generous list of the current delicacies. Coco Horikawa is a sake expert, and Chef Kenji Horikawa's speciality is kaiseki, a method of cooking that marks the seasons in Japan. Let them guide you to what's good and fresh today, and works well together. Price: Just think why your run-of-the-mill sushi bar is cheaper: made faster, with cheaper, store-bought ingredients and using shortcuts like big piggish rolls instead of nigiri pieces. Let's not mince words, Hanazen is expensive for regular people on regular salaries--the kind of place we can only eat at for a special celebration. But it's priced correctly for the value, quality, care, and work involved. Reservations: It's clear that every spot is marked "reserved" all the time. I believe the owners prefer to work by reservation only so they can pace the work and plan the ingredients accordingly. If you want to sit at the counter, mention that when you make your reservation. Wheelchair access: Although Yelp says there is no wheelchair access, they actually put down a ramp in advance if you mention this in your reservation. However, don't expect that anyone will have time to stop preparing or serving food to take care of this if you don't mention it ahead of time.
• • •
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
109 reviews
Map
Map
Map
I only tried dessert yesterday, but the chocolate mocha cake was delectable. I looked at people's dinners and saw many things that looked appetizing -- I need to try a full meal there.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
I was delighted with my experience at Philz. Delicious coffee, friendly service, convenient hours. We don't have much in terms of real coffee places in this area, you usually have to go to the City -- it's so nice to have this place now! The iced mojito coffee is great summer treat, and the Sooo Good is... as advertised. :-)
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
So far this is my favourite counter-style Mexican restaurant on the Peninsula outside SF proper. Their salsas are flavourful, freshly made right there; the meats are well cooked, the portions are generous, and the services is cheerful and courteous. I really love the super burrito al pastor and the camarones a la diabla.
Food: Very GoodDecor: Poor - FairService: Very Good
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago

Stream

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Three dry wells before we were able to find a good vein on the fourth try for my Herceptin infusion.
3
Icarus Anne Riley's profile photoDavid Litster's profile photoStephen Graham's profile photoNicole Winchester's profile photo
4 comments
 
:(

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
Hey Everyone,

The Standing Rock Donation Bundle goes live Tuesday, September 27th. If you could spread the word in your feeds that would be great, the more feeds, the better.
I have artwork assets at the link below, so feel free to use them
ARTWORK LINK-
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B8dxyIHRKOjjOFlGcUNRN3FoWUE?usp=sharing
Please share, link and ask others to do so as well.

PDF BUNDLE LINK
http://www.rpgnow.com/product/193183/Standing-Rock-Sioux-Tribe-Donation-Fund-bundle

There are over 40 products from 20 different publishers, and that just blows my mind.
Please hit all your local social media haunts and make them aware of not only the bundle but what’s going on at Standing Rock.

I really appreciate everyone’s support and enthusiasm, and I’m sure that your contributions will make a difference.
Thank you


1 comment on original post
7
2

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Absolute Zero and Nightmist teamed up in a Just Sentinels adventure Powered by the Apocalypse! (http://fictioneers.net/games/just-sentinels) -- Edit: No. 36 of #61in16

Also, +Edmund Metheny made pizza crust and garlic bread, I made sauce from garden-picked tomatoes, and Steve supplied the toppings (including more vegetables from his garden) and assembled the pizza. Co-op style!
16

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Another little walk at San Andreas Lake.
26
Sophie Lagace's profile photoAnne Faye's profile photoJennifer Linsky's profile photo
6 comments
 
I like box set. 8)

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Today's Google Doodle is great!
3
Karen Twelves's profile photo
 
I really liked the one from Thursday, with the rocks and the fall leaves. https://www.google.com/doodles/first-day-of-fall-2016-northern-hemisphere

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Tonight: No. 37 of #61in16 -- trying the Deluxe Collector's Edition of Tokaido, on loan from a friend.
7
Eloy Cintron's profile photo
 
Oh, so pretty with the painted figures! Mine aren't, but it's still gorgeous! Great game. Very relaxing. My family's favorite 

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
19
2
Stephen King's profile photoJames Olchak's profile photoDave Joria's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photo
5 comments
 
+Dave Joria -- I don't mind, but I also disagree. I think the phenomenon is very different.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Home-made pizza and garlic bread!
[Edit: here is the recipe: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B04q1O2xxmclVFZKaWRQNXBuRTQ/edit?usp=docslist_api&filetype=msword ]
30
Karen Price's profile photoPK Sullivan's profile photo
3 comments
 
I love homemade garlic bread. I get tasked with making it whenever I'm home. 

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Plan for Sunday: run Just Sentinels, +Alan Hodges' hack of Just Heroes, which in turn is +James Mullen's PbtA hack. And make pizza sauce for a home-made pizza with garden-fresh vegetables and herbs.
The Crunch Ratings are there to provide a simple guideline for groups considering a new game. They are roughly associated with a numerical "Difficulty Level" score of 1 to 5: Crunch Rating Definitions. DIFF LEVEL (1-5), CLASS, EXAMPLE. 1 - Super easy, minigames, Doctor Magnethands.
13
Alan Hodges's profile photo
 
Let's have a cross-over episode with my New Freedom Five group playing Masks and see how many different versions of Legacy we can fit in one place before we break the Multiverse.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Phantom celebrates #Caturday
4

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Because I need the cute.
6
1

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
+Cam Banks now has a +Patreon site.
Follow Cam Banks on Patreon: Read posts by Cam Banks on the world's largest platform enabling a new generation of creators and artists to live out their passions!
12
1
Sophie's Collections
Story
Tagline
Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.
Introduction
Life takes you places you never thought you'd get to -- and then back again!

If I don't know your name and you add me to your Circles, tell me to which circle(s) I should add you.  Tell me why you're interested in, so I can place you in the right Circles, and not involuntarily spam you.  If I know you under an online handle, let me know that too!

(Edited 2015-02-13) If you believe that GamerGate is about ethics in journalism, climate change is a hoax, vaccination is optional, etc., then you should probably not add me to your Circles and I probably shouldn't have you in mine.

Put me in Circles about: photography, art, geek/nerd culture, tabletop/pen-and-paper role-playing games (a.k.a. RPGs), books, movies, feminism, science, skepticism, rationalism, freethinking, science fiction, comic books, BBC series, recipe sharing...  (more to come as I think of them.)

Don't put me in Circles about: religion, partisan politics, makeup and beauty tips, tattoos, inspirational anything, Ron-Paul-for-president, MRA discussions, reality television, televised court trials, professional sports, celebrity gossip, astrology, homeopathy, crystal power, auras, ancient mystical magical races (unless you're Ken Hite), or other woo.

You may request to be added to the following circles: Anything on my interests list, such as Gaming (including specific games and specific conventions I volunteer for), Geek Gals, RPG Mapping, Photography, Art, History, Age of Sail, Food and Cooking, or if you think we have a lot of topics of interest in common, Conversations. 

(I may be getting to the point where I post enough astronomy links that I should break them off from Conversations as a Circle of their own, but no one has requested it yet.)

*this introduction modified from Kristin Moran's, via Tony Love, because I thought theirs was so awesome.

Bragging rights
Top notch civil and environmental engineering generalist. Publications monkey for Dragonflight Convention. GM wrangler for Big Bad Con. Writing for Evil Hat Productions, Vigilance Press, Atlas Games, and soon for Magpie Games.
Basic Information
Gender
Female
Relationship
Married
Other names
Méchante Anémone, Evil Anemone
Sophie Lagace's +1's are the things they like, agree with, or want to recommend.
Actual Play – The Priestess and the Bad Joke (7/28/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Karen Twelves, Adrienne Mueller, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 G

#RPGaDay2016 - Day 30: Ideal game room, if money's no object
ballgownsandbattleskirts.blogspot.com

Wasn't this a question last year? I would love the hi-tech room briefly described there, but I think the cosy room is the one I can better e

#RPGaDay2016 - Day 29: If you can game anywhere in the world, where woul...
ballgownsandbattleskirts.blogspot.com

The thing is, I prefer to game indoors so it kinda doesn't matter where in the world I am! Gaming outside - if it's windy, dice and characte

#RPGaDay2016 - Day 27: Most unusual circumstance or location in which yo...
ballgownsandbattleskirts.blogspot.com

I have friends who've gamed on beaches and in castles; I've larped in the woods. There used to be a particular student flat in my uni town,

Destroy colleges - breeding grounds of liberals
icarusloofem.blogspot.com

So, we've known since Reagan began the war on colleges and grade-schoolers that the GOP had figured out that the less educated are easier to

Day 15: Your Best Source of Inspiration for RPGs? - RPG Knights
rpgknights.com

This one is pretty easy really. Apart from just saying “my mind” there is one place which has undoubtedly given my gaming inspiration the bo

Actual Play – Fate of Cthulhu Alpha Playtest 1 (6/24/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Sean Nittner Players: Sophie Lagacé, PK Sullivan, Stephen Blackmoore System: Fate of Cthlhu (pre-alpha playtest) So… we’re doing this th

Conspiracy Fools - 9/11 and the Pentagon
icarusloofem.blogspot.com

If you smash an aluminum beer can against your forehead and I shout "Where is the can? There is no can! You're lying!" Who is the idiot? You

Actual Play – Big Drum City (2/18/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 Gods Dawn woke o

O&F Podcast, Ep. 107: Jim C. Hines
www.theonceandfuturepodcast.com

We go deep this week as we talk with humorous fantasy writer Jim C. Hines about why his latest Magic Ex Libris book is PERFECT for all your

Actual Play – Rahi’s Moment (1/7/2016)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, Karen Twelves, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 G

Actual Play – Land of 10,000 Maniacs (12/10/2015)
www.seannittner.com

GM: Edmund Metheny Players: Sophie Lagacé, Adrienne Mueller, Karen Twelves, and Sean Nittner System: Dungeon World Setting: Land of 10,000 G

Big Bad Recap 2015: My Time at Big Bad Con!
www.acookandageek.com

Cooking for a Cause, Charity, Food Truck reviews, and oh yes GAMING! What a weekend I just had! I’m still coming down from the high that was

Offensive Content Policy: A Follow Up
oneblogshelf.blogspot.com

For those that do not know me, my name is Meredith Gerber and I am the RPG Publisher Relations Representative for DriveThruRPG/RPGNow. I vol

Masters of Umdaar [Fate Accelerated Edition]
vargold.blogspot.com

Evil Hat has just released Dave Joria's Masters of Umdaar, the latest "World of Adventure" for use with the Fate system (specifically the Fa

Pirate coffee « Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster
www.venganza.org

I really don't accept as true with this particular post. However, I did researched with Google and I've found out you are right and I was th

Why Powered by the Apocalypse?
dicecaster.blogspot.com

Maybe you already know it, maybe not. I'm in the process of writing a Powered by the Apocalypse role-playing game: Nahual. I'm Mexican, so t

Bulldogs: Red Star
ryanmacklin.com

I’m a part of the reboot of Bulldogs! Sci-Fi That Kicks Ass, currently being Kickstarted! My part of it is a setting and rules slices that’s

Actual Play – The Quiet Year (12/15/2012)
www.seannittner.com

Players: Sean Nittner and Joe McDaldno System: The Quiet Year This was a ton of fun to play. Joe and I made a village that started with the