Profile

Cover photo
Sophie Lagace
1,229 followers|1,161,273 views
AboutPostsCollectionsPhotos+1'sReviews
I only tried dessert yesterday, but the chocolate mocha cake was delectable. I looked at people's dinners and saw many things that looked appetizing -- I need to try a full meal there.
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
We had the hot & sour soup, pot stickers, twice-cooked pork, scallops in hot garlic-ginger sauce, and chicken curry noodles (Singapore-style). Everything tasted fresh, delicious, with well balanced flavours. In addition, the ambiance was relaxing and the service courteous and friendly.
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
I don't often give 5 stars but Hanazen earned it. One of a kind, artisanal preparation of lovely fresh ingredients, creating complex, nuanced flavours. Eating there for the first time requires a certain dose of humility and appreciation for art. I've been in many nice, pleasant sushi places but it had been a long time since I had been in a top-notch place where everything is about creating art not delivering a product. I say "art" as a compliment, not sarcasm: the art of a perfect balance of flavours, aromas, colours, shapes, and textures. I'd read the Yelp reviews, especially the negative ones (I always do) before trying this place. I "get" what the negative reviewers were unhappy with, but I think they missed the spirit and quality of this place. For context, understand that this place is owned by a husband and wife who are chef and host--Kenji and Coco Horikawa--with no other personnel, and could seat 17 people at a time if it was jammed packed with no room to move. You go there for an evening of slowly savouring little bites of heaven and good conversation, not to have a well-timed meal before going to the Shakespeare play or the movies. Most of the condiments, pickles, sauces, infused salts, and garnishes used in preparing the dishes are made by the chef himself rather than store-bought. This means that every element is so good it can be savoured on its own, but together they build these lovely complex flavours that unfold like slowly as you eat. The sake menu is also diverse and offers a range of flavours as wide as any sommelier's choice of wines in a fine French restaurant. Service: The service started out formal and I understand why it seemed distant to some Yelp commenters. But as soon as we showed that we were interested, not too vain to receive pointers on how to appreciate the food and drinks, and happy to learn about the preparation details, we felt our host and server, Coco Horikawa, warm up to us. The service was attentive and helpful throughout the meal. Freshness and Choice: This is the very opposite experience of chain restaurants where you can find everything everywhere, but of mediocre quality and always the same; it's the one-of-a-kind experience that will be a little different every time. So no long menu with dozens of wacky Americanized rolls, just a solid core list and a board with a generous list of the current delicacies. Coco Horikawa is a sake expert, and Chef Kenji Horikawa's speciality is kaiseki, a method of cooking that marks the seasons in Japan. Let them guide you to what's good and fresh today, and works well together. Price: Just think why your run-of-the-mill sushi bar is cheaper: made faster, with cheaper, store-bought ingredients and using shortcuts like big piggish rolls instead of nigiri pieces. Let's not mince words, Hanazen is expensive for regular people on regular salaries--the kind of place we can only eat at for a special celebration. But it's priced correctly for the value, quality, care, and work involved. Reservations: It's clear that every spot is marked "reserved" all the time. I believe the owners prefer to work by reservation only so they can pace the work and plan the ingredients accordingly. If you want to sit at the counter, mention that when you make your reservation. Wheelchair access: Although Yelp says there is no wheelchair access, they actually put down a ramp in advance if you mention this in your reservation. However, don't expect that anyone will have time to stop preparing or serving food to take care of this if you don't mention it ahead of time.
• • •
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
Lots of choices for breakfast, fresh, flavourful food, pleasant service. I particularly like the Gaucho with Cajun sausage.
Food: ExcellentDecor: GoodService: Very Good
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
108 reviews
Map
Map
Map
I was delighted with my experience at Philz. Delicious coffee, friendly service, convenient hours. We don't have much in terms of real coffee places in this area, you usually have to go to the City -- it's so nice to have this place now! The iced mojito coffee is great summer treat, and the Sooo Good is... as advertised. :-)
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
So far this is my favourite counter-style Mexican restaurant on the Peninsula outside SF proper. Their salsas are flavourful, freshly made right there; the meats are well cooked, the portions are generous, and the services is cheerful and courteous. I really love the super burrito al pastor and the camarones a la diabla.
Food: Very GoodDecor: Poor - FairService: Very Good
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago
Four people, one birthday, six delicious rolls. Our favourites were the Go-Go Cherry roll, the American roll and the Beautiful roll. We also tried the Spider roll, the Raiders roll, and the Dragon roll, which were quite good. The vegan edamame gyoza were a nice surprise. Now we are all stuffed with sushi goodness.
Food: Very GoodDecor: GoodService: Very Good
Public - 2 years ago
reviewed 2 years ago

Stream

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Omakase dinner at Hanazen: celebrating our 19th anniversary. :-)
5

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
6

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Holy cow! I REALLY want to see this. Ordered!
 
Ok, whoa. I want to read this, I want to watch this. Yes please.
6 comments on original post
6

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
#rpgaday2015
No. 28: Favourite game you no longer play
I'd love to play again, though.
1

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Valentine thinks that dignity is overrated.
9
John Reiher's profile photoazlath's profile photo
2 comments
azlath
+
1
2
1
 
Who cares about dignity when you can sleep like that!

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Star Wars audiobooks on Humble Bundle.
Get transported to a galaxy far, far away with over $215 worth of audio adventures in the Humble Audiobook Bundle: Star Wars!
3

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
#rpgaday2015
No. 26: Favourite inspiration for your game
26. Favourite inspiration for your game You could say my source is immersion. Whether creating a new character or planning to run a gain, I like to surround myself with sources of inspiration: musi...
20
1
Mickey Schulz's profile photo
Have her in circles
1,229 people
Larisa Akulova's profile photo
Jason Horton's profile photo
Adam Minnie's profile photo
Sean Dunstan's profile photo
Dan Maruschak's profile photo
Samantha Russell's profile photo
Steve Peter's profile photo
mauri Portinaro's profile photo
Tommy Brownell's profile photo

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Digital games I've enjoyed recently.  I welcome suggestions for additional, similar titles!
My friends know I love, love, love tabletop games, but rarely play digital games.  For one thing, I have poor reflexes, speed, coordination, and dexterity, which cuts down entirely swaths of games;...
1

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
#rpgaday2015
No. 29: Favourite RPG website/blog
14
1
Christopher Ruthenbeck's profile photoMatthew Bannock's profile photo
 
+Fate SRD is the best, isn't it?

Sophie Lagace
owner

Resources and Tips  - 
 
Reposting here because it's a fun map.
 
For Masters of Umdaar and Jack Kirby's birthday check out this Kamandi map for some inspiration for your Masters of Umdaar game.
11 comments on original post
12
Michael Llaneza's profile photoSophie Lagace's profile photoTom Wisniewski's profile photo
4 comments
Add a comment...

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
I loaded all of these on my Kindle and been reading them this week.  Lots of great material. 
 
(I would be very happy if you reshared this)

While it was great to see the puppies rejected at the Hugos, I am very sad for the authors who were shoved aside by their slate. Here are links to the top non-puppy nominees for Best Short Story. If you enjoy them, write a fan letter: those happy echoes from the void are the second best thing an author can receive.

Jackalope Wives, by Ursula Vernon: http://www.apex-magazine.com/jackalope-wives/

The Breath of War, by Aliette de Bodard: http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/stories/the-breath-of-war/

The Truth About Owls, by Amal El-Mohtar: http://www.strangehorizons.com/2015/20150126/1owls-f.shtml

When it Ends, He Catches Her, by Eugie Foster: http://dailysciencefiction.com/fantasy/fairy-tales/eugie-foster/when-it-ends-he-catches-her

A Kiss With Teeth, by Max Gladstone: http://www.tor.com/2014/10/29/a-kiss-with-teeth-max-gladstone/

Also, here are two stories that were withdrawn from Hugo consideration by their authors after appearing on the puppy slate:

Goodnight Stars, by Annie Bellet: http://www.johnjosephadams.com/apocalypse-triptych/free-reads/goodnight-stars-annie-bellet/

Tuesdays with Molakesh the Destroyer, by Megan Grey: http://www.firesidefiction.com/issue19/chapter/tuesdays-with-molakesh-the-destroyer/

All the Hugo data can be found here, if you'd like to check out the other categories the puppies vandalized: http://www.thehugoawards.org/content/pdf/2015HugoStatistics.pdf
15 comments on original post
9
3
Krista White's profile photoBrent Newhall's profile photoKevin Veale's profile photoMickey Schulz's profile photo
 
.

Sophie Lagace

Shared publicly  - 
 
#rpgaday2015
No. 27: Favourite idea for merging two games in one
Oh, I was so proud of how this turned out.
27. Favourite idea for merging two games in one I have to go back to my on-the-fly conversion of octaNe (Memento Mori Theatricks) to Fate Accelerated (Evil Hat Productions) at Big Bad Con 2013. It'...
13
1
Bry Hitchcock's profile photoJesse Coombs's profile photoGareth Skarka's profile photoJohn Powell's profile photo
3 comments
 
octaNe  (and the system it derived from, Pulp Era) pretty much single-handedly inspired the entire indie movement, it seems to me.   Most games that have come out of the movement do stuff that Jared Sorensen first did with it, 15 years ago.
Sophie's Collections
People
Have her in circles
1,229 people
Larisa Akulova's profile photo
Jason Horton's profile photo
Adam Minnie's profile photo
Sean Dunstan's profile photo
Dan Maruschak's profile photo
Samantha Russell's profile photo
Steve Peter's profile photo
mauri Portinaro's profile photo
Tommy Brownell's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Civil and Environmental engineer / Writer
Story
Tagline
Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.
Introduction
Life takes you places you never thought you'd get to -- and then back again!

If I don't know your name and you add me to your Circles, tell me to which circle(s) I should add you.  Tell me why you're interested in, so I can place you in the right Circles, and not involuntarily spam you.  If I know you under an online handle, let me know that too!

(Edited 2015-02-13) If you believe that GamerGate is about ethics in journalism, climate change is a hoax, vaccination is optional, etc., then you should probably not add me to your Circles and I probably shouldn't have you in mine.

Put me in Circles about: photography, art, geek/nerd culture, tabletop/pen-and-paper role-playing games (a.k.a. RPGs), books, movies, feminism, science, skepticism, rationalism, freethinking, science fiction, comic books, BBC series, recipe sharing...  (more to come as I think of them.)

Don't put me in Circles about: religion, partisan politics, makeup and beauty tips, tattoos, inspirational anything, Ron-Paul-for-president, MRA discussions, reality television, televised court trials, professional sports, celebrity gossip, astrology, homeopathy, crystal power, auras, ancient mystical magical races (unless you're Ken Hite), or other woo.

You may request to be added to the following circles: Anything on my interests list, such as Gaming (including specific games and specific conventions I volunteer for), Geek Gals, RPG Mapping, Photography, Art, History, Age of Sail, Food and Cooking, or if you think we have a lot of topics of interest in common, Conversations. 

(I may be getting to the point where I post enough astronomy links that I should break them off from Conversations as a Circle of their own, but no one has requested it yet.)

*this introduction modified from Kristin Moran's, via Tony Love, because I thought theirs was so awesome.

Bragging rights
Top notch civil and environmental engineering generalist. Publications monkey for Dragonflight Convention. GM wrangler for Big Bad Con. Writing for Evil Hat Productions, Vigilance Press, Atlas Games, and soon for Magpie Games.
Basic Information
Gender
Female
Relationship
Married
Other names
Méchante Anémone, Evil Anemone
Sophie Lagace's +1's are the things they like, agree with, or want to recommend.
Masters of Umdaar [Fate Accelerated Edition]
vargold.blogspot.com

Evil Hat has just released Dave Joria's Masters of Umdaar, the latest "World of Adventure" for use with the Fate system (specifically the Fa

Pirate coffee « Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster
www.venganza.org

I really don't accept as true with this particular post. However, I did researched with Google and I've found out you are right and I was th

Why Powered by the Apocalypse?
dicecaster.blogspot.com

Maybe you already know it, maybe not. I'm in the process of writing a Powered by the Apocalypse role-playing game: Nahual. I'm Mexican, so t

Bulldogs: Red Star
ryanmacklin.com

I’m a part of the reboot of Bulldogs! Sci-Fi That Kicks Ass, currently being Kickstarted! My part of it is a setting and rules slices that’s

Actual Play – The Quiet Year (12/15/2012)
www.seannittner.com

Players: Sean Nittner and Joe McDaldno System: The Quiet Year This was a ton of fun to play. Joe and I made a village that started with the

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Introduction
vargold.blogspot.com

A friend at Gen Con last Friday and a few too many positive RPG.net posts on the game caused me to give in and acquire a copy of The One Rin

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part One
vargold.blogspot.com

To set the mood for this post, I've placed Tolkien's depiction of Beorn's Hall just to the left of this text. The first step in creating a T

Beorning Bonus: Botild Openhand as Drawn by Jon Hodgson
vargold.blogspot.com

Botild was created in partial response to "[The One Ring] Lets Make a PC," an ongoing RPG.net thread devoted to the creation of sample chara

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Conclusion
vargold.blogspot.com

Here's Botild's complete character write-up (now with the Beorning byname I forgot in Part One of the series): Name: Botild Openhand Culture

Building a Better Beorning: Chargen in The One Ring, Part Two
vargold.blogspot.com

The first step in hero customization is the determination of the hero's Calling, his or her particular motivation for adventure. Like Backgr

21 Women Writers From Before 1500 That You’ve Probably Never Heard Of | ...
entropymag.org

Hypatia (370 ? – 415). Hypatia was the daughter of philosopher Theon (who was the last head of the Museum at Alexandria) and was born in Ale

On Nerd Entitlement
www.newstatesman.com

White male nerds need to recognise that other people had traumatic upbringings, too - and that's different from structural oppression.

Japanese Asteroid Probe to Fish for Ingredients of Life : DNews
news.discovery.com

Following a successful mission to return samples from an asteroid to Earth, Japan is poised to launch a follow-on expedition, with hopes of

6 Gross Thanksgiving Foods Your Grandparents Ate (We Tested) | Cracked.com
www.cracked.com

No matter how badly your harvest potluck ends up, trust that it will be nowhere as bad as the following meals.

Self-Rescuing Princess Society
selfrescuingprincesssociety.blogspot.com

The Self-Rescuing Princess Society is for those who realize no knight in shining armor is going to always be there to save us. Instead, we s

"I'll fucking cut you." Behind the scenes of the 1491s' segment on "The ...
missoulanews.bigskypress.com

Photo courtesy of Migizi PensoneauThe 1491s with Jason Jones of "The Daily Show." Editor’s note: Last night “The Daily Show” aired a controv