Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Caberfae Peaks
Ski Resort
1 follower|360,544 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1 Caberfae Ln Cadillac, MI 49601
1 Caberfae LaneUSMichiganCadillac49601
(231) 862-3000caberfaepeaks.com
Ski Resort, Wedding Venue
Ski Resort
Wedding Venue
Public Golf Course
Banquet Hall
Caberfae Peaks is one of the premier ski & snowboard resorts in Northern Michigan. Completely surrounded by the Manistee National Forest, Caberfae is the perfect place to get away from it all and reconnect with family & friends.  As the closest "Up North" ski resort in Michigan, you'll spend more time on the slopes and less time in the car.  Caberfae has consistently been considered one of the best values in the state, so come out and experience the Big Hills, with the Best Snow, in Your Backyard!

In the summer, Caberfae hosts weddings and receptions every weekend n a beautiful two story lodge.  Enjoy the onsite lodging, golf, outdoor pool and hot tub as well.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
1 person
David Weglowski's profile photo
Make a Reservation
$79
Book at Booking.com
Booking links sponsored. $91 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.0
27 reviews
5 star
13 reviews
4 star
7 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
3 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Michael Cherry
6 months ago
My favorite ski resort in Michigan. What sets Caberfae apart from other ski resorts in the mitten state is the staff. Sure, every resort has their share of great runs and child friendly areas as well as terrain parks etc. Caberfae has their portion of all of those but the friendliness and support of every single person that works there makes your day on the slopes just that more enjoyable. I have never had a negative experience at Caberfae and it will forever be my main ski destination in Michigan. The choice is yours but I choose Caberfae and you should too. Happy skiing!
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Michael - Great review! Thank you for choosing Caberfae Peaks as your northern Michigan ski destination.
K MS's profile photo
K MS
6 months ago
Employee's are incredibly bratty. Specifically the ticket booth ladies. I bought a 4 hour pass and went down 2 slopes. Came back after 30 minutes and asked if I could get a snow note for a different day. I'm a beginner snowboarder and I'm just learning to carve back and forth with toe and heel edge. The green slopes are VERY narrow. Anyways I fell and injured my tailbone. The first lady said Yes. Then a super bratty lady came out and said NO. She offered a lesson instead. I asked if I could take the lesson a different day because I didn't want to further injure my tailbone. She said NO. Mind you this was a monday..not a peak day or anything. Really frustrating. I said thanks a lot..you just took the first and last $30 I'll ever give you not to mention the last season pass my husband will ever buy from you as well. I recommend Crystal Mountain to people of all skill levels. There bunny hill is AWESOME for learning and there green slopes are wide and great for learning as well. My husband is an advanced snowboarder and is also disappointed with Caberfae. Chair lifts are small and slow. Snow conditions are usually icy and variety is boring for the more advanced riders.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
KMS - I am so sorry that you had a negative experience at Caberfae Peaks. I hope that you will give us another chance at some point in the future. The offer for a free lesson snowboard remains. Please redeem it when you feel up to it and thank you for visiting our resort.
sue johnson
a year ago
After the the "Thunder" ride yesterday, we were treated to a wonderfully prepared dinner! Kudos to Chef - and Sous Chef(s). The wait staff was so attentive - clearing & serving quickly & quietly. In addition to everything on the menu, my husband loved the dinner rolls & wondered if they were made from scratch or purchased? Had to have been made there or close by! The brownies & cookies for dessert were a perfect ending. After the 100 or so mile ride, the facilities & cleanliness were most appreciated! Thank you all for providing a classy ending to a wonderful day.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Sue - Your group was an honor to host! Thank you for choosing Caberfae Peaks and we look forward to hosting the event again in the future.
Jeremy Grantham
a year ago
I have been a season pass holder at Cabby the past 2 years and it has been an absolutely wonderful place to snowboard. Having gone about 50 times over this time I have become experienced with the mountain and the ski resort in general. This place doesn't have the touristy feel that many other resorts in the area have, (Boyne, Crystal Mountain) but I guess that could be a pro or con depending on who you talk to. Being a college student, CaberFae couldn't appeal to me and my friends any more. The place is awesome and is extremely affordable compared to other resorts in the area. I paid $200 for an every day pass which is half of what other resorts charge. This year Cabby opened up the back-country area which is a nice addition. They also opened up another bar. (Both bars are awesome) The lodge is huge with a two story fireplace. Its welcoming and there is always families with crock pots cooking at the tables. There is two different peaks with a combined total of 4 lifts. (only 3 run monday-thursday) The runs are long, and the grooming is always great especially when getting off the lifts. There are some glade runs and they really allow you to go through the trees and make it your own experience. The south peak has the more difficult runs which are a serious blast. The south side of this peak always has powder and if you go far enough you can do some cool runs off the map. This is where the serious riders go. The staff is always friendly, the food is good and their hours are the best in Michigan. There are only two things I can honestly say Caber Fae is bad about. The first being all of their lifts are VERY slow and it doesn't help there are only 4 total with only one being a quad lift. The second thing is the terrain parks are the worst I have ever been to. (out of 7 total resorts) If you are into park you will not enjoy Cabby. This year they have a total of 4 boxes, 2 rails and 2 jumps all of which are poorly maintained. In conclusion, this place rocks! The tickets are cheap and a family wouldn't be disappointed at all. For the boarders that only care about park/jibbing you might want to look at Cannonsburg. But for the average rider who is looking for the complete mountain package in the Midwest, Cabby is affordable and a great place to ride.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Jeremy - Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate that you took the time to write as much as you did. We are glad that you like the new Backcountry Terrain and we look forward to having you back again in the future.
Paul McMullen's profile photo
Paul McMullen
6 months ago
I have skied Caberfae since I was kid and now pass that tradition on to my kids with a minimum of 10 weekend trips each season. It has continued to improve and be a skier's ski resort. The only fluff you'll find is on the slopes. Rustic and family friendly it's my choice over all others in Michigan simply because the lift lines are short, the hills are steep and my pocket isn't empty on Sunday night. This is a repeatable value to me and the reason I choose Caberfae as my home state resort.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Paul: thanks for the kind words and we are elated that you are carrying on the family tradition of skiing Caberfae Peaks.
Anthony Provenzano
6 months ago
Very accommodating. Pete (general manager?) helped to resolve our situation with understanding and professionalism. Great grill / bar in the hotel and the slopes are always nicely groomed.
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Anthony - Thanks for the comments and we are very glad that you liked our bar & grill and our slopes!
Arnie Suigussaar's profile photo
Arnie Suigussaar
7 months ago
You can't get a better skiing value than Caberfae. Vertical is the same as the bigger places up north for half the price. Brown baggers can heat crock pots in the lodge. The outdoor pool and hot tub are clean. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is excellent.
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Arnie - Your comments sum up what our resort is all about: big hills, great location at a great price. Thanks for skiing with us!
Skip Federici
2 years ago
The skiing and the customer service were terrific. What started out as a small disaster ended as a great trip. We had reservations for 3 days and nights over the busiest time of the year, the week between Christmas and New Years. We were making a six hour car trip when bad weather delayed our arrival by a day. We notified the hotel a day after our expected arrival (our mistake) and they had predictably rented our room to someone else. The General Manager immediately secured the last available room in nearby Cadillac and offered us free lift tickets and rental equipment for our daughters for both days we would be skiing. It would have been nice to be able to ski to and from our room, but the courtesy of the staff and the quality of the skiing more than made up for the 15-20 minute drive from the hotel. It is hard to imagine getting any better customer service and that alone would have been enough for us to make a return visit, but the skiing was fabulous! The lift lines were very long at the peak times of the day, but the staff handled it all without fuss. Our family has skied for years and our now college-age son skied junior competitions when we lived in Alaska. Our grade-school-age daughters are still learning. With such a wide range of abilities in our family I can say that the terrain at Caberfae is as good as any we've skied. There are features even in the green runs that can keep experienced skiers entertained while the more challenging blue runs are wide enough to allow less experienced skiers a chance to grow their confidence. Unlike some places we've skied, the black runs are really difficult and can challenge even accomplished skiers. The terrain and wide variety of runs resulted in both the most- and the least-accomplished skiers in our family singing the praises of this resort. On the other side,of the coin, the overall infrastructure could use a good dose of capital improvements. The lodge is rather small and the food options on the premises are very limited and suffer from a lack of adequate space. On the other hand, many families/groups set up in the lower level with tailgating-style food spreads they brought with them. While it was a neat option, it also added to the overall lack of seating for those who didn't secure a table early in the day. We didn't get a chance to stay in the lodge, but it looked as if the other comments about the room amenities and conditions are still valid. In sum, the runs and the customer service will make Caberfae worthy of return visits, but it will be a tough call on whether we will try to stay on the premises or opt for a room in nearby Cadillac.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Skip - Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write. We hope to have you back. Please note that we continue to make improvements to our slope-side lodge and gets a little better every year.

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
David Weglowski's profile photo

Caberfae Peaks hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.